We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace amongst the paddyfields” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

Save Saved
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 119 hotels in Ubud
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace amongst the paddyfields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in one of their new super deluxe rooms overlooking the paddy fields. Heaven. Close enough to Ubud to easily walk in, far enough away to enjoy peace from the madness of traffic and sellers. Service very friendly, beds very comfortable, good showers plus luxury of a large bath if you want it. From your terrace you can sit and watch workers in the paddy fields and see a variety of wild life. Nice pool. We enjoyed the eco ethos of the place- no bottled water ( you refill your bottles from a water dispenser) and an excellent, value for money restaurant that is helping to support organic farming on the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    801
    186
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
221
437
88
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very friendly & attentive. I arrived alone at 10pm at night to be met by Mardi who drove me up to Unud. I was greeted warmly and shown all the features of my room. I woke in the morning to the most incredible scenery. Magical. I was in the middle of a rice paddy. But was only a short walk from yoga places, great cafes & restaurants, activities & massages. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm not going to repeat everything from the previous reviews.
We stayed at Tegal Sari on the advice from friends who had stayed there.
It was perfect for our 6 night stay
We took advantage of the staff's "tour service" and went on several day trips--to the northern part of Bali, the eastern part, and then Jutilawih. It was so relaxing and each driver was destined to see that we had the greatest tour and were exposed to the most scenery. Their attitude: Anything we wanted to do on the tour (within reason) was possible!!
We hope to return someday..
Thanks to Wi, Putu, Rosta, and the many others!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Check in to this beautiful place was flawless. Staff are all very attentive, friendly and look after you. We stayed in a Super Deluxe Wooden room. The room is Perfect. A great romantic getaway. Modern and traditional all at the same time. Breathtaking views of the rice fields. Room service breakfasts consisting of the BEST Banana pancakes. Laundry services excellent returned in good time. Massages by the pool - Excellent. The shuttle to and from Ubud centre so helpful. We miss you all!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Always good to be back in this villa. Been staying here for couple of times. It is a sanctuary place or just a perfect hide away or even suits for family holiday. The room is neat and you don't need air-con, not even need the fan! Staffs are friendly and always handy.
Made your reservation early in advance, as this property is always full.

Room Tip: Try the wooden room on the 2nd floor. The balcony is very cozy with fantastic view facing the paddy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Tegal Sari from Jan 3 to Jan 8th 2013 and can't speak highly enough of both the accommodation and the staff...and did I mention the location. This place is idyllic with it's outlook over the rice paddies. Even though it was fully booked it was beautifully quiet and peaceful. We were picked up in Kuta after a late night arrival the previous night. On time and a pleasant drive up to Ubud. Upon arrival we were shown to the wooden hut and the superior room we booked for the two teenage girls. What a welcome! All amenities explained to us plus everything in the room/hut in great detail. The staff here are exceptional...polite, welcoming and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. They have great pride in the place and it shows. The wooden hut was fantastic. A great verandah to sit and enjoy the view. Cleaned spotlessly each day and littel extras like mosquito coils for outside and a zapper inside. The grounds are kept immaculate even though there was some very windy weather. The pool is more than adequate. There were also three locations for topping up water bottles. A great added bonus is the free transport within Ubud town. We were dropped directly to different Warungs and then collected whenever it suited us to return. Having said that, Tegal Sari is ideally located. A rear walkway to Monkey Forest Road with a ten minute walk to the Monkey Forest or the front entry on to Hanoman Street with an easy walk to the centre of town. There is a supermarket only five minutes walk away and some nice little Warungs within a fw minutes walk. A special thank you to Indra who welcomed us and showed us to the rooms and also to Kutut Wi who took us on the Tegal Sari walk. (One of the best things we have ever done in any of our travels) At the time we stayed at Tegal Sari there was some construction of new rooms/villas and a future upgrade of the rooms near the entrance. Once these are complete this place will be even better. We will be back Tegal Sari.....thank you.

Room Tip: The wooden huts are ideal with a beautiful view from the balcony and all very private. We had 16 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

- highly recommended
- the staffs were very helpful and friendly, excellent service
- nice view from wooden room (booked before 6 months), had a great view over rice field
- everything is CLEAN
- shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer, hanger, safety box, mosquito repellent is provided
- SOFT bed, LOVE it so much ^^
- breakfast was GOOD
- laundry service, very satisfied

Tegal Sari. We will definitely go back again! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.