We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, nice rooms good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Save
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Mich
Top Contributor
494 reviews 494 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, nice rooms good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed there on recommendations of friends and TA ratings. Rooms were nice, clean. It was not easy to book one of their less expensive rooms. Could only get one night and it took about 3-4 emails over 1 week to confirm. Also, had to send Credit card info an passport info by email to guarantee room. I can understand this but their has to be an easier way. Once there it was very nice, free transport downtown or to local restaurants and staff was very friendly and helpful Breakfast was not included which brings price up about $7 per person if you want to get their breakfast. I have no problem trying to stay again, but be prepared for the booking process. They have several high end rooms with private pools which also look very nice. Average swimming pool. Smaller but very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    222
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
251
489
103
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A great place to stay that you must not miss if you are planing a trip to Bali. Wonderful service, beautiful scenary, rooms are clean and rental at very reasonable price. They provide free shuttle service around Ubud centre, offers daily tour trips at reasonable price (do not have to worry if it's a last minute planned trip).
Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Book in advance, as early as 6 months to secure a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am disappointed I didn't get to stay here after reading lots of great reviews, but I could not even get past the booking stage.

Evert time I contacted Tegal Sari it would take 4 days to get a response and the generic e-mail didn't really help with proceeding with the next step in booking. So after a few e-mails and days waiting for responses the room I was trying to book had been taken.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Located near monkey forest, beautiful set up amongst paddy fields, room lovely, air con and shower good, pool lovely, staff very friendly, free taxi service available, free wifi, extremely good value. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our third stay at TS and every time it just seems to get better.

This time our party of ten stayed in some of their recently built Super Deluxe rooms (#29-33) that they were constructing when we were staying in 2011. I was in an upper floor #30.
In my opinion these are even better than the highly sought after rooms #19-24 in that they're more spacious and with newer fixtures and fittings. The bathrooms also seem to be larger and better designed. The main rooms are definitely wider.
The best of these are the upper floor rooms #28,30 and 32 with a more wooden feel (floors and walls) and high vaulted ceilings.

Every thing else about TS has remained unchanged......

The same picture perfect views over the emerald green rice fields to the Monkey Forest are simply stunning.
The staff are always so polite and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and they make anything happen, all just a phone call away. They even organised pizzas by the pool (from a local pizzeria) with cold bintangs in ice buckets.
The grounds are as lush and tropical as ever. The pool is very inviting, always at a perfect temperature and a lovely cool respite after a long hot day exploring.
Free water bottle refill stations around the property and 'on demand' transfers to anywhere in Ubud central (and pick up also) are a great feature of this hotel.
After a shower of rain they'll even come up to your balcony and mop up all the water.

My only small criticism would be that breakfasts aren't included in the tariff and are quite basic. They're also probably a bit on the small side. The TS banana pancakes (two per serve) however are a good size and very nice.
The breakfasts also tend to be a bit cold by the time you get them delivered to your room.
The better option is to go to the restaurant where the serves seem to be a bit larger and obviously warmer.
The bubur ayam for breakfast (rice chicken porridge) was a real surprise and quite delicious.

All in all a brilliant stay. I have tried other small hotels in Ubud from time to time but in all honesty Tegal Sari hits the spot every time. The sleep quality, great staff, very nice rooms, close proximity to restaurants and shops, excellent value for money, etc.etc. will ensure that TS becomes my very first choice in the future.

Room Tip: Any of the upper floor Super Deluxe category of rooms (#20,22,24,28,30 and 32) are best. #28,30 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went to Tegal Sari for our 10th anniversary.

What can I say, it's one of the best hotels in Bali I have ever stayed!

Encountered no hassle in making the booking. We wanted a super deluxe room, but at first it was fully booked. Then the staff e-mailed me a week before our arrival to let us know that they have the super deluxe available. That was super!

We arrived early in Ubud, and I called the hotel. The staff informed me nicely that we could check in early :) So we arrived around 11.30.. quick check in, super friendly staff, very polite. I was quite impressed, knowing the stories that there are some hotels that are friendly to foreigners but not to local tourists like us.

Room, what can I say.. Very clean, very neat, huge. My favorite part: the terrace. Everywhere I looked, it's green everywhere. Really a sight to sore eyes. The room is air conditioned, but we never turned it on until late at night. It works perfectly well too.

Bathroom is spotless, clean.. towels are clean, smelled nice and fresh. The soap provided by the hotel, smells sooo good. Jasmine, my favorite. Water runs very well, hot and cold both are working very properly.

One afternoon we chose to stay in at the hotel and called room service. The price is reasonable and the food is yummy as well.

All in all, this is a great hotel. Even some of the so called five stars hotels have quality below this one. Thumbs up for Tegal Sari. I definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I loved this place for a few reasons:
1. Super location on scenic rice paddies away from the touristy craziness of central Ubud and an easy walk to the Monkey Forest.
2. Wonderful romantic room
3. Super food
4. Excellent staff
5. Reasonable prices
6. Convenient airport pickup
7. On demand shuttle to take you to and from Ubud

I am so glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Duplex Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.