We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Champlung Sari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Champlung Sari Hotel to your Saves list
Champlung Sari Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found the hotel grounds and pool lovely to relax around. Had the Deluxe room and found it very clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. Nice balcony to sit and relax on. Breakfast can be a bit of a circus with the monkeys. I like to see animals from a distance. Staff did their best to chase them away, I thought choice of breads and pastrys and fruit good at breakfast. The containers the food were kept in were not heated, so if you like omelets (which l do), l just had a fresh one of these cooked each morning from the egg station. Would make a big difference if they kept hot food warmed. Had a buffet at the restaurant one evening, but very average. Still plenty of food places to choice from close by. I was travelling with my parents and should perhaps have requested ground floor rooms as quite a few steps around the resort. Staff were friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    186
    97
    48
    23
See reviews for
76
167
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location next to the monkey forest. Hotel and rooms are spacious and clean. My only downfall were the beds, they were extremely hard but other than that was a nice hotel. Wifi is available in public areas but is extremely SLOW.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Champlung and we returned mainly because we wanted to be close to the town centre. The location is great and the pool is fabulous. The hotel is quite dated and the breakfast is average. The most annoying thing is the monkeys. They disturb you when having breakfast and when relaxing by the pool. But having said that we enjoyed our stay as we loved the location and our room faced a mini jungle and some rice fields beyond which was sensational....and the pool was great. Not sure i'd go back because of the monkeys..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Champlung suri 
We love ubud and stated here twice, whist traveling round Bali. 
Great location, right next to monkey forest and in the middle of town. With plenty of shops and restaurants(highly recommend 3 monkeys, java noddles amazing), plus on 15 min walk to the market. monkey are free to roam the resort ground, I was alittle weary at this at first, but infact their no problem at all and a novelty to see.
They are very interested in breakfast tho, scouting the roof top and railings ready to still anything the can get their hands on, including sunnies and clothes. 
Our room was very spacious, big comfortable bed, lovely balcony and very clean. The resort itself is a very high standard and is well maintained.
The two pools here are fab, one deeper then the other, with plenty of sun lounges for afternoon baking.
Staff are very helpful, friendly and alway smiley. 
We'd definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in March 2013, it was myself, my husband and our two young boys 4 & 8 years old.
Firstly there was an error with our booking, (driver did not collect us from the airport, and hotel simply told us that they "werent coming") Thankfully a nice driver let us use his mobile to find this out, and we organized our own transport to Ubud.
We were told that we would have a room with a double bed, and a fold out bed for our two boys. Upon arrival there was a double bed and a tiny single bed for the 4 of us. We were told this was all there was...
The rooms were kept very clean, they were cleaned daily, and fresh linens each day. The bath towels were gross though and were a greyish colour and they stunk when they were wet.
food at the resturant there was triple the price that you can get on the street, as were the mini bar contents. We would just use and then go to the mini mart to replace.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, and the pools are immaculate.
Breakfast was very average. Not much on offer (im not fussy either) Bacon once in the 5 days, a couple of choices of fruit, ceral and toast.
You need eyes at the back of your head too because the monkeys will try and steal your food... sit in the middle of the breakfast area.
Overall I personally wouldnt stay here again, for the money we spent we could have got a lot more for our money elsewhere.

Room Tip: dont consider staying here if you have children. The rooms are not big enough, we stayed in a deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect location right next to monkey forrest. So amusing to se the monkeys on the terrace in the morning and at breakfast.
Really nice and clean hotel, two wonderfull pools. Tranquil gardens. Spacious rooms, clean with very good beds. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the forrest guarantee you to see the monkeys waking up in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, very spacious rooms and great value for money. Lovely pool and strong wifi in the lobby. Breakfast was very average, so we ate out on the second morning. Monkeys come and visit the restaurant in the mornings :) Overall, we would return to this hotel if ever in Ubud again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champlung Sari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.