We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY, BE REWARDED!
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Chedi Club for a week in January on our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the poolside villas and it was so worth the extra cost as we could laze by own own private pool everyday. The hotel grounds are extensive and relaxing and the restaurant with views over the rice paddys was just beautiful. Breakfasts are great and they cook what you like from the menu, loved the daily fresh fruit juices. We had a lovely butler, driver and I enjoyed the morning yoga sessions. They also organised a private day trip with the driver for us to see some other things in the area outside of Ubud. Attention to detail by the hotel and staff is out of this world and rooms are lovely and made up impeccably. We had a free mini bar and laundry every day as well. Had a couple of massages, they were quite expensive but much better than the cheaper places in Ubud with trained therapists and a beautiful treatment room overlooking the rice paddys. The hotel is best for a relaxing and romantic break for couples, wanting to get away from it all and spoilt themselves. Overall the Chedi Club is one of the best places we have stayed in the world and we have travelled extensively.

Room Tip: The poolside villas are so worth the extra price, do yourself a favour and book one! They have a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    65
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
125
545
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clearly this is a superb hotel in terms of the staff - with real attention to detail. As other reviewers have stated - the individual pool villas are wonderful and our butler could not be faulted. We felt very well looked after during our stay. But... and perhaps it was because we stayed too long - 10 days whereas most guests only seem to be there for 4 or 5....there was something lacking in the hotel, it had no mystery or magic in my view. My other issue was with the dining - expensive and repetitive (yet again, our fault for staying too long I expect) but we could also eat out at one of the best restaurants in Ubud (Bridges) for a fraction of the hotel cost and the food was far more varied, fresh and tasty. We are out repeatedly, particularly after picking up some sort of stomach bug after a week in the hotel. I can't blame the hotel, but we had not eaten anywhere else at that stage and could never face the food there again. General manager was charming and more could not have been done for us - but something is missing in the midst of all these charming elephants. I could not help but compare it to the Datai in Langkawi (once a sister hotel owned by the same company). Set in the middle of a rainforest the Datai has a haunting magic both during the day and at night - the Chedi Club had the same standards of service but was a flat experience. No soul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've stayed in hotels and resorts and hotels throughout the world, and this is one of the finest properties I've ever visited.
The location is spectacularly beautiful, surrounded by rice paddies. The sunset views from the restaurant drew us there every day for the (included) cocktail hour.
Unlike some "international" resort, you get a real sense of place, knowing always that you're in Bali, because of the setting, the many superb examples of Indonesian art, and the kind and always comfortable atmosphere.
Our butler, Dias, was unfailingly helpful and cooperative. The rice paddy tour he led us on was a highlight.
The restaurant was beautiful, and the food, both Indonesian and Western, unfailingly delicious.
On hearing that Dean, the chef, was from Singapore, I asked if he could make my favorite Singaporean noodle dish that wasn't on the menu, char kway teow. No problem, he just had to get the ingredients--end result delicious.
The pool was large, warm, perfect for laps. There were never more than 4 people, including the two of us, at poolside.
When I expressed interest in going on a more distant rice paddy walk in central Bali, the staff arranged for a driver who took us where we wanted at a reasonable cost.
When we went to go shopping in Ubud, we were given a pre-programmed cell phone to call for the driver when we were finished.
If you're going anywhere near Ubud, I highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view villa, which was lovely. If you want more privacy you might want a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property, we really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to learn of your enjoyable stay at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

Our team is truly delighted to read your comments on your stay at our property and I have passed on your comments to Dias, Dean and the team. We are happy to hear that you found our food to your liking.

We understand how vital it is to nurture an estate into a hotel that reflects the vibe and personality of its home Bali, rather than a mix of everything fashionable at the moment, especially here in Ubud. It is for this reason that we were glad and happy to read your response to our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I think everything has been said before about this place: the setting is perfect, the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds are stunning. Many thanks to our butler Dana who made our stay extra special.

The restaurant is very reasonably priced, just over £10 for a main. Also a great touch with the free afternoon tea and free cocktails between 6-7pm.

My tips for people staying there would be:
1. Get the fast track visa service. Brilliant service, costs $45 dollars pp and includes the cost of the visa which is $25 pp anyway. Saves 1-2 hours of time as the queues were very long.
2. Do the 5.5 hour tour of ubud and surrounding areas. This is offered by the hotel and very reasonably priced at about £45 which was for the 2 of us. Our guide Wayan was fantastic.

Two very minor pieces of feedback for the hotel, the spa treatments are a little expensive and on a par with London prices which seems odd considering what you can get a massage for in ubud, albeit in not the same setting. Also maybe it's just me but I don't like the word butler, I wish they would call it something else.

Thanks again to everyone at the chedi for making our stay so great. Would be back tomorrow if work would let me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our poperty, we really apprecaite your feedback.

We were delighted to learn of your enjoyable stay at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah; it was a great pleasure that I read through your note and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the services you were accorded and for commenting so highly our colleagues. I have passed on your comments to Darma and Wayan.

Regarding the prices of the treatments in our spa compared to some spas in Ubud Center, I agree that our prices are definitely higher. This is due to the products which we are using. We only use high quality, high end, organic products, some of them have to be imported from Europe. Apart from these we use local organic massage oils and essential oils as well which are of equally high quality.

Thank you again for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

KInd regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a pool villa, which we really enjoyed BUT...(!) it wasn't until we looked at the villas where you get 1 1/2hrs of massage a day that we realised we would have preferred to have stayed in those villas! They were much larger offering a complete lounge/dining room where the pool villa had the dining for outdoors. The pool villa room was more like a large hotel room. On my next visit I would absolutely be booking the other rooms. Yes, we wanted privacy with the pool but the size of the other room outweighs the need for pool privacy for us! But apart from that I could not fault the Chedi with comfort, service and enjoyment. It was the perfect place for relaxing which was high on our list after an extremely busy year.

Room Tip: The rooms with the inclusive 1 1/2hr massages each day would be my pick next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hepburn Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This review will be brief as its all been said before. ChediClub, should be on everyone's bucket list.
It truly was perfect in every way. We adored every moment there and will remember it forever. Thank you Komang for caring for us, thank you Mr Spiller for going out of your way to meet us, a rarity in the hotel world.



The Chedi Club is one of the world's most magical destinations

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a lovely place the Chedi from check in to check out. Everything was great food,cocktails,service,staff the best will be back. Yes pricey but worth it all the reviews are spot on its number one on our list.

Room Tip: Any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.