We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma Ubud - elegance and style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Uma by COMO, Ubud to your Saves list
Uma by COMO, Ubud
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Uma Ubud - elegance and style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived at the Uma to a warm and professional welcome. Marc, one of the managers gave us a personal welcome with a brief rundown of the amenities and activities available. Gede, also introduced himself and made himself available for the duration of our stay. A very nice personal touch. The resort is beautiful, set in lush land and on the side of a beautiful valley. Everything has a subtle understated elegance and style.

The reception leads to a beautiful very large infinity pool, plenty of space for lap racers and those who wish to just relax. The pool area is not crowded and the bar set back from the pool is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy a cocktail. The grounds are full of amazing flowers and trees, tropical views throughout, clear attention given on maintaining the gardens.

Our villa was discreet and overlooked the valley and river. Though being the furthest one from the main buildings means a lot of steps which for some might be a consideration. The Vila itself was huge and beautiful with a separate dining area, living space, four poster bed, sunken bath. The shower though set indoors is also set against the elements with no exterior wall - a nice touch. The villa had a lovely decked area, lawn and infinity plunge pool, looking down the valley. Simply beautiful.

On offer are a range of activities, the yoga pavilion is a beautiful space for free yoga. It ended up being a private n to one session, exceptional teacher. Th gym is small, well equipped and easily accessible. The Pre-breakfast walk round the village is lovely.

The hotel offers a range of excursions including freewheeling on bikes from the volcano, white water rafting and the usual temple trips. You can easily base yourself here.

The centre of town is a good 20 mins walk away with lots of galleries, spas and shops en route. The hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle service.

The food uniformity delicious, room service great. Breakfast being the only weaker point. It's a choose one from part a and one from part b affair, with bread and pastries being considered a "main". Bit silly, just offer all tables bread, pastries etc. In the event, it was provided as an extra by the professional courteous staff who all knew every guests name.

The resort has full wi-fi with a strong signal.

All in all, a beautiful hotel, fantastic accommodation, attentive staff and management set in outstanding surroundings.

Highly recommended.

Tayfun

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 31, which comes with a infinity plunge pool. Note that there are many levels of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear tfadil

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and heartfelt review of your time spent at Uma.

I know that many guests pondering a stay with us will book as a result of your generous and sincere review, so, the team and I thank you for this.

You comment positively on many of the features and services that can be expected at Uma. I am however sorry to read that you felt our breakfast experience could be improved. We receive many amazing comments about our Uma breakfast which is always cooked to order. And so, while I am surprised to receive your suggestion of improvement, I am also thankful for it and will look into the necessary changes.

Thank you once again for staying with us at Uma and for encouraging future travelers to do the same.


Warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    91
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
432
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There are so many special things about this place that it's hard to put into a review, so here are the highlights. We've travelled a lot over the past 10 years and at Uma we received the best service we have anywhere else we've stayed. Every single staff member genuinely interacts with you throughout your stay. They make you feel special and attend to every need. Every request we made like a last minute couple's massage or often dinner in the bar area was not only met, but exceeded, the old cliche of nothing is a problem was on show every time. We took a few activities and they were awesome. In particular the bike ride through the villages and coffee plantation tour was expectacular and educational. We also visited the sister property for brunch, which we highly recommend. They made it even more special when our hotel manager arranged for us shown around the Shambala property and gave us access to the natural pools on the mountain side for a swim before brunch. They also arranged for showers and lockers, they think of every detail. We wanted a late check out and we were given a "courtesy" room which was fantastic, it was one of the garden rooms fully equipped. The food at the hotel was amazing, especially the spa and indonesian food and martini hour at 5pm was sensational. Try some of the varities they have like wild pepper and chilli martini. We will be back sooner rather than later and would sincerely thank every single staff member for making this stay so special. Also note, Ubud and it's sorrounds are very beautiful to see and the people who live there are lovely.

Room Tip: Try one of the villas on the side of the mountain with your own plunge pool. Just note you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear NIFT

Ten years of travel and Uma is the best experience so far? Thank you!

The entire team and I are humbled by your generous comments.

I'm so happy to read your review which covers all aspects of what we offer here at Uma including our superlative spa treatments, tasty cuisine from our applauded COMO chefs, The Pool Bar's beverage list created by our mixologist from COMO's Met Bar in London, as well as our rooms and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back to Uma soon, but also look forward to welcoming future guests who book with us as a result of reading your wonderful review.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived at uma ubud on 14 June to kick start our honeymoon. We were exhausted following our 20 hour journey. However we managed to overcome any tiredness thanks to the warm welcome we received from the uma staff and news that we had been upgraded to a "pool villa king". The room was simply amazing with breathtaking views of the river valley, made even more spectacular by the private infinity pool.

It's the little touches at uma which make it such a brilliant place. Everyone is cheerful and helpful. From the restaurant staff to the tour guide, everyone made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel! There were plenty of options for breakfast which made it difficult to choose at times. However the staff offered us tastings (unprompted) of a few items from the menu to help with the decision making! We returned back from a trip to ubud one day and I found that whilst tidying the room the staff had kindly bookmarked my book which had previously been lying facedown on the table. Just another one of many examples of them going out of their way for us.

We also took advantage of dinner at the kemiri restaurant one evening, a couples massage at the spa, and cocktails at the bar all of which were simply brilliant. Uma was different from places we have previously stayed in that, every day it offered something better than the previous day. Where Other hotels have simply impressed us on day one, uma continued to wow us with something new and better than the previous day throughout our stay!

We did have a small hiccup with the transport from ubud one day but the staff (namely Sika) more than made up for it and in no way did it impact upon our stay. Most people would agree that mistakes do happen but it's how they are dealt with that leaves a lasting impact on customers. And Sika exceeded our expectations in apologising for it.

In short we could not have asked for a better place to start our honeymoon. We left for seminyak knowing that our next hotel had some big shoes to fill. Indeed we were correct, and since we arrived here we find ourselves continuously drawing comparisons with uma! We would definitely consider returning someday and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting ubud. The staff here will truly make you feel like VIPs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Rankin2013

We're all humbled by your generous review and thank you for you kind words and recommendation. But we mostly appreciate how much you enjoyed Uma during your stay and the service that our team provided to you with.

As a manager, I'm so happy to read how our Uma team made your stay so special. To learn that you were offered tastings of dishes when you were unsure what to order, to being offered adequate and appreciated service recovery, is wonderful. Thank you also for highlighting our Front Office Manager, Sika.

So, thank you once again for taking the time to write your gracious review and we all hope that we will one day get to welcome you back to Uma - perhaps for a special anniversary.

Congratulations once more!

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're looking for a great hotel in Ubud, then you should take Uma by COMO! What a great hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast and a nice pool. Every day there's a shuttle service to the city centre of Ubud (7 minutes by car).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Krimpvarkie

With over 100 reviews on TripAdvisor, your short and sharp and encouraging review of Uma is very much respected and appreciated.

The entire team and I thank you for tipping your hat to Uma.

Best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and we had an extremely enjoyable stay. The quality of the food and the cleanliness of the resort exceeded our expectations. We stayed in one of the lower villas with our own private pool, which was absolutely gorgeous! Massages at the spa were incredible, and we loved our private yoga session. The staff was EXTREMELY attentive, to the point that when we go sick (just head colds from our flights) they went above and beyond to accommodate us. One of the managers even found us poolside and asked if there was anything he could get us, after offering ginger tea and having another member of the staff grab us some medicine. Upon leaving he also recommended some restaurants for our later stay in Seminyak, as well as helped changed current reservations. Would definitely recommend to friends and would love to come back :)

Room Tip: We had the lowest villa so even though it required walking a lot of stairs to and from the main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Brynn D

It's such a pleasure to read your kind and generous review of Uma. We hope your time in Seminyak, and then your long journey home to NY was easy and complication free.

We appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience at Uma and for acknowledging that it was the service you received at Uma that made the difference. Thank you also for encouraging guests to try our yoga and massages - I agree, they're quite amazing.

We hope to welcome you back to another COMO property soon - maybe the Metropolitan Miami? Do stay in contact if I can be of any help.

With warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great hotel a little out of Ubud...A 25 minute walk or a really reasonable taxi ride away ( 30000 rp)....don't pay anymore

We had the Uma suite, it was incredible, so large, with fantastic views from its own private terrace
All of the staff we incredibly attentive and friendly, the pool area was an oasis of calm
Breakfast choice was extensive and delicious, we had numerous lunches which were equally so.
Can recommend the daily free morning walk, and don't miss the downhill mountain bike ride from the Volcano area....our guide for both was 'Made'.He was a delight, and imparted much local knowledge.
Would love to return one day

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear SuzTRev

It's a delight to see your review on your stay with us at Uma. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience. I hope your journey home was an easy one?

The thoughts of senior contributors such as yourself are always very appreciated, especially when you let us know that what you experienced at Uma was a memorable and enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again.

With best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Uma in Ubud is beautifully situated on the hillside overlooking the jungle about 25 minutes walk from the centre of Ubud. The chalet apartments are fantastic with great views into the valley from your private terrace. Bathrooms have lovely sunken baths and an outside/inside shower with great smelling products. They are spacious and well furnished rooms.

We enjoyed 6 nights there at the end of May. The staff are wonderful. All very genuine and so welcoming. The food was fantastic, some of the best dishes I have ever had due to the mixture of flavours. We also ate at Naughty Nuri's and the ribs lived up to their hype. Fabulous martinis in the poolside bar. We took one of the organised morning walks through the rice fields which was great and used a driver for the afternoon who was very helpful and informative. The free yoga class in the afternoon wa a first for me and really enjoyable.

Unfortunately it rained a lot whilst we were there even thugh it was the dry season. The sun did shine though and pool was great. It was a little noisy due to the local building works however not too disturbing.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to return to Uma or one of their other hotels. A great hotel made even better by the fabulous team who work there. Much better than the staff at The Oberoi in Lombok where we went next.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear jw_woody

Thank you for sharing your experience of Uma.

It was a bit serendipitous that we should run into each other in Lombok. So I thank you for taking the time to share much of what you told me in person with the TripAdvisor community. Your strong recommendation of Uma to future travelers to Bali is also very appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to another COMO Hotel and Resort very soon.

With warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma by COMO, Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Ubud

Address: Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma by COMO, Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Uma by COMO, Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
Uma By COMO, Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.