We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven was a hotel, you've arrived!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Be Rewarded!
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Oxford
1 review
“If heaven was a hotel, you've arrived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

From the moment you step foot onto the pathway at the entrance to Chedi Club, Ubud, you know you have arrived in a very special and magical place like no other on earth!!
Breath-taking surroundings which are a combination of amazing water features, traditional Balinese sculptures and all in a location that brings the best of Bali's flora and fauna together. I can guarantee that around every corner and at every glance you will find the most beautiful views.
We were met by Rasti, who was our personal butler during our stay. She provided service that can only be described as perfect. We booked at spa villa which housed our own twin treatment room where we were spoilt with the most amazing Balinese therapists. Our villa also contained a personal sauna, plunge pool and huge bathing tub and tropical shower, all in a secluded courtyard garden.

The restaurant was also of the highest standard, and in a stunningly beautiful location overlooking rice fields. We met Dean the head chef who took time to discuss our culinary requirements and made us feel very special. Every person that works at the Chedi club is attentive, professional, arm and friendly and makes time to make you feel very special...

If you are looking for a place that is uber-luxe, the ultimate in relaxation, service, cuisine, spa treatments and an amazing location, then you must visit the Chedi Club, UBud.

P.S Make sure you book well in advance as there is only 12 individual villa's - that's how exclusive it is......

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    64
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
118
511
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Booked the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not let down! Simply amazing hotel, staff and location. I have stayed in 4 Leading hotels of the world (slowly trying to work down the list!) and must say this was so far the best.
We were greeted by the manager and introduced to our personal butler. We were also upgraded to a spa villa at no cost and the villa was amazing.
Free minibar, breakfast, high tea and cocktails. Only thing to pay for was dinner at the hotel for 2 nights which wasn't cheap.
They have free shuttles running to Ubud and you can book these anytime. They are also very flexible on timing of the drop offs/pick ups...for example we were looking for a nice authentic Balinese painting and mentioned this to the driver. He suggested a few small galleries and then took us out of the tourist route to a small gallery run by a master painter. He then helped us negotiate a good price for the painting. In my book, this speaks volumes of the staff and general attitude of the hotel. Well done!
The room was amazing with its own spa massage room and sauna. Very comfortable and butler was at pains to create spectacular 'towel' sculptures every night on our bed.

All in all, an excellent hotel with wonderful friendly staff and spectacular views of the paddy fields. Well recommended! Deserves its standing as one of Leading Hotels of the World.

Room Tip: Try and get spa villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just left the amazing Chedi and it was one of the most memorable stays we have ever experienced.

We arrived and where meet at the airport by our driver who took us on the beautiful drive up in the mountains to our home away from home.  Upon arrival at the Chedi we where greeted in the open air reception with a refreshing drink and some afternoon tea whist our check in was processed by our butler Darma. 

After a little tour of the property we where shown to our room, a beautiful private villa over looking one of the many beautiful water ponds.  Our room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was an outdoor / indoor experience which was lovely.

Whilst at the Chedi I took part in a cooking course which was just me the Head Chef and his Sous Chef (2hours of private one on one instruction) I was taken on a culinary delight thru the wonders of Indonesian spices and fruits. Hesitant to taste some of the local fruits,  with the guidance of the Chef I am now a true lover of many of these.

We ate all but one meal in the restaurant as the food was amazing, beautifully prepared, presented and the tastes - world class.  The setting is picture postcard beautiful.

Our 3 year old son was welcomed everywhere and nothing was too much trouble.  Which was lovely especially as this hotel is essentially for couples.

The staff are an asset to the hotel and are lead by a kind and easy to access General Manager Simon who knew everyone by name and made you feel like you belonged rather than just being a guest.

The Chedi is an amazing experience and one that we can not wait to repeat.  

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Choose here as it has been rated at no#1 on TripAdvisor so we booked 1 night for our short trip to Ubud so we didn't expect much.

Once we stepped in the resort, we must said this is the heaven. The resort looked well crafted with Balinese style with stunning rice field landscape. The front manager and general manager came over for greeting, then our personal butler take us around the resort. The room was very spacious, outdoor bathroom was amazing.

The club benefit was inclusive so almost everything is free (from Illy coffee capsule, mini bar, cocktail, afternoon tea,.......) My butler had also well prepared the bath with beautiful flower and arranged all the laundry. Breakfast was exceptional, try Mee Goreng (Balinese fried noodles)

I would suggest everyone to stay at least 2 nights to enjoy the resort, the has so many things to enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The most beautiful place i have been to yet! But i would recommend going the with your spouse rather than with family coz its a really romantic place

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just moved south to Seminyak after three nights at the Chedi. I won't repeat what has already been said here before but what an awesome place. Such a wonderful, peaceful, happy place. The staff could not be smilies and more helpful. Our butler Bawa was super attentive and the early morning trip with him to the paddy fields and local villages was a fab experience. Oh a bargain wood carving to be had too... About three pounds Sterling for a large cat! The trips to ubud for supper were good too. Carlie the driver was helpful and funny on our various transfers. We loved afternoon tea and drank out own body weights during sundowner cocktail hour (free). The spa room was worth the money... Not least for the excellent 90 minute treatments included each day.

We have nothing but praise and would highly recommend the Chedi to everyone. James & Daniel

Room Tip: The spa room is the way forward. No need for a pool room as the hotel pool is huge and always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Having never stayed in a 5 star resort before and after endless hours of research we decided the spa villa at the Chedi Club would give us what we were looking for; luxury, pampering and peace and quiet - we got all that and a lot more! It took us a day or two to get used to having a personal butler, however getting used to luxury is easy and we wanted to take Japa (our butler) home with us! We had originally booked for 6 nights in the Spa Villa, however our holiday was for 9 nights and it didn't take us long to decide to stay on for the extra three nights. We did swap from the Spa Villa to the one bedroom suite and although still lovely not as gorgeous as the Spa Villa. We chose the Spa Villa as it included Spa treatments (in room which was fabulous) for 90 minutes each day. We never thought we would say this but 6 Spa treatments was enough....

All the staff at the Chedi can't do enough for you - from the Pool man who rushes over with two towels, water, sunscreen and cold face towels to the restaurant staff who quickly worked out that I liked the Moijto cocktails during the complimentary cocktail hour... The breakfasts are huge and filled us up for the day...and they have a very healthy option (egg white omelette with vegetables etc) the yoga was wonderful with gorgeous views and a lovely teacher...We also loved the complimentary rides into Ubud and were given a mobile to ring the hotel when we wanted to be collected, nice. Your personal butler tidies your room twice a day (ie in the evenings the blinds are drawn, mood lighting on, ice bucket filled etc etc). Simon, the hotel manager, is lovely and comes over and has nice chats with you and you certainly feel valued and listened to.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel if you wanted to party but if you want tranquility, excellent service, gorgeous surroundings, sound sleep and total relaxation it's worth the splurge and we will certainly return...

Room Tip: Spa Villa has the most beautiful bathroom I've ever seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.