We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little sanctuary !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Resort to your Saves list
Sankara Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Banjar Kumbuh, Desa Mas, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 252 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little sanctuary !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I loved our stay at Sankara!

Nothing is too much to ask for the excellent staff, everyone is super friendly, speaks great English and knows how to pamper you while perfectly respecting your privacy. They are great!

The resort itself is set with views on the very green surroundings. A bit 'nowhere', you'll need their shuttle to get to Ubud. But again, this is very well organized and you can always arrange your own driver to bring you / pick you up whenever you want.

The room are spacious, new, romantic, comfortable and clean. A good mix of modern and Balinese style. And do join for one of the yoga sessions twice a day or go for a treatment/massage in their wellness.

Just perfect for a couples weekend - would go back in a heartbeat.
Do note this is not a big resort and charming is key (rather than big & loud).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Doris

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud resort a peaceful living.
Thank you very much for your staying with us and great to heard that you have enjoyed and memorable stayed with us. we are glad to deliver our hospitality during your with us. also thank you very much for choosing Sankara ubud for your holiday during in Bali. we hope have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the next near future at Paradise island Bali. Please passing our best regards to Mr. van .

ketut and All staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
91
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at Sankara, Ubud while on our Honeymoon. We stayed for 4 nights before traveling to Lombok. The location is so peaceful and tranquil, although it is a little bit away from Ubud you can easily walk it and the handy taxi service was great, the staff even picked us up later than the last pickup.
The hotel itself is so well kept, the room and the pool is immaculate. We had some of the most delicious food in the restaurant and the spa was excellent value for money and an amazing experience.
What makes Sankara truly special is the staff. The staff were so attentive and went out of their way to make our Honeymoon the best that is could be. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room and to be honest the pool was so peaceful and quiet it may not be worth upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Stephmc1234

warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud Resort a peaceful living.
We are glad to delivery our hospitality during your holiday in Bali. Thank you very much for choosing Sankara Ubud for your honeymoon. we are glad to heard that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and have the special memorable with our staff. Please come back again in the next near future for us. we are really glad to welcoming you again.

Ketut and All staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Sankara is such a beautiful resort with the most friendly staff ever! Always nice and helpful with warm smiles that made us smile all the time as well. So nice to enjoy such a good Bali-vibe, including offerings allover the resort and the super rustique Rindik music. Such a beautiful place, with an amazing pool in such a green environment. Everything is really tasteful.

Our rice field view room was gorgeous and very big with a great bathroom. Daily free afternoon tea is provided with the most delicious little sweets. (I'm still dreaming about the dadar gulung!). The restaurant food was superb and breakfast was heavenly, with the most amazing french toast! There are free yogaclasses as well.

Since Sankara is not located in the citycenter, which is a good thing for its peace and quietness, a free shuttlebus is available every two hours two Ubud city centre and back. Including the most friendly drivers. Definitely a wish list come-back resort! Terima kasih to manager Ketut and his staff. Om swastiastu.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Anemoon U

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud Resort a peaceful living
Thank you very much for your kinds comment and we are glad to deliver our hospitality to you during stay at our resort. and we are happy to heard that you have amazing and enjoyed stay with us. Also we are glad you have amazing with our staff at Sankara, one of the our asset have to bring the Balinese priority service and with the culture and Balinese traditional character.
Hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the our Resort in the next near future.

Ketut and All Staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Sankara Hotel is a wonderful place to stay if you want to experience the real Bali, without being too far away from the tourist hubs.My partner and I stayed for 7 nights in a beautifully appointed room with lots of space, and a balcony that overlooked the rice fields.

It was a decent 40 minute walk into the centre of Ubud for those of us that enjoy a good walk, however the hotels free shuttle also was available for those who wanted a comfy 10 minute trip in.

The staff were very welcoming, remembered our names, and ensured that every thing needed was provided.

The extra touches, such as the afternoon tea, coconut craft/offering making and Yoga were all complimentary and made our stay even more complete.

The resturant, although pricier than some of the Warungs in town, had great food, with my husband finding the best satay he had ever eaten. Our compliments to the chef.

Finally a big thankyou to Roni and his staff for the great service, and to Wayan, the best Yoga teacher!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Kim B

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud Resort a peaceful living. Thank you very much for staying with us. we are very glad to have delivery our hospitality during your holiday in Bali. we are glad you have wonderful stayed and special to our staff.
once again, thank you very much for choosing the Sankara Ubud for your vacation in Bali. hope we have time to welcoming you back again at a peaceful living .

Ketut and All staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved sankara. Stunning resort in great location just a few kms from town. Some of the best food we had in Bali. Lovely room, terrific facilities and gorgeous staff. This resort is quite new and they are on an absolute winner. Faultless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Stormbell

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud Resort a peaceful living
Thank you very much for your nice comment. we are glad to have deliver the our hospitality during your holiday in Paradise Island Bali, Also happy to heard that you have loved with Sankara.
Once again, thank you very much and hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the next near future in Bali.

Ketut and All staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying three nights at Sankara Resort.
Staff were very helpful & the whole time couldn't do enough to ensure stay was enjoyable.
Nice quiet location only 10 minutes from bustling Ubud township
Complimentary shuttle to town (runs every two hours ) a nice touch
Breakfast very good also

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mr Paul N

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud resort a peaceful living. Thank you very much for your nice comment and we are happy to have you pleasure stayed with us. we are glad have deliver our hospitality during your holiday in paradise island Bali. we hope have the opportunity to welcoming you back again and deliver our best service in the next near future.

Ketut and All Staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you are looking for that frenetic pace found on the coast then Sankara is not for you. However, if a less frantic pace is what you want then look no further than this beautiful boutique resort. From the moment you arrive until departure, the ambience created by management and staff creates the feeling you are very special. How staff remember names is completely beyond me, but they do, and always with a lovely unforced smile. I had the absolute pleasure of Nekula villa all to myself; privacy ensured, and beautifully appointed rooms without being ostentatious. There were a few minor issues on arrival but once reported they were all attended to within 15mins. When I choose an hotel the environment is important, but service is absolutely paramount. Sankara does not fail; they excel! Located about 15mins from town center with shuttle service provided, Sankara sits amongst rice paddies and coconut plantations. No noise, and at night you lie in bed listening to natural nocturnal sounds of crickets. Love this place and highly recommend it if only for the staff and wonderful service.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family or another couple then Nekula pool villa comes highly recommended. Two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SankaraUbud, Manager at Sankara Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Lovely guest Brjack2014.

Warmest greeting from Sankara Ubud Resort a peaceful living
Thank you very much for your nice comment , we are very happy to heard that you have enjoyed and memorable stayed with us. Hope we have time to welcoming you back again in the next near future and deliver our best hospitality.
Once , thank you very much for choosing Sankara Ubud for your nice holiday in Bali.

Ketut and All Staff Sankara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Resort

Address: Banjar Kumbuh, Desa Mas, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 252 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sankara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word 'sankara' refers to a conch sea shell that produces a haunting sound when blown. According to the epic Hindu poem, Mahabarata, the horn-like noise of the sankara often signaled the beginning and end of battles between opposing Indian clans. In Bali it is used as a ceremonial instrument during rituals of purification to neutralize negative energy and create a peaceful ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.