We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley view private pool villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Cocoa 2, no. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. BOX 999, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Valley view private pool villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in Payogan Ubud for 2 nights during september 2012, I stayed in Valley view private pool villa and it was amazing except for the insects, but I think it is not about the hotel it's about Ubud itself, The pool was so nice and the view was amazing, but the open area in the bathroom is a mistake as it is letting insects in the bathroom I have to say that staying two or three nights in Ubud while visiting Bali is a must, go rafting and go to the Bali Zoo or Safari while in Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    78
    35
    25
    21
See reviews for
38
151
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for the first 3days of our honeymoon. The food made me sick and I was given chicken sausages! I ordered beef for our romantic meal which was set up beautifully with rosé petals and candles but the beef was so tuff I could not cut never mind eat and even my husband who eats anything couldn't eat it!
The pool water was freezing and there wasn't enough sun beds for us and when asked it took them ages to get us some! One night we got into bed and I could hear a gecko on top of our bed we called the front desk and 4men with a metal pole arrived but said they couldn't see anything and it was gone once left we could hear it again but didn't bother calling as they didn't do anything 1st time! This was our last night and I have to say I was never so glad to be changing hotel!
We did have a lovely couples massage it was very relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked a duplex villa for our family of 2 Adults and 2 teens but upon arrival were provided with two pool villas for the same price. This resort is somewhat out of central Ubud but this can be a good thing if you wish to retreat to somewhere serene and rural at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. The shuttle bus is handy and we went into Ubud at 10.00 and were picked up at 2.30pm. This enabled us to spend some time walking, shopping and a leisurely lunch. After getting back to the resort we were able to swim and relax in the afternoon before making plans for the evening. One evening we caught the 5.00pm shuttle, had dinner and returned on the 8.30 shuttle.

The staff at the resort were lovely and friendly. They were attentive and warm, willing to talk and converse. The rooms we had were wonderfully spacious and very private. It was charming to hear the noises of the jungle, crickets, geckos and roosters! The morning view from our villa was glorious with mist and filtered sunlight.
Breakfast was included in the room price and we ate at the restaurant in the evenings on a few evenings. Food was more expensive and had less variety than what was available in Ubud.

We took a day sightseeing excursion with a driver organised through the resort. He also then took us to Kuta for the day and then delivered us to the airport on our day of departure. He was excellent, polite , professional and knowledgeable. His name was 'Bobby'.

Payogan is not for everybody and it depends on what you want, but if a quiet and a laid back atmosphere is what you want then this is the resort for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the infinity pool with valley views and it was delightful. The view is outstanding and our own plunge pool was perfect. We spent a lot of time relaxing and we felt very much in paradise. Here's where it ends though. The food was not good. Breakfast was hardly edible being eggs Benedict on bread with a slice of cheap ham and overlooked eggs. At a hotel with these prices that was shameful.
The service here is so friendly and the staff want to oblige but their smiles are not enough when they forgot to pick us up at the airport and then did not pick us up from town in the shuttle two days later. No attempt to make amends, just a shrug of the shoulder.
So they need to ramp up the follow through on their friendly smiles. The ambience is just not enough.

Room Tip: Go for the valley view. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in this resort on January 5, 2013 in a garden view villa. My first reaction as we entered this resort with our car was utter disbelief that anything so beautiful can exist! I agree with others...it is a paradise. The topography is a pleasure to the eye with its well maintained garden and Balinese design. The atmosphere and the curtsies felt like five star hotel. After registration we were taken to our villa by the resort's curt. The villa was spectacular! Huge Balinese style room with high ceiling, marble floor, air condition, floor to ceiling large window encompassing one whole wall and Balinese tasteful furnishings. Super clean and the stuff tucked flowers inside the room in many places to make you feel welcomed along with some fruits! Room had a dressing area with all amenities. A door opened from the dressing area into the private Balinese style open bathroom. It was like an icing on the cake! I was hoping to experience this type of bathroom in Bali. While taking a shower I was surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and flowers...amazing! We experienced no construction noise, only roosters waking us up in the morning...which we did not mind at all. It made us feel more immersed into the rural nature. The infinity pool in the facility overlooking the tropical forest was super clean and spectacular, we enjoyed it a lot. As a matter of fact, my husband liked it so much that he wanted to spend half a day in the pool. Breakfast was setup in a very open Balinese style room beside the pool. Truly speaking it felt like we were honeymooning! So romantic, beautiful and restful. I highly recommend this resort. Do not miss it!

Only thing I would say negative is that WiFi was poor and the road leading to the resort needed maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The scams! 1) I made a reservation for 2 bedroom villa with swimming pool. In arrival manager of hotel give us to rooms in duplex without of straight connection for DOUBLE price (add second room to my confirmation) 2) the hotel did not inform us that it under the reconstruction - the works makes a terrible noise from 5 am till night. 3) Our "villas" were not ready to guest accommodation - there are NO WATER! The staff even doesn’t reacts for demand to fix it. 4) The staff lies that hotel spa is overbooked and offer to visit other for tips (its lie spa is always empty because it's awful. The therapists unprofessional - they chat during procedures, makes 1,5 hour instead of 2, forget about bath - after full it with cold water and so on). 5) After all than we check-out because it impossible to live in this hotel - they take all full charge for both rooms without even water. That's ridiculous! We are totally disappointed and have to change hotel in the middle of vocation with very solid extra charges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We really enjoyed this resort! This place is an excellent value. Definitely go with the private pool valley view villa. You get your own infinity edge pool overlooking the lush valley. The resort is about a 10-15 min drive from the main restaurants, shops, and activities in Ubud. We had our own driver so that we didn't have to fuss with the shuttle since we were only there for a few days. The breakfast was pretty good (the cinnamon french toast was my favorite) plus you can order eggs any way you like them :)

The only negatives were that lizard/geckos can climb into your room and the roosters are kind of loud in the morning. I would almost expect this at any resort though because there are roosters everywhere in Ubud. The lizards weren't a problem for us because we understand that is how it is in that type of environment, but there were a couple that would climb in and hang around the roof of our villa.

This is the place to stay if you want friendly service, a great view, and nice relaxing environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Cocoa 2, no. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. BOX 999, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#64 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.