We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
London
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have stayed in some wonderful hotels all over the world and the Chedi has joined our (very small) list of favourites. We stayed 3 nights as part of a 5 week tour through Indonesia and this hotel was certainly the best. Our suite was spacious and well furnished and beautifully looked after each day. The staff were all wonderfully friendly and efficient and we very much appreciated the service of our butler Komang and all the extras like the laundry service, afternoon tea and cakes and evening cocktails. At the lovely pool there was iced water, sun cream and even face spray mist. The manager was also in evidence introducing himself to guests - always a sign of a good hotel.
The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained, the restaurant looks out over paddy fields and overall there is a sense of peace and quiet.
At breakfast there was a choice of different styles of food rather than the usual buffet and we also had a very good dinner in the restaurant one evening.
Besides the complimentary car service into Ubud we recommend the short (10 minute) walk to Goa Gajah, the Elephant Cave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing it with fellow travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel privileged to be on the list of your favorites hotel.

Its always nice to hear that you could enjoy the peacefulness and calm of our Estate. I'll make sure to pass on your note to Komang your butler and the rest of our team, they will be very happy to receive it.

It was a pleasure to meet you personally during your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
119
518
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andermatt, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is just amazing and gives you 150% Bali. Privacy, Service and attention to detail in an absolut private setting. An example how hospitality should be. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY IN PARADISE

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

" Heaven on earth"! A better compliment we could not have received. Thank for that and for sharing your experience at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah on TripAdvisor.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We came from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, so this peaceful getaway was just what the doctor ordered. The staff at the Chedi Club go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay. I have done my fair share of traveling and have to say this is truly one of my favorite hotels in the world. We loved our private villa. Our personal butler was very accommodating without being too obtrusive. We made use of the spa which was great. massage with a view of the rice paddies. Also highly recommend the cook-out. Fantastic food. I felt bad for the hotel we stayed in after this in Jimbaran. Even though it was very nice, Chedi Club is a very tough act to follow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We could not be happier to receive such a fantastic review! Thank you very much! Its very nice to hear that the Chedi Club Ubud is one of your favorite hotel.

Your comment about our colleagues and your personal butler is very much appreciated;they are working hard every day and I am really proud of having such great people in my team.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illoinois
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Chedi Club is something very, very special. It is a remote resort in the midst of rice fields, with individual villas for every guest, a great deal of wide open space, a large pool, superb cuisine, and a level of personal service not found in almost any other place. You have your own butler, available when you need him. Walking through the grounds is a lovely, peaceful way to get away from your cares. Although it is remote itself, it is only ten minutes from the heart of the city of Ubud where there is much to see. My wife and I hired a guide for our days there, and so we spent the days seeing wonderful old temples and villages, then returning to this remarkable place. This is as close to flawless as a resort can be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for such a great review on our resort. Its a pleasure to know that we could provide you with a unique and memorable experience.

I will make sure to share your note with the entire team, they will be happy to receive it.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Chedi Club Ubud.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I came to heal and that's exactly what this place helped me achieve. It is remote and surrounded my rice fields. The staff and butler provided for my every need in a quiet unobtrusive way. Yoga and massages and walks through the fields through the temple and back through the village quickly had my inner peace well and truly sorted. Loved the distant sound of the roosters from the nearby village. Ubud is very close and some beautiful serene healing temples also nearby. I can't wait to go back to the mountains of Ubud. So much calmer that the beach resorts.

Room Tip: Any room…..you won't be disappointed. They are all spacious. Some have private plunge pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are delighted to hear that you found in our hotel what you were looking for and could rejuvenate and restore your inner peace.

We very much appreciate your comment about our service being quiet and unobtrusive, that a great compliment to us.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcome you back soon to the Chedi CLub.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Looking back on our stay it was as though The Chedi brought the best of Bali to us, instead of our having to go out try and find it. It was the highlight of our 2 weeks in Indonesia.

Immaculate grounds, expansive rice paddies, well appointed rooms and incredibly thoughtful service: Chedi is a calm sanctuary close enough to Ubud to provide opportunity for exploration yet removed enough to escape from the mad traffic of Bali (yes, even in Ubud off season it was constant).

Pardi our butler was friendly and genuinely looking to assist in making our stay comfortable, as were all of the staff. Every detail was attended to in the room and on expeditions, including our offhand request for a travel converter which resulted in a brand new 25lb commercial-grade converter set in our room hours later - "It was all we could find for you today" was the apology when we teased him about it. Very eager to accommodate, a wonderful quality in a host.

The food and cocktails were excellent and creative as well as being reasonably priced. Pastries!! And locally inspired foods were especially good. We enjoyed the open air dining and breakfasts very much. Do take part in the Kecak event which was an unexpected highlight - set amongst the moss covered statues and fire bowls it was wonderfully atmospheric.

The pool villa was extremely comfortable - we spent a fair bit of time in the private courtyard of our villa and would have missed that option, though the pool area and attendant Gusti were both a pleasure to visit.

Balinese and Indonesian artwork and decor throughout the property made our stay feel very authentic and culturally rich (as much as one can get in a resort), something we hoped to experience in Bali but found very difficult to come by.

Spa services were also very good, though I felt that the restaurant facing location of the spa room is not private or quiet enough - a loud air conditioner and restaurant noise were slightly bothersome. There was minor construction happening during our five day stay which did not bother us as it was otherwise empty.

Weather in February was often cloudy with a few sprinkles but warm and comfortable.

Dining tip - Mozaic is a good destination for one evening's meal.  Skip the baba guling in town, it is much better at the hotel no matter what the mass reviews of Ubud say.

Room Tip: Pool villa is a must, as others have said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read through your detailed review and its great to hear that we could provide you with the authentic Balinese experience you were looking for. I agree with you the combination of Balinese art pieces, endless rice field and our gardens and ponds represents the best of this beautiful and cultural rich island.

Its nice to hear that you enjoyed our services, food, cocktails and facilities. The small construction work has finally been completed as well.

We would like to thank you again for your visit at the Chedi Club and for sharing your thoughts about our resort on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Chedi in Ubud from the 15th to 25th May 2014. The hotel is fantastic, the staff are very friendly and attentive. The hotel is very private, set in rice paddies and so is very quiet. However, it is only a 10 minute taxi ride from Ubud centre, where there is plenty going on.

I would recommend the cookery class as Chef Dean is very passionate about his food and it was a fun afternoon. Dean makes sure the food is a very high standard - the freshly baked pastries for breakfast were a real treat. Also do try out the spa.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Dean will be very happy to get your gracious comments about his cooking classes and culinary skills. We are fortunate to have him as one of our team members and on top of hat having our own organic garden from where we harvest only the freshest products for our dishes helps as well.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.