We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early
Ranked #2 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Zurich
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Chedi for 6 nights. We had a nice villa with a private pool and were very satisfied. The Chedi was the second hotel we have stayed in Bali. In the first hotel, we had a poolvilla with a great view and the Chedi has villas, which are open to the rice fields and other villas not. Unfortunately, there was no view from our villa which was a disadvantage. We had our own butler who takes care of everything. From welcoming you upon arrival to bringing you roomservice but also making up your villa. On one side, this is great, on the other side, it can create situations where your butler has to interrupt cleaining because e.g. another guest has ordered roomservice. That's why we sometimes had to wait after breakfast outside because he was not finished with making up the room. It's not a big problem at all, nevertheless, when you stay at the Chedi, you want to have full privacy. Very positive however is the value for money. It's not a cheap hotel of course, however, you have up to 6 pieces of complimentary laundry per person per day, you can enjoy complimentary afternoon tea and free alcoholic beverages from the minibar and free cocktails before dinner. The Chedi has one restaurant and after 6 nights, we have seen the menus. One night we also had BBQ - nice but sorry to say, the people did not know how to grill. The open air restaurant was full of smoke and so tasted the meat unfortunately.... No big deal, but I would not go for BBQ anymore.
Another very positive thing is the friendliness of the staff. VERY VERY VERY FRIENDLY AT ALL TIMES. They have known our names from the first day on, knew, that we like jasmin tea for breakfast, etc. Really very nice, from the waiter to the restaurant manager, great people!
Also very nice is the Yoga in the morning. just fantastic doing some complimentary Yoga and at the end, having a nice look to ricefields. We also enjoyed 2 SPA treatments. Both were very nice!
I can recommend the Chedi to people looking to stay at a nice, quite hotel and I suggest to stay at a poolvilla (and ask if you can have one with view to the ricefields).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Chedi Club Ubud. It was a great pleasure that I read through your review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services accorded to you by all the staff at The Chedi Club.

We apologize for the lapse you encountered in regards to the cleanup of your room. Whenever possible our butlers should complete it before our guests are back from their breakfast. I will definitely have a look into that matter and see how we can improve these services. I also have addressed your concern about the barbeque to our culinary team

Thank you once again for choosing the Chedi Club and for taking the time to share your experience and give us great feedback. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Chedi Club in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    649
    55
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
107
479
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just stayed at The Chedi Club in Ubud and I must say, it was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at! From the grounds to the service, everything was top-notch. I stayed in a regular villa and the room was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The outdoor bathroom took a little time getting used to, but it was always clean and well decorated. We enjoyed the complimentary service to town (10-15 min away) which was easy to arrange. Our butler was very sweet and answered all of our questions, as did every staff member. He even arranged for an impromptu shopping and art discovery tours. After half day tours, we often lounged by the pool and have a late lunch there (we did not take a pool villa), and found that there were lovely daybeds and the atmosphere was very peaceful. In general, there are few villas on the property so while we didn't have an absolute private pool, we found that there were usually only few people around the pool and that everyone was absolutely attended to when need be. And of course, the pool staff were very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was also very tasty with a diverse set of options, both balinese and western, the restaurant staff were happy to cater to any needs we had. They even didn't allow us to bring back coffee from our meal to our villa, and instead brought one to our villa by the time we walked back, insisting that their guests should do no work on their vacation and that they are happy to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Now that's incredible service. I also want to esp. thank Mr. Spillman, the general manager, who really made our stay special. He personally greets the staff in the morning (we were up at breakfast due to jetlag at 7a) and he would stop by during the day to see how our day went. He also answered any questions and ensured that our stay would be spectacular. He even granted a special request with no hesitation that really made our rounded out our trip. I have stayed at many wonderful hotels around the world, but this one really lands as one of the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed over easter and had 2 nights in the spa villa and 2 nights in the pool villa. The spa villa is very spacious, has a great day bed and a separate room to have your massage treatments in. We had the 2, 1 1/2hour treatments in the evening and it was a great way to finish the day. The day consisted of yoga at 8, breakfast, which was all fresh produce and outstanding, some relaxing by the pool, a trip into Ubud on the free shuttle ( cars run from 9-6pm) , back for complimentary afternoon tea at 4-6, complimentary cocktails between 6-7 and then some dinner- busy day !

The food was excellent and although the menu is not huge, you have to remember the hotel only accommodates 20 villas, the executive chef spoke to us on numerous occasions personally and said we could order anything we wanted and as long as long as we gave him notice. The cocktails were also excellent with home grown fruit and fresh picked spices added .

The pool villas were on the periphery of the property, very private and quiet and looked out onto the traditional "working" rice fields. The pool is about 8m long is set up for a very relaxing stay.

Overall food great, the staff could not be more genuinely helpful, lovely people. A place to relax, enjoy and get away from it all.

Room Tip: If you know you are going to go to the spa choose a spa villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great stay, very relaxing. Staff were all helpful and polite. I disagree with some reviews, prices were a little high but not as high as western pricing. Do agree it may need more depth to the menu, more Bali traditional meals. Breakfast was perfect, the pool is great and we were the only ones there at times. Gardens are 100% maintained and are perfect. Mitar our butler was a perfect addition to our stay and took us for a walk through the rice fields. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fantastic service, quality accommodation and wonderful food.

It has all been said before for the Chedi, and they were right!

I will be brief because you can read any number of glowing reviews.

We had a pool villa - private and beautiful.

Staff - friendly and professional.

Food - beautiful.

Thank you to our helper Jun, Simon the GM and all the staff that made our stay memorable.

Do - the rice walk with your butler and the Duck!

Photos tell the rest of the story.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quiet location in Ubud, a bit pricey but worth your money. Stayed in spa villa, spacious clean private. Service was great, staffs were always there to help. It's our first travel to Ubud, loved the rice paddy and all. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in a pool villa. The room was truly amazing, how many places can you say you prefer a hotel bed to your own (and I love my bed.) Our bath tub was outside, private with a roof but when the rain came down and we were relaxing back watching the steam rise...deary me!!
Our stay would not have been the same without our butler, he was truly amazing. He took care of us like we were royalty, from the small things like turning lights on at night and folding down our bed to arranging tours and meals. He recommended places for us and if he wasn't sure he would research what we had asked him.
The food was great the view out of this world! If you are looking for a place to stay look no further. Can't wait for our return visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.