We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fist trip / HONEYMOON to Heavenly Bali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early
Ranked #2 of 119 hotels in Ubud
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our fist trip / HONEYMOON to Heavenly Bali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Our next stop after Legian was The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Service was excellent. Chedi arranged a driver to pick us up from Legian. The driver was really friendly and gladly explained everything about Ubud. When we arrived at Chedi, we were greeted by our personal butler. She was fantastic! Her english was good and very friendly. She even provided us with food, drinks and even cold towel while we waited for our room. Chedi was very different from Legian. It is a hotel that is very rich in Balinese art. Every part of Chedi is unique. We were completely amazed by this hotel. Every part of the room reflected the Balinese culture. At first my wife was pretty worried about the mosquitos and peeping tom because of the open concept bathroom, but she was wrong.
We stayed at Chedi for 2 nights. My advice for fellow traveller is "stay longer!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Its very nice to hear that you enjoyed the Balinese aspects of our hotel. I agree, its nice to see different parts of this beautiful island and Ubud, the cultural hub of Bali is definitely a must to visit.

We hope upon your next visit you are able to stay a bit longer with us. Congratulation again on your honeymoon and thank you again for choosing the Chedi Club Ubud!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    54
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
461
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Before heading to Bali, We were looking for a place not too busy and away from the busy crowd of Seminyak. Naturally UBUD came to my mind. Having done some research The Chedi Club Ubud seemed like a good bet. I have to say the experience was wonderful. The suite room was spacious and the scenery was beautiful. With only 20 villas it is definitely very private and exclusive and that's one of the reasons why I booked it. Our butler was very attentive and was helpful in helping us book restaurants for our dinner. Having said that the food at the restaurant was outstanding. They were equally good in both the western and balinese cuisine. We also had a not from the Chef that he would be able to customise our meals or cook something that we liked.

We also had the opportunity to experience the Spa and the massages were excellent. I would rate this as one of the best massages we ever had. To sum it all up we had a wonderful stay at The Chedi Club and we are already planning a return at the end of the year if time permits.

Thank you for giving us a well rested holiday and experiencing the hospitality of the Chedi Club. We had the experience of personal touch from the staff to the Chef to the GM. This is something very rare and we treasure this experience.

See you again Chedi Club and thank you all staff of the Chedi Club Ubud for making our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and its wonderful to hear that we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the privacy, our services and facilities. I'll make sure to pass on your kind note to the entire team especially Chef Dean.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have stayed in some wonderful hotels all over the world and the Chedi has joined our (very small) list of favourites. We stayed 3 nights as part of a 5 week tour through Indonesia and this hotel was certainly the best. Our suite was spacious and well furnished and beautifully looked after each day. The staff were all wonderfully friendly and efficient and we very much appreciated the service of our butler Komang and all the extras like the laundry service, afternoon tea and cakes and evening cocktails. At the lovely pool there was iced water, sun cream and even face spray mist. The manager was also in evidence introducing himself to guests - always a sign of a good hotel.
The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained, the restaurant looks out over paddy fields and overall there is a sense of peace and quiet.
At breakfast there was a choice of different styles of food rather than the usual buffet and we also had a very good dinner in the restaurant one evening.
Besides the complimentary car service into Ubud we recommend the short (10 minute) walk to Goa Gajah, the Elephant Cave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing it with fellow travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel privileged to be on the list of your favorites hotel.

Its always nice to hear that you could enjoy the peacefulness and calm of our Estate. I'll make sure to pass on your note to Komang your butler and the rest of our team, they will be very happy to receive it.

It was a pleasure to meet you personally during your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is just amazing and gives you 150% Bali. Privacy, Service and attention to detail in an absolut private setting. An example how hospitality should be. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY IN PARADISE

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

" Heaven on earth"! A better compliment we could not have received. Thank for that and for sharing your experience at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah on TripAdvisor.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We came from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, so this peaceful getaway was just what the doctor ordered. The staff at the Chedi Club go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay. I have done my fair share of traveling and have to say this is truly one of my favorite hotels in the world. We loved our private villa. Our personal butler was very accommodating without being too obtrusive. We made use of the spa which was great. massage with a view of the rice paddies. Also highly recommend the cook-out. Fantastic food. I felt bad for the hotel we stayed in after this in Jimbaran. Even though it was very nice, Chedi Club is a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We could not be happier to receive such a fantastic review! Thank you very much! Its very nice to hear that the Chedi Club Ubud is one of your favorite hotel.

Your comment about our colleagues and your personal butler is very much appreciated;they are working hard every day and I am really proud of having such great people in my team.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illoinois
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Chedi Club is something very, very special. It is a remote resort in the midst of rice fields, with individual villas for every guest, a great deal of wide open space, a large pool, superb cuisine, and a level of personal service not found in almost any other place. You have your own butler, available when you need him. Walking through the grounds is a lovely, peaceful way to get away from your cares. Although it is remote itself, it is only ten minutes from the heart of the city of Ubud where there is much to see. My wife and I hired a guide for our days there, and so we spent the days seeing wonderful old temples and villages, then returning to this remarkable place. This is as close to flawless as a resort can be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for such a great review on our resort. Its a pleasure to know that we could provide you with a unique and memorable experience.

I will make sure to share your note with the entire team, they will be happy to receive it.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Chedi Club Ubud.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I came to heal and that's exactly what this place helped me achieve. It is remote and surrounded my rice fields. The staff and butler provided for my every need in a quiet unobtrusive way. Yoga and massages and walks through the fields through the temple and back through the village quickly had my inner peace well and truly sorted. Loved the distant sound of the roosters from the nearby village. Ubud is very close and some beautiful serene healing temples also nearby. I can't wait to go back to the mountains of Ubud. So much calmer that the beach resorts.

Room Tip: Any room…..you won't be disappointed. They are all spacious. Some have private plunge pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are delighted to hear that you found in our hotel what you were looking for and could rejuvenate and restore your inner peace.

We very much appreciate your comment about our service being quiet and unobtrusive, that a great compliment to us.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcome you back soon to the Chedi CLub.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.