We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, this was the best place in Bali we stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Ubud

Save Saved
You added Uma by COMO, Ubud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uma by COMO, Ubud
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, this was the best place in Bali we stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great property, great staff overall a great experience for our honeymoon stay. We also did an excursion to the rice fields, coffee plantation, temples.

Cooking class with chef was also a great experience.

Yoga was amazing!

Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: Garden room has a great bath room whereas the villas have amazing private infinite pools! Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear nomore3X5's,

Congratulations! and it's a delight that you have chosen to celebrate your honeymoon with us at Uma by COMO, Ubud.

I am glad that you had a wonderful time in your very special occassion. I hope you will try to cook one of our COMO recipes at home and bring back your COMO culinary experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma by COMO, Ubud or any COMO properties around the world.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    83
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
392
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Uma by COMO in Ubud is an excellent 4 star property in the heart of Ubud, yet away from the bustling crowd. This 46 room & villa resort is perfect for those who want to stay near to Ubud and want luxury at an affordable price. In true COMO tradition, there are yoga mats in each room as well as yoga classes morning and night.

Room Tip: Room 29 or 17 with amazing views of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ibu Jenni L,

It is a pleasure having you staying with us recently and thank you for sharing your wondeful review.

I believe that you enjoyed your yoga classes with us so much. Yoga is indeed one of our highlights, our talented yoga teacher and our gourgous yoga pavilion overlooking the Wos River valey are the elements of yoga experience one will always remember. Hope you continue practicing your yoga and bringing one of COMO Tradition home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma by COMO Ubud or to any COMO properties around the world.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We first stayed at Uma for a family wedding 8 years ago and returned this year for a holiday and were pleasantly surprised that Uma is a lovely now as it was then. The hotel has an elegant charm that delights after a busy day of shopping or touring around Ubud. The staff show true Balinese hospitality and are beautifully welcoming and extremely helpful. Wonderful stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear LisaPeaTraveller,

Thank you for returning back to stay with us at Uma by COMO, Ubud. I am glad that your recent stay was as pleasant as your previous stay 8 years ago.

It is a delight to hear that you experienced our team as having the true Balinese hospitality, welcoming and extremely helpful. I will definately share your positive feedback with the entire team.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Uma for your third stay and also to other COMO properties around the world.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

DOG BITE !!!!!
I have started this review with the words ' Dog Bite' to get readers attention and to highlight the fantastic service we received from this fabulous hotel.
We stayed for 3 nights in September as part of a 2week+tour of Bali & Lombok
Every good point has already been written about this hotel within all the reviews I have read so I wanted to share with you how this small boutique 1st class hotel went beyond most hotel's level of service.
When we 1st arrived at the hotel we decided to book a private tour to visit various local points of interest. We started of early morning with a driver & guide (so sorry I can not remember either of their names ). Discussed where we wanted to visit and happily set of in the lovely comfortable air conditioned car.
We stopped to view the rice terraces & then went on to visit a coffee plantation. This is what happened next !!!
Walking into the plantation we unknowingly disturbed a dog & her new born pups ( she was not seen by any of us ) I felt a slight tickle on my calve, looked down to see the dog walking away and blood on my leg !!!!
Now this was where the hotel team completely took over. Our guide phoned the hotel and after various calls back & forth within an hour yes an hour I was in Mas hospital having a rabies vaccine.
Now obviously as a tourist in a foreign country this was quite a scary prospect but the hotel team just took control of the whole situation. They were able to explain in clear English what was happening and what the future treatment would be. They ensured that we had the follow up vaccines & contacted our next hotel The Oberoi on Lombok to ensure when we were picked up we had a cool bag to store the vaccine. They even ensured a doctor would visit The Oberoi to administer the next injection with no fee ( even though The Oberoi were going to charge $30)
As the hotel team had dealt with this in such a calm & professional manner my husband & I felt ok to continue with our day tour.
On returning back to the hotel the staff were all so caring ensuring that I was ok. They even provided a complimentary vehicle that evening as we decided we would like to eat out.
I truly believe that the hotel staff went over & beyond what you would normally expect & I believe this goes to show you what standard of service & treatment you can expect if staying at The Uma.
Reader please book here you will not be disappointed. Many other hotels could learn by the standards they have at the Uma.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear JulieSBournemouth,

What an enticing way to start a review with a DOG BITE!!!. However, we are more delighted to know that you are fine. Your story will become our Uma By COMO Ubud story that we will share with the entire team.

I am glad that your incident was handled with calm and professional manner by our team, most importantly you felt being taken cared of. Having a compliment from such a senior reviewer means everything to us.

Thank you so much for your beautiful review and for recommending Uma by COMO, Ubud to all readers.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the best small hotels I have stayed in and certainly the best breakfast I have ever had. Its a great option in the quaint town of Ubud. Fantastic large rooms, in all white. Relaxed atmosphere. beautiful hotel. Would like to go there again someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Ira D,

Thank you for staying with us, sharing your postive reviews and already considering to return stay at Uma.

We are humble that you consider Uma by COMO Ubud as one of the best hotels in Ubud. Your comments on our breakfast as your best ever breakfast, our room, the entire hotel atmosphere are indeed very encouraging.

We hope to have you staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hi!
We stayed at Uma Ubud for 5 nights end of September. We just loved everything...from the friendly staff, to the amazing breakfasts, the pool area, the room...
A special mention should be the Yoga classes, they take place on a terrace above a massive rainforest valley. There is no better place to have a Yoga class, you do the moves while listening to the nature and the river, the wind going through your hair. Simply amazing!
We also really liked the small details, i.e. fresh fruit in the room everyday, cleaning twice per day, the chocolate box from the manager to say thanks, the candles that were lit when we came back to the room in the evening...
Would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.
Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Babaise,

Hope you are back home in Dublin, Ireland feeling refreshed after spending 5 nights with us at Uma by COMO, Ubud. I am glad that you enjoyed every aspects of your stay with us, particularly our friendly Uma team.

The way you described our yoga classes will definetly inspire our future guests to have the opportunity to experince the same. We are very lucky to have such a stunning location over the Wos river bank with its huge rainforest valley view.

Thank you so much for your review and hope to have you staying at Uma again or at any other COMO properties around the world.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Professional establishment with service at core of their principles.
Arrival greeting was exceptional by duty manager. Delicious complimentary drink at bar.
Room - Good Size - Interior Design of Bedrooms is a little outdated and could be improved to bring it to current expectations - but that is a minor niggle as it is still acceptable. Rooms have very good orientation and facilities.
Room was serviced twice daily.
Service was attentive personal and exceptional.
Breakfasts were delicious - go for Como Shambala breakfasts - Healthy and gluten free.
Common areas were very good design and layout wise - great restaurant and bar with delicious food and drinks were exceptional - probably best drinks on whole trip to Bali.
Not sure if Como's new Italian restaurant facing main street is a good idea.
Poolside is very comfortable with water provided during the day. Could be improved by providing complimentary fruit on cocktail sticks and cooling towels.
The SPA is sensational - excellent service and detail. We had a Como Shambala Massage with Indian Head massage first and the next day a Balinesse massage. Great experience.
Overall too much service charge added to everything which made everything expensive but that is to be expected in a hotel.
Hotel helped in everything we required from shopping of toiletries to bike rental.
The gardens are immaculate and beautifully kept.
Stunning hotel which typifies understated luxury and makes it feel personal.

Room Tip: Rooms 28, 29, 31 and 30 are most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nealosx,

Thank you ever so much for your great reviews. It's a delight to know that you experienced Uma by COMO Ubud as having its service as the core principles. It's indeed our aim to always improve our service, hence your comments on our service is very encouraging.

Our breakfast with its healthy option is always an highlight for our guests and we glad that you feel the same too. Your suggestions on complimentary fruits on cocktail sticks will be considered as part of our pool service improvement.

COMO Shambhala wellness retreat is one of our brand pillars and knowing that you have excellent sensational service help us to confirm this value.

Once again, tahnk you so much for sharing your positive reviews and your suggestions for improvement.

Look foward to welcome you back to Uma or any other COMO properties around the globe.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma by COMO, Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Ubud

Address: Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma by COMO, Ubud 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Uma by COMO, Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
Uma By COMO, Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.