We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early
Ranked #2 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“3 days in ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chedi is the perfect upcountry Bali experience. Like living on a huge private estate/botanical garden. Only 28 large villas on acres of open garden space surrounded by rice fields with flocks of wild ducks.
Impeckable relaxed service by the sweetest people you will ever meet.
The General Manager is on the scene and PRESENT to meet and greet and just be amazingly inviting.
No place better for the mountain experience. Thk you Chedi Club.

Room Tip: Nice to have a pool villa but not necessary. Huge gorgeous main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    54
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
461
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A simple gate greeted us after more than an hour of ride from the airport. We opted for the OVA thus skipped the hassle of queuing at the customs & immigration and Visa which on hind side we could have just gone through with but we wanted to start our holiday on a smooth note.
Our butler, greeted us and led us to the lobby for the check in process.
Well manicured lawns next to Chedi owned Padi fields lined the pathway. We could see the compound dotted with villas along a gentle slope as we strolled up the picturesque scene to the lobby. Everything is well taken care of and maintained.

Our room was the Pool Villa, one of the 20 villas in this hotel. It had a pavilion for in villa dining, a small dip pool, a laze couch, pantry and huge bath tub. The bed was great but the TV is small... but who needs a TV in this place where relaxing by the pool, snoozing on the couch, walking in the padi fields, reading a book from the pavilion library or enjoying the food is the order or the day?

The One and only restaurant is nested between Chedi owned padi fields and was a sight to behold. If one wants to view pre-harvested Padi fields, it would be wise to check with the hotel prior as we arrived to harvested padi fields which is not as stunning. What still lingers in my mouth is the Babi(pig) Guling or roasted Pig which is served only on Sunday nights.A trip to Bali would not be complete without this feast. Breakfast is sumptuous, afternoon tea delightful and cocktails intoxicating, all part of the price paid for the hotel room. Mini fridge had drinks that is refreshed everyday and also complementary .

It rained 4 days out of the 5 were were in Bali so if you want to have rain free vacation, choose your stay appropriately. Service is impeccable and one example was that when our butler discovered that our son had an allergy, that information is passed swiftly to the restaurant who verified with us without being asked by us when we stopped there for dinner. Whatever you need, just ask the butler...

What may not be so well known about Chedi Bali is its Eco friendliness. They use organic ingredients when they can and from what I understand select Eco friendly Partners or suppliers.They recycle when they can and the rice served are all from their own padi fields.


All these and more.... for a price

Room Tip: Pool & 2 room Villas has walls for complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The Chedi Club is a resort that words cannot describe, seeing is believing!! First thing the resort only has 20 beautiful and CLEAN villas. In a short period of time the entire marvelous staff will know you by name. Then the best part.. Your own private butler.. We are fortunate to have Jun help make our stay magical and he has been very successful!!!! He coordinated our elephant tour, cycling trip, beach day at the resorts sister hotel and a wonderful dinner at Bridges. Jun doesn't just reserve dinner. He called the restaurant and made sure the staff had the best table available for us with rosé pedals on the table knowing we are here for our honeymoon. This is just one of many wonderful touches. Also make sure you ask your butler for the rice trekking tour, really cool. Jun made our honeymoon a great success with his wonderful touch, dedication to our concerns and his thoughtfulness. He is a wonderful person and a great representative of the wonderful Balinese people!!! The Chedi Club can't be described, you must experience it in person!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

At first I was slightly skeptical of all the glowing reviews on tripadvisor of the Chedi Club. But, now I am a believer. Stayed here for 4 nights in November, and it is without a doubt the best serviced resort I have ever been to; and I have been to a few 5 star ones. If you are looking for understated luxury and service, then you chose the right resort. Our butler, Pardee was fabulous, making sure all our needs were met and also through in a few pleasant surprises during our stay. Loved the pool services, free high tea, and free evening cocktails. Everybody that worked there were pleasant with smiling faces.

We chose to have romantic rice paddy dinner and it was the best setting I have ever had the chance to eat in. The entire field was lit with candles and there were even some fireflies paying a visit during our wonderful dinner. Oh yeah, the food was fabulous too.

My only qualm was that the bathroom was outdoors, even though there were no mosquito problems. But this is only a very slight negative, far outweighed by the positives.

I don't think there are enough superlatives to describe this hotel. If you are thinking of staying here. Do it! You wont' regret it.

I stayed at the one bedroom suite and thought it was great. Didn't really need the private pool villa as their was a huge pool that was never too busy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place is absolutely stunning - the gardens are truly fantastic, with lily ponds and statuary, etc. But on other fronts, it has its ups and downs.

PROS: It's all about the gardens. We had the simplest type of villa, but it was comfortable (world's most comfortable bed) and this place prides itself above all on those small gestures - fresh fruit each day, snacks, an iPod loaded up with music (including classical and jazz) and a built-in stereo, a decanter of whiskey (all complementary). Plus, you get a "personal butler" - who, in our case, was a slightly bewildered looking guy whose chief purpose seemed to be folding towels up into little elephants and leaving them on our bed the last night (which was actually kind of charming.) They even hand you a little packet of rice from the hotel's paddies as you leave.

CONS: The gym, for a place that's all about "spa treatments" and "health and wellness" is pretty weak. There's a small rack of dumbbells, four cardio machines (one, a treadmill, didn't seem to work) and a cable all-in-one machine. That was about it. I've seen more ambitious gyms in the Holiday Inn in Paramus, NJ. The little touches were there, though - endless towels and flavored iced teas, etc. I felt a bit like Marie Antoinette, though, lifting weights while looking out on the "scenic" rice paddies where some local was killing himself, bent over, planting rice seedlings in the heat and sun. The bigger problem is the restaurant. This is a fancy-pants, expensive hotel - they never let you forget it. And the food at the restaurant is good, if you like things a bit fancy. But the prices, if you decide to eat anything beyond the free breakfast, are outrageous. Everything you order costs exactly THREE times what it would at a good restaurant in downtown Ubud. If you ask for water, you get asked "still or bubbly" and it costs US$5 per tiny bottle. That's annoying - and it's the price of a cab ride into town every time you get thirsty. All I wanted was tap water - or whatever. Not a tiny bottle imported from Italy. Above that, there's no vegetarian menu. There is exactly one vegetarian entree, and it's obviously an after-thought - eggplant parm, or a small pizza. That in a big menu with tons of meat dishes. The chef pays lip service to customizing dishes for you - but he doesn't really mean it. The waiter wrote down carefully that I was vegetarian and asked me about whether I ate eggs and all that - I do, I'm pretty easy-going. But then for the "afternoon tea" I was sent pork satay. Thanks, guys. All the stress on personal butlers and service and so forth raises expectations to dizzying heights - and then they let you down. Even the breakfast menu is about meat and seafood. I ended up eating eggs every day - that's about all there was to choose from....but it's pretty, and the help was friendly if a bit bumbling.

Part of me got fed up and wished I were in Ubud. The hotel gives you a free taxi in before 6 pm, and after that they encourage you to call them for a ride home. That would be a mistake because it would cost exactly THREE times what a local cab would cost - and there are cabs everywhere in Ubud.

On the other hand, lying around that beautiful pool, it was hard to complain. I found myself taking endless Instagram photos of all the flowers and statuary. But there was a pang of guilt when we rode out in a taxi to Ubud and saw - right outside the hotel gates - an Indonesian family bathing in the gutter by the road, happily shampooing each other - and I realized the two of us were the only people using the magnificent infinity pool within the gates. Indonesia is a poor country, and this hotel sort of rubs it into your face - especially with that restaurant and those absurd prices - that you're being spoiled in ways that are a little too much.

Room Tip: It's super-expensive. We got a good deal with American Express and took the minimal room and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I am glad you had an enjoyable time despite some issues you encountered during your stay with us.

I would like to apologize to you for not meeting your expectations regarding our vegetarian options. I will make sure to work together with our culinary team on this and provide a bigger variety of vegetarian dishes.

For the prices in our restaurant, we do consider them to be competitive compared with other luxury hotels in our location, but i will keep your comments in mind during future menu changes.

Regarding the gym, yes, at the moment we do not have the most modern equipment and I fully agree with what you have mentioned. It is in our plans for 2013 to replace all the equipment; we should be able to do that soon in the coming year.

The Chedi's club benefits include free transportation to Ubud during the day. The ride back to the hotel in the evening is offered as a convenience so as to not have to look or wait for taxis, and the cars, being more comfortable and driven by our own staff, are priced reasonably in line with what these services are valued at.

Thank you again for your feedback. It is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to The Chedi Club.


The Chedi Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed there one night in spa villa just amazing. my bulter yuni was amazing . the room is just amazing and saw the dance in the evening followed by dinner. it is ubud and must stay for anyone coming to bali. it is in rice fields and it is amazing to walk in the fields . they have all facilities and great collection of art. i rank it no1 in all my stays at leading hotels all over the world. yu must stay one night once in yur lifetime. spa my wife did was amazing.

Room Tip: try to take a room with spa and i liked the room no2 and no3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Bali has so many luxury hotels but we never regret about our choice to put all the 3 nights in Bali at Chedi. We stayed in a pool villa with amazing paddy fields view. Every morning we wake up in the sound of duck, and every evening frog. The whole property is beautifully decorated with trees, flowers, as well as antiques. Villa itself is extraordinary. Private pool is amazing and very relaxing, and you can choose to soak yourself in the pool all day long. The Tuesday dance performance is a remarkable experience. The hotel may not have the best food in Bali, but it definitely has the restaurant with best environment. The two musicians performing in restaurant play marvelous Bali music.
Our butler is quite young and a little bit shy. We might not get many travel information from him, but were impressed everyday by his creativeness of decorating our bed...He prepared a nice flora bath for us on our arrival, however I expected it everyday:)
In a word, Chedi gave us a memorable honeymoon in Bali. Although very short, but really amazing. Thanks to everybody working there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.