We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Land of Elephants, Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Simply Divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Land of Elephants, Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Simply Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently returned from the Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah and wanted to share our delight with our experience. The service was out of this world, with our private butler "Bawa" looking after our every need. The property was magnificent, the reflecting pools and lotus ponds attracting gorgeous birds and butterflies. The statues, flowers and artwork displayed throughout the property are amazing and make for an inspiring walk if the heat is not too intense. We loved our Pool Villa and swam every single day; a bonus for me is that the pool water was perfect - not too cold and not too warm. What a refreshing way to spend the day. Breakfast in the Dining Room bordering the rice fields was idyllic - wonderful food, incredible juices and smoothies, friendly and attentive service could not be beat. We loved it so much we've written a full, in-depth review for our website, newjetsetters.com and we invite you all to come and read it. We can't put a link in to our website here, but if you type in new jetsetters, once you get to our site, search for "Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah" you will find the review. It has beautiful HD video embedded in it as well, so you can really get a feel for this astounding property.

Sincere thanks to Simon Spiller, General Manager, who met with us and allowed us to really explore the property and the other villa categories in order to gather information for our reviews, and to all the staff for treating us with incredible warmth and hospitality. We also want to thank Bawa, our wonderful butler, who became a friend over those seven days. Hopefully one day we will return! Hope to see you all visit our website; the review will be published on newjetsetters the week of July 8th, 2013.

Room Tip: Request a Villa backing onto the Rice Paddy for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
119
518
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As newly-weds we flew off to Bali, Lombok and the Gili islands for two weeks and made sure to leave the Chedi Club for the end of our honeymoon. This was a very wise decision as it was by the best place we stayed at on the trip and we stayed at some top-end hotels on the trip.

Upon arriving at hectic Denpasar airport, we walked into arrivals to a sea of bits of paper with names on. After much scanning around, our eyes found a lovely dark wooden sign with engraved lettering, containing our names. Our bags were taken to a car where we met our driver and were given cold bottled water and cold towels - perfect already and we hadn't even arrived!

After the 1.5hr drive, we were met by our butler Rusdi who we would learn to discover would be extremely helpful and accommodating to us during our stay at the Chedi Club. Check-in to the hotel was outstanding and involved sitting on a large sofa, sipping a cool ginger and lemongrass drink and eating banana fritters - completely stress free (oh and cold towels again). We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was absolutely gorgeous - beautiful paintings, outdoor bathroom is surrounded by stone walls with moss. The wi-fi was superb, none of that having to re-enter a password every time you want to use the internet business.

One of the biggest appeals of the Chedi Club is all of its complimentary amenities; laundry, evening cocktails, afternoon tea, car service to and from Ubud, mini bar (stocked with Bintang and THE best cashew nuts). Another big part of its appeal is the food! Chef Dean and his team cook some truly beautiful dishes and will always accommodate any specific tastes or dietary needs. One of our particular favourite nights was the night of the biggest moon we’ve ever seen and the night of the Chedi BBQ at which we were able to sample some traditional babi guling. After that our butler Rusdi very kindly told Chef Dean that it was our last night to which he decided to use us as guinea pigs for one of his new refreshing and exciting desserts! Fantastic!

You will NOT be disappointed with staying here. Sitting around by the paddy fields all days is truly a tranquil experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Chedi Club, we sincerely thank you for a fantastic review. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful honeymoon stay with us and are glad you could enjoy our various Club Benefits to its fullest.

Chef Dean and Rusdi were pleased to hear that they were able to create a memorable stay for you and cater to your culinary requests.

All of us are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a beautiful way to start our 12 night stay in Bali. We were felt right at home in this amazing hotel. I would never have expected a 5 Star to give you such a homely and one to one tailored service ( and i have stayed in a fair 5 stars around the world). Locals rice farming in the hotel grounds, the tremendous butler service, the amazing views when you walk out of your villa in the morning, the spa treatments and the food. We were called by our names and our breakfast options were memorised by the end of the first day. They noticed how much i loved Nasi Goreng so on the day we left they gave us a small bag of their own farmed rice (which was grown in the rice paddy fields surrounding the villas) and the hotels chef's recipe of Nasi Goreng!

Our butler took great care to advise us where to eat and go for local food based on our description of what experience or style of food we wanted. We wanted to taste the real local food and life in ubud and thats what we got.

I would go back to the chedi club 100 times over! We stayed in a spa villa for 4 nights which included our very own on site private spa with complimentary 1 hour his/her treatments every day! Highly highly recommended!

Love you chedi! My husband and i still talk about you today!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and the grounds of our hotels. I am glad you liked the small rice present which we handed out upon departure. Happy cooking!

We will make sure to pass on you gracious feed back to the entire team, and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel and grounds were gorgeous and the staff is wonderful. I stayed in a pool villa which was great for privacy although the main pool never looked to have more than a few people at it. The villa is quite spacious, the bed is wonderfully comfortable and the included breakfast is fantastic. My butler, Yuni, was great, always around but never intrusive ( how did she know when I snuck out for breakfast in order to have the room made up before I returned?? :) ) I would also like to thank the chef who was wonderfully accommodating to adapt dishes as I am a vegetarian. If you are looking for a serene place to relax, this it is!

Room Tip: If you choose a pool villa, try to get one that has an open view to the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Chedi Club Ubud. It was a great pleasure that I read through your review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services. I am happy to pass it on to Yuni your butler and Chef Dean.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights...the service is great,food lovely,surroundings quiet and serene.An extravagance which gave us a sense of luxury and peace...the villas themselves are very private and spotless....some of the outside woodwork and decking is looking a little tired but the grounds of the main resort are glorious.

Room Tip: Get a pool villa if you can....more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights at The Chedi. It was a marvelous experience. The grounds and the villas were exceptional - we spent 4 nights in the spa villa and the final night in the Hadirprana villa. However, what sets The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah apart from all the other luxury villas and resorts with exotic locations and settings is its service. Of the resorts I have stayed at, including 3 other GHMs, this one is head and shoulders above the others, mainly due to this wonderful service. For example: there is an earthenware pot/vase by the outdoor shower with a large ladle, for pouring water over yourself - much like how we would bathe when we were kids. We returned each night after dinner to find that the water in this large pot was warmed up for us. I have never encountered such marvelous attention to detail. The turn-down service staff or our butler actually took the trouble to go that extra mile! Stunning!

Supri was our butler and he was excellent. He was gracious, kind, patient and helpful. He took great care of us and he helped tremendously with our itinerary,, table reservations, and comfort throughout our stay. What's more important, he got along famously with my kids, particularly my younger daughter. Our walk with him through the padi fields was one of the highlights of our stay.

Chef Dean, a fellow Singaporean, certainly made us proud to be Singaporean. He added a wonderful personal touch to all our meals at the resort. . He was also extremely generous in sharing tips on cooking, as well as where to eat. His dishes are out of this world - from the cashew nuts roasted with salt and chili, to the mini cakes at tea, to the suckling pig and basil sorbet. Truly world class. What I found amazing was that he also went beyond his duties to ensure that we had a memorable and enjoyable stay at the Chedi.

The other service staff we encountered were all excellent. The waiters and waitresses as well as the pool guys knew our names. At the restaurant, they quickly knew our preferences at breakfast each morning. Of note also is Puspa, one of the managers. She showed exceptional care and concern to ensure we were satisfied with all aspects of our stay.

Congratulation to Simon, GM of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. You and your team have made this resort stand out amongst all other luxury resorts I've had the pleasure of staying at. My family and I truly cherish our stay with you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Chedi Club Ubud. It was a great pleasure that I read through your detailed review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services.

I have passed your note on to Chef Dean, Supri your butler as well as Puspa our Rooms Manager. They were very happy to receive it.

We are very proud of our colleagues and your comments will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that we aim for.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to the pleasure of a return visit and to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at The Chedi as part of our 10 year wedding celebration trip. We absolutely loved The Chedi - and we wish we were still there (we are at another high end resort now and it just doesn't compare). Our butler, Surya, was outstanding - he was so nice, very knowledgeable, and he really made sure everything was flawless. Surya and the rest of the team are extremely focused on providing the highest level of service and it really shows. We met Simon, the GM, Dean, Executive Chef, and others who made us feel so welcome. Truly exceptional people. The grounds are incredible - stunning in their natural beauty with amazing trees, flowers, plants, and ponds. Not to mention the rice paddies. Throw in a world class art collection and WOW! Limit the resort to 20 villas and add a world class spa. Why are you still reading this? Book The Chedi now! All kidding aside, we loved every minute. Our villa had a private pool which we really liked when it got very hot. The Chedi offered a kecak dance followed by a special dinner. So glad we did that! Great setting to watch the fire dance and hear the monkey chanting. Dinner was excellent! Truly a special place and a great base to call home when exploring Ubud. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 14 - private pool villa - peaceful and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.