We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The brilliant Tegal Sari.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Save
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 145 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The brilliant Tegal Sari.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Tegal Sari from Jan 3 to Jan 8th 2013 and can't speak highly enough of both the accommodation and the staff...and did I mention the location. This place is idyllic with it's outlook over the rice paddies. Even though it was fully booked it was beautifully quiet and peaceful. We were picked up in Kuta after a late night arrival the previous night. On time and a pleasant drive up to Ubud. Upon arrival we were shown to the wooden hut and the superior room we booked for the two teenage girls. What a welcome! All amenities explained to us plus everything in the room/hut in great detail. The staff here are exceptional...polite, welcoming and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. They have great pride in the place and it shows. The wooden hut was fantastic. A great verandah to sit and enjoy the view. Cleaned spotlessly each day and littel extras like mosquito coils for outside and a zapper inside. The grounds are kept immaculate even though there was some very windy weather. The pool is more than adequate. There were also three locations for topping up water bottles. A great added bonus is the free transport within Ubud town. We were dropped directly to different Warungs and then collected whenever it suited us to return. Having said that, Tegal Sari is ideally located. A rear walkway to Monkey Forest Road with a ten minute walk to the Monkey Forest or the front entry on to Hanoman Street with an easy walk to the centre of town. There is a supermarket only five minutes walk away and some nice little Warungs within a fw minutes walk. A special thank you to Indra who welcomed us and showed us to the rooms and also to Kutut Wi who took us on the Tegal Sari walk. (One of the best things we have ever done in any of our travels) At the time we stayed at Tegal Sari there was some construction of new rooms/villas and a future upgrade of the rooms near the entrance. Once these are complete this place will be even better. We will be back Tegal Sari.....thank you.

Room Tip: The wooden huts are ideal with a beautiful view from the balcony and all very private. We had 16 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    235
    28
    10
    15
See reviews for
262
506
108
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

- highly recommended
- the staffs were very helpful and friendly, excellent service
- nice view from wooden room (booked before 6 months), had a great view over rice field
- everything is CLEAN
- shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer, hanger, safety box, mosquito repellent is provided
- SOFT bed, LOVE it so much ^^
- breakfast was GOOD
- laundry service, very satisfied

Tegal Sari. We will definitely go back again! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

had a chance to stay 1 night at Tegal Sari with 2 friends. will definitely stay here again when i visit bali. the staffs were very helpful and friendly, excellent service. no wonder it always fully booked. nice view from room. i highly recommend Tegal Sari.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a wonderful / flawless 6 nights in a family room. Room had a great view over rice field and was spotlessly clean. Staff are brilliant and skilled at ensuring the little things are done to make your stay pleasurable. No TV in the room which we liked. Location is good with back entrance fronting monkey forest road. Breakfast not included but cafe on site to help fill your tummy. Free transport to and from Ubud central was appreciated. Free wifi with good reception. Had several massages by the pool by skilled practitioners. Pool is small but this was ok as not many people seemed to use it. Only wish we had stayed longer as this accommodation is fantastic. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well done Tegal Sari on your achievement once again of 'Travellers Choice 2013' for Excellent Service, your wonderfully friendly staff and all in all a wonderful resort. I am only sorry that you are too fully booked for my requirement dates to bring my group back this year. You all certainly deserve the accolade. Regards Meryl Lawrence

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was hesitating writing the review. over 700 reviews!! Will it matter if write another one??
But I decided to write anyway. They deserve it.
I made a booking by phone. Only 1 room left!! They immediately reserved it for me when I said I want that room. The lady who answered my call, handed over the phone to another receptionist guy, and quickly ran to block the room for me. I chose this hotel because of the excellent review. And I got the feeling already that I'm special for them since this booking call. They guy took time to have a little chat with me, asking about my name that sounds like a Japanese and so. Really friendly! While the room I booked was one of the cheapest one. I'm happy to be treated like a special guest while I'm not booking their most expensive room.
Not long after I got the email to do the payment in a certain period of time. That was not a problem at all.
So I finally checked in. And that was the first time for me to have a hotel staff taking me for a tour to see EVERYTHING in that hotel. Explaining us lots of things. Also when we were inside the room, he explained EVERYTHING that he could possibly think of to explain to us. I stayed in their superior double room looking over a lovely garden and rice field. The room was really lovely with some old traditional touch of interior. I get the feeling I stayed in an old typical Indonesian traditional house, with all the old style furnishing. The door makes me feel I'm actually sleeping in a village. The bathroom has a bathtub. Everything is SUPER CLEAN. I can really feel with my feet that they made the floor really really clean I felt guilty that my feet made the floor not so clean anymore :D
There is a book on the desk containing any kind of information one can think of.
Food was also great. And the price was not shocking as other restaurants around Ubud. For a hotel restaurant, I consider them inexpensive. I quickly ordered meal for dinner after shower and they deliver the food to my room. I ate in the balcony while enjoying the garden and the sound of countryside animal surround. I also like the design of their new restaurant in Monkey Forest Street. Lovely!
You know they have some villas with private pools and of course looking out the rice field that are not yet published in the website. Worth to try!
I thank everybody in Tegal Sari for the nice experience. My husband instantly fell in love and got addicted to Tegal Sari. We will definitely go back for many times.
I read some complain about email reservation. then I guess they have to fix this issue. But phone reservation works really well for me.

Room Tip: Book early!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just had the most amazing 8 days at Tegal Sari. Our room was amazing, with a breathtaking view from our balcony. The staff was always SO helpful and sweet. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. We made sure to order it every morning! The pool is beautiful and very well kept. The location is wonderful. Walking distance to everything you need/want. If you want to take a tour, the drivers at the hotel are available.

Room Tip: Double Deluxe was PERFECT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#38 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#56 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#45 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.