We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champlung Sari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Champlung Sari Hotel to your Saves list
Champlung Sari Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVE this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel and could have stayed longer! Can't fault anything except breakfast is a little ordinary. Room was spacious and very comfortable (fantastic shower with no issues re water pressure and temperature), beautiful gardens and pools and lovely staff. Location is fantastic and monkeys entertaining but certainly not enough to be a nuisance. Suspect the issue with negative reviews of this hotel is people expecting a 4 or 5 star property - if you are realistic about your expectations this hotel is a beautiful oasis and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    169
    92
    47
    22
See reviews for
72
155
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I chose this hotel becuase it has cheap price and very good location to visit the Jl. monkey forest. Though my friend and I used a rend car for two days we stayed there, it's not bad to stay there.

The reason we thought that it's not bad is We didn't spend a lot at the hotel. We just slept and ate the breakfast. Don't expect 5 star hotel service, then you will be satisfied with this hotel.
I didn't visit monkey forest. but if you stay here, you can see many monkeys. The breakfast is soso.

Room Tip: They have hair dryers at the reception desk. so, in the morning, you could wait your turn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our second visit this year and we really enjoyed being around the monkeys. The staff did their best at breakfast time to chase the monkeys away but it was impossible to do so completely...it didn't really worry us we just kept a bit of fruit aside in case we got targeted. I We quite liked seeing the monkeys around the pool too...mostly they just wanted a drink from the pool. They would target you if you had a drink bottle or fruit on you though. We were in a great room at the side of the hotel so we could watch their antics in the palm trees in the morning. You just had to be sensible around the monkeys and not stare at them or confront them and keep your room door shut. The hotel location is excellent, you can head up the main drag or to the left there is Kafe and The Pond within easy walking distance. There's a nice homely little hairdresser exit left around the corner that will wash and blow dry your hair for 4000 rp. I think it is called Stella. We could get wifi alright around the pool and at reception...i spent hours on the internet (on Trip Advisor!) and had no problems. One negative for me was staff trying to sell you day tours for 70 to 100 dollars when the going rate is much less. We had a nice time relaxing around the pool during our two week stay; there were plenty of pool towels. It's not an expensive hotel at around $80 a night internet rate so i would say that it is value for money. Our kettle took about 10 mins to boil but that was okay. Most days i just had omelet and fresh fruit and a pastry for breakfast and you can have the eggs cooked to order if you want them piping hot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My 5-day stay in a delux room met my expectations after staying in various hotels in Bali.
Nothing is perfect but enjoyed everything.
Good pools, passable breakfast.
The restaurant standard could be improved but there is plenty of choice along Monkey Forest Rd.

Room Tip: Check the rooms first and haggle for a good price, most hotel rooms are negotiable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here with my mother on the advice of the travel agent on my second trip to Ubud. First impressions of the hotel were very good but unfortunately the stay was not a good one. Breakfast was very average quality and the 'hot' breakfast was always stone cold. The staff were more interested in chatting to each other than being helpful. The monkeys at breakfast were very aggressive and allowed to come onto the tables and steal food while the staff continued chatting.
There were 2 hairdryers for the whole hotel which you had to wait hours for and pick up at the front desk. When I finally got one, it was so old and useless that I was about to give up when it sparked and smoked profusely like it was going to explode. I took it back and told reception that it was faulty and dangerous. The next day though I saw an italian couple with the same hairdryer complaining at the front desk because it had blown up as they used it!
The kettle was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen and unable to be used. The internet is available at the front reception area but rarely worked. The pools were lovely but there were very few chairs around the pool to be used and even fewer towels provided to dry off with. I certainly could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We returned to Ubud after 14 years - very much busier of course but still an interesting and attractive place to stay surrounded by lovely walks in the rice paddies. This hotel is situated across the road (and too close) to the Monkey Forest. Very average hotel but with two surprisingly good swimming pools. Rooms and bathrooms are large but need updating. Breakfast was pretty basic and involved a constant battle trying to keep the monkeys from stealing food off your plate! The staff were poorly trained and didn't seem particularly concerned by the guests' constant battle with the monkeys both at breakfast and around the swimming pools. It is about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Ubud. We were lucky enough to witness a spectacular funeral ceremony during our stay after being tipped off by a local earlier in the week. We would choose a different hotel on a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are better places to stay but this was convenient for its location and really it was better than expected. It is a large hotel, breakfast was ok (could be better) the pools were nice although there weren't enough sun lounges. I took the advice of some reviews on tripadvisor and asked for a room in the old part but it was so horrible we quickly asked to move and were very lucky we could as it was pretty full. The newer room was so much better...the old one felt claustrophobic and there were a few flaws in the amenities and the cleanliness. Front desk staff are busy but still manage to be friendly and helpful. So why choose here? It's close to all the shopping and the monkeys are entertaining so long as they don't target YOU!

Room Tip: I disagree about the old rooms unless I just struck a bad one...definitely prefer the new ones with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champlung Sari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.