We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful resort near Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY!
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“wonderful resort near Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've stayed in hotels and resorts and hotels throughout the world, and this is one of the finest properties I've ever visited.
The location is spectacularly beautiful, surrounded by rice paddies. The sunset views from the restaurant drew us there every day for the (included) cocktail hour.
Unlike some "international" resort, you get a real sense of place, knowing always that you're in Bali, because of the setting, the many superb examples of Indonesian art, and the kind and always comfortable atmosphere.
Our butler, Dias, was unfailingly helpful and cooperative. The rice paddy tour he led us on was a highlight.
The restaurant was beautiful, and the food, both Indonesian and Western, unfailingly delicious.
On hearing that Dean, the chef, was from Singapore, I asked if he could make my favorite Singaporean noodle dish that wasn't on the menu, char kway teow. No problem, he just had to get the ingredients--end result delicious.
The pool was large, warm, perfect for laps. There were never more than 4 people, including the two of us, at poolside.
When I expressed interest in going on a more distant rice paddy walk in central Bali, the staff arranged for a driver who took us where we wanted at a reasonable cost.
When we went to go shopping in Ubud, we were given a pre-programmed cell phone to call for the driver when we were finished.
If you're going anywhere near Ubud, I highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view villa, which was lovely. If you want more privacy you might want a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our property, we really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to learn of your enjoyable stay at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

Our team is truly delighted to read your comments on your stay at our property and I have passed on your comments to Dias, Dean and the team. We are happy to hear that you found our food to your liking.

We understand how vital it is to nurture an estate into a hotel that reflects the vibe and personality of its home Bali, rather than a mix of everything fashionable at the moment, especially here in Ubud. It is for this reason that we were glad and happy to read your response to our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    65
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
125
544
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I think everything has been said before about this place: the setting is perfect, the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds are stunning. Many thanks to our butler Dana who made our stay extra special.

The restaurant is very reasonably priced, just over £10 for a main. Also a great touch with the free afternoon tea and free cocktails between 6-7pm.

My tips for people staying there would be:
1. Get the fast track visa service. Brilliant service, costs $45 dollars pp and includes the cost of the visa which is $25 pp anyway. Saves 1-2 hours of time as the queues were very long.
2. Do the 5.5 hour tour of ubud and surrounding areas. This is offered by the hotel and very reasonably priced at about £45 which was for the 2 of us. Our guide Wayan was fantastic.

Two very minor pieces of feedback for the hotel, the spa treatments are a little expensive and on a par with London prices which seems odd considering what you can get a massage for in ubud, albeit in not the same setting. Also maybe it's just me but I don't like the word butler, I wish they would call it something else.

Thanks again to everyone at the chedi for making our stay so great. Would be back tomorrow if work would let me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our poperty, we really apprecaite your feedback.

We were delighted to learn of your enjoyable stay at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah; it was a great pleasure that I read through your note and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the services you were accorded and for commenting so highly our colleagues. I have passed on your comments to Darma and Wayan.

Regarding the prices of the treatments in our spa compared to some spas in Ubud Center, I agree that our prices are definitely higher. This is due to the products which we are using. We only use high quality, high end, organic products, some of them have to be imported from Europe. Apart from these we use local organic massage oils and essential oils as well which are of equally high quality.

Thank you again for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

KInd regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a pool villa, which we really enjoyed BUT...(!) it wasn't until we looked at the villas where you get 1 1/2hrs of massage a day that we realised we would have preferred to have stayed in those villas! They were much larger offering a complete lounge/dining room where the pool villa had the dining for outdoors. The pool villa room was more like a large hotel room. On my next visit I would absolutely be booking the other rooms. Yes, we wanted privacy with the pool but the size of the other room outweighs the need for pool privacy for us! But apart from that I could not fault the Chedi with comfort, service and enjoyment. It was the perfect place for relaxing which was high on our list after an extremely busy year.

Room Tip: The rooms with the inclusive 1 1/2hr massages each day would be my pick next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hepburn Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This review will be brief as its all been said before. ChediClub, should be on everyone's bucket list.
It truly was perfect in every way. We adored every moment there and will remember it forever. Thank you Komang for caring for us, thank you Mr Spiller for going out of your way to meet us, a rarity in the hotel world.



The Chedi Club is one of the world's most magical destinations

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a lovely place the Chedi from check in to check out. Everything was great food,cocktails,service,staff the best will be back. Yes pricey but worth it all the reviews are spot on its number one on our list.

Room Tip: Any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Chedi and wished it had been longer. We felt very welcome and the staff were always on hand to help when required, although not in an obtrusive manner. We loved our private pool villa with our large outside space which was great for relaxing with a book, afternoon tea for two, or a swim.

Our butler Kedak kept our villa spotless and took us on a lovely walk through the rice paddies and local village. We also enjoyed the complimentary laundry service.

We had breakfasts and evening meals in the restaurant which overlooked the rice paddies. This was open on all sides and had a cooling breeze. The food was excellent and we especially enjoyed the homemade preserves and muffins for breakfast. Can also thoroughly recommend the BBQ night which takes place on Sundays.

Unfortunately we didn't get to see much of Bali as we enjoyed our time at the Chedi so much! However when we did venture to Ubud we used the complimentary hotel car and were provided with a mobile phone so we could call for pick up.

We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I concluded our trip to Bali at the Chedi and we both felt the property was in a class by itself compared to the rest of our stays (all luxury hotels in their own right). If you're looking for a total 5-star pampering experience with your every desire met in an instant, stay here. Having been around most of the island before we arrived at the Chedi, we were ready to just kick back and relax for a couple of days and this was the perfect place. You could spend your entire trip to Bali here and be tempted to not venture out. The breakfasts were amazing and HUGE and the delicious treats for afternoon tea were unexpectedly great. With free flowing cocktails in the restaurant at sunset, we couldn't believe all of this was included with our room! Not to mention the continuously stocked mini bar. I've not stayed at many luxury resorts but I was so impressed that the room seemed to be made up multiple times in the day. If I left a towel on the floor and left the room for an hour, a new one was waiting for me on the rack when I returned. Our butler, Pardi, was wonderful and incredibly generous. We had a 3am flight out of Bali and were due to check out of the hotel at noon the day before but he set up a room for us to shower and hang out in even after we had checked out until we were driven to the airport at 10pm at no extra charge. We had a lot of anxiety wondering what we would do with all of our bags after we checked out but our butler and the Chedi made it a seamless end to our trip. If I had one suggestion... I wish there had been more seats at the main pool. It seemed as if most everyone at the resort was staying in a garden suite or a spa villa and at times all of the lounge chairs were full. I also wish it could have stayed open at night! Next time I'd probably book a pool villa.

Room Tip: Pool villas seem to be the way to go as the main pool closes at 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property, we really appreciate your feedback. Pardi and our Chef Dean and his kitchen team were very happy to hear your comments.

I have taken note of your feedback regarding the lounge chairs, and please accept my apologies. I must assure you that this does not happen very often, but I will definitely look out for this in the future and also consider adding another umbrella and two chairs in order to avoid similar issues. Regarding the opening hours for the pool, it is available at any given time during day or night. It’s just that the F&B service stops after 6.00 pm, and since there's hardly anyone around in the late night and very early mornings, we consider it a safety issue; guests however can use the pool at their own responsibility.

Thank you again for your review; we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club soon!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.