We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most serenely beautiful place we have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
George
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The most serenely beautiful place we have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Cannot think of a single thing they could do to improve. You will relax in a hurry. Set amongst lush green rice paddies and signs of local culture abounds. Villas are a home away from home, just with better architecture and service. Small touches like free laundry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that we could deliver you an 'home away from home' experience and you enjoyed our various Club Benefits.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to our hotel and thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    61
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
502
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Chedi Club for four nights during our honeymoon in Bali. This is one of the best hotes (if not the best) we have ever stayed at. From the moment you arrive, the staff and your personal butler takes care of anything you could possibly need. We stayed in a pool villa room with a rice paddy view, where we had breakfast delivered to our room a couple mornings and ate outside staring out into the rice paddies. The food and cocktails here were also excellent. The highlight of our stay though was the walk through the rice fields right behind the property. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your great review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for highlighting the butler service and our food quality. That is very much appreciated and I will make sure to pass it on to our butler and culinary team. I agree with you, our rice paddy walk is something very special and shows the untouched and beautiful nature of Bali.

We are very happy to hear that we were able to create a memorable honeymoon stay for you and look forward to the pleasure of a return visit and to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we had very high expectations of our 2nd visit to Bali during which we wished to live the Bali style dream; we stayed 2 weeks in the Chedi (which was above average):
- beautiful manicured garden in which only 20 villas are located, peaceful view on huge rice-fields
- superb service by all staff members (restaurant, pool, reception, boutique, drivers), particularly by our private butler Pardi, great and very friendly general manager Simon Spiller (Swiss hospitality and perfection)
- free and excellent broad-band Wifi all over the place

Room Tip: if you can afford it choose a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you with us for two week and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass on your gracious comments to the whole team and especially Pardi your butler.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to our hotel and thank you again for staying at the Chedi Club and reviewing our hotel.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in August and what an experience we had. Being city dwellers, I decided that to celebrate my wife's birthday, we should get away to some place peaceful with good service and good food. And I never regretted my decision to choose the chedi club. And here is why:

Location - Surrounded by rice fields and well manicured lawns, your body automatically goes into a relaxed state. Everything slows down and we find ourselves walking slowly to absorb the peacefulness in. Everywhere you turn is green and you hear the gentle sound of the breeze and the relaxing sound of water flowing in the irrigation system or in the pond. Occasionally you hear the sound of a bird or insect but not the noises from the road or people talking. Perfect. Yet you are not far from Ubud. Once out of the gate, you are back into civilisation. However, we more of look forward to entering the gate back into this peaceful setting.

Villa - Ours is a pool villa (no 8). It looks out into a small patch of paddy field and the sound of water flowing into the pool adds to the overall spiritual feeling. Our villa is clean and beautifully decorated. It looks and feel modern and luxurious yet Balinese at the same time. Perfect balance again. Everything is in a workable condition and comfortable. However I do find that the front gate to our villa, as well as the door to our room is a bit out of alignment resulting in slight difficulty in locking the gate and also opening the door fully. But this is a minor detail that don't bother us as we know that nothing is perfect.

Staff - We have a butler called Putra. He is really nice and not intrusive. We arrived late and he is waiting for us to take us to our villa. And check in is done in room the next day! Totally no stress on arrival. He is always there when we need him and nothing is too difficult for him to do. We wanted to experience flying a kite like a local and he appears with a kite. We wanted to feed the swans and he appeared with bread. He also does online check in for us as well as cleaning our shoes after the paddy field walk. And on the last night, he fold towels into animals and my wife totally adores them.
The staff at the restaurant are among the nicest you can find anywhere in this world. They are a perfect balance of professionalism, friendliness and passion. It would be unfair for me to single out 1 or 2 of them for commendation as they are all very good. In fact we felt sad when walking out of the restaurant after our breakfast on the day of check out. We never felt like that before. They are like our good friends instead of some wait staff.
The drivers are also very friendly and knowledgeable. They are very careful in their driving. At no point were we stressed in any car trips with any driver due to their driving or behaviour. Very professional.
And the security staff at the gate. Very friendly people. You can see the friendliness in their eyes and in their actions and smile. You can't fake friendliness.
I can't forget about the staff at the spa as well as the gardeners. Very friendly and professional too.
I do regret that we didn't have much interaction with the general manager and the executive chef. In the very short conversations that we had, they seemed like very professional people and very passionate in their roles.

Food - We had the paddy dinner, cultural dinner, lunch with a view as well as a Indonesian rice table. I would say that the international menu that we had are of a very high standard. It is not easy to achieve that in a restaurant in the middle of the paddy fields in Ubud. I am sure that the executive chef must have worked really hard to create this high standard. However I feel that the Indonesian menu is a little bit tuned to suit mostly western guests. But they noticed and offered to spice things up. They will also cook what you want or make the food tastes to your liking. Very personalised touch. The chilli cashews offered in the room are a must try. We also had meals in Ubud so you could have some variety.

While things like free mini bar, afternoon tea, evening cocktails are a nice touch, I would also like to suggest some improvements. The free laundry for us took some time to get back to us (you send today morning before and you get it back the next day instead of the same day as written in the hotel book) so one may want to take note of that and cater for enough clothes especially if for special dinners. There was a dead fly in my breakfast one day and although it happens sometimes, the kitchen staff should be more careful as it could be a big turn off for anyone.

Lastly, the main thing that I really appreciate about the chedi club is that they really support the local community. I am not sure if I am right, but the dancers in the kecak dance are locals, the shampoo and bath gel in our villa, I believe, are locally sourced due to the way they are presented in a jar with no designer labels. I also heard that the locals managed the rice fields and the chedi club buys the rice back from them. Very well done if true. These are the small things I think matters the most.

In all, this is a very special stay. It is highly unlikely that we will encounter a hotel or resort like the chedi club Tanah gajah again. This is a very well managed property, with passionate and dedicated staff from the top down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel reaches perfection into any aspect of hotel services: excellent service and very good trained and supporting staff; an excellent restaurant service (breakfast and lunch / dinner); great Location (relaxing; big property ; well maintained; very clean); rooms are perfectly equipped. I would not consider going somewhere else in Ubud.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Chedi club is very close to ubud center. The hotel arranges for you to be delivered and picked up by their own private transportation during the day time without extra charge which is a great advantag. We stayed in suite not an extra ordinary view, but the pool villas might have better view. During the night we heard even if rarely a little bit traffic noise. The rooms are very comfortable and the pest service is amazing because we did not encounter with any insect. The use of minibar as free is also very satisfying. Before we leave to ubud hanging gardens we sent 5 items of laundry free of charge as well. The restaurant has an amazing of rice paddy fields view. The local food which we only tried are amazing. But the menu has also international options as well. We have both tried spa for balienese, reflexology and ila kundalini back messages and were very pleased with the treatments. Overall the personel is great with their smiling faces and eagerness to please you. One last note, visit ketut liyer although he tells everybody almost the same things, still makes you laugh. If you are a yogi, visit yoga barn in ubud.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Chedi Club Ubud. Thank you for your gracious comments about the local Balinese food, the spa treatments and the service from our staff.

We look forward to the pleasure of a return visit and to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at some incredible properties during our trip to Indonesia and Hong Kong, but the highlight of our trip was the Chedi Club. In terms of service, comfort, attention to detail, the setting and our villa, the Chedi was the top (it was even better than the Aman on our trip!).
The biggest thing that sets this hotel apart from the rest is the staff. Their friendliness, hard work, attention to detail and striving to please the guests was incredible.
Darma, our "butler", was unbelievable. Every morning he brought us our amazingly large and delicious breakfast. He scheduled our drivers and trips and served the complementary cocktails by our pool in the evening (really!). Darma took us on a walk through the rice paddies and to his village next to the hotel. He even packed up my favorite breakfast of Martabak (an Indonesian pancake) when we left early for the airport.
Another staff who was exceptional was Chef Dean. Friendly and really wanting to please the guests, we really appreciated his enthusiasm and amazing food.
The list goes on to include the yoga instructor, the front desk staff, the drivers, etc. All went beyond proficient service to providing a personal experience for the guests. The service here is leagues better than what we experienced at the Four Seasons Ubud, where we stayed on our last trip.

Room Tip: Having a view of the rice paddies from the pool was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.