We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uma by COMO, Ubud to your Saves list
Uma by COMO, Ubud
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2
Ranked #6 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Hobart
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Haven in the hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed five nights at Uma Ubud in late May/early June. It had been highly recommended by a journalist colleague. Uma lived up to its reputation. Our villa had its own private garden and infinity pool with a view out to the forest, with squirrels, native birds keeping an eye on us. It was absolutely tranquil and the resistance not to move was almost irrepressible. The 87 steps up and down to our villa kept us aware of the need not to forget sunglasses, etc. Our meals were among the best we had on Bali, perhaps the best. The outstanding memory was going to a Balinese dance theatre performance in a temple close by at which we two were the only audience. It was quite moving. The in-house massage (head and feet) during a mid-afternoon rain storm was fantastic. The staff are the Key here. They are gracious, witty and informative.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Bruce M

I'm delighted to read that Uma lived up to every expectation. I'm sorry that I wasn't able to see you off personally; but speaking with Marc, our Guest Services Manager, I know that you enjoyed your time at Uma.

Villa #31 is our furthest and most secluded villa. But I hope you agree that the private and expansive views down into the jungle make up for the small hike. Thank you also for recommending our cuisine. We're proud of what our chefs create and hope that more of our future guests come to enjoy it as a result of your recommendation.

I hope that your trip home to Hobart was an easy one and that your time spent in the warmth of Bali isn't yet a too distant memory. And as the distance isn't too far, we hope to welcome you back to Uma again in the not-too-distant future.

With kindest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    101
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
469
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was a serene pleasure to have experienced the joy of Uma. We were humbled by the graciousness and kindness of all the staff we met. I can assure anyone considering a stay at Uma would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear lutvet

We too are humbled by your genuine and sincere review of Uma and the Uma team. We hope that many more guests will come to experience what you did as a result of your encouragement.

Do contact me personally if you ever wish to return. It would be our pleasure.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My 3rd stay at Uma Ubud was as the other 2 stays excellent this month (May). The staff excel in their endeavour to please their guests. It's nice to feel like a guest at a resort that is not too big but not too small either. Sitting by the pool you would not even know some renovations are happening around the edge of the resort. Oh a new COCKTAIL menu is FANTASTIC & the bar staff love making them for you.
Have a massage here too, I believe best massage I've had in Bali and I've had lots everywhere over 20 yrs of coming to Bali. Also if you don't stay at their health retreat Como SHAMBALA Estate, try & get there for lunch or dinner, of course the hotel will organise for you.
We had Marc Lacoste (guest relations mgr) organise that for us, he was even helping French couple with itinerary, speaking fluent French (impressive).
If you don't enjoy your stay here, well just don't travel really, it's a truly relaxing & peaceful haven in the mountains of Ubud.
OH, IF YA DO YOGA, THEY HAVE A HUGE OPEN AIR COVERED AREA FOR THAT TOO.

Room Tip: I don't know which is better in rooms, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Bretty45

Thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor. As a frequent guest of Uma, we value your opinions and loyalty, and also thank you for giving future guests a realistic representation of what they can expect when booking a stay with us.

Thank you also for encouraging our future guests to indulge in our spa treatments and to enjoy our new drinks menu at our Pool Bar. We strive for Uma's Pool Bar to have the best drinks in Ubud for quality and price. So thank you for tipping your hat to it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma, by COMO, Ubud again very soon.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and resort in Ubud. The property and views are breathtaking, the food is excellent and the service is outstanding.

If you can afford to, stay in a pool villa or Como Villa. The extra money is worth it.

The little things - turndown, reception service, welcome drink - make this place unforgettable.

The food is fresh and delicious. Whether or not you have your own pool, the main pool is beautiful too.

I had a fantastic stay and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear CLSyd

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly. I'm sorry that my days away from the hotel prevented us from meeting. But from speaking with my colleague and our Guest Services Manager, Marc Lacoste, it was nice to hear news of you enjoying and appreciating all the different aspects of Uma.

Thank you for repeating that sentiment here on TripAdvisor for all our future guests to see and consider. I hope that you returned home with ease and that you had a good moment of recovery in Bali. We genuinely look forward to welcoming you back to Uma.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked here for our honeymoon and were very specific in our request for a lovely room in a peaceful location. We were assured that was exactly what we would get - so you can imagine our surprise and horror when we arrived to be greeted by a construction site at the entrance where they are building a new restaurant and a construction site at the back of the resort where they are building more accommodation. We couldn't even site by the pool and have a drink because the noise was so invasive.
The GM is a lovely man as are all the staff. The guest services manager on the other hand, seems to like writing emails and blogs promising all sorts but not delivering anything, ( even his appearance) They could all do with lessons in some upfront honesty about conditions at the resort. But as we got less than what we expected and more of what we didn't want ( the noise) we were moved to the sister site at The Shambhala Estate. So they only ruined half of our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Check directly with the Uma for information regarding the construction sites before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Gillian13100

I am saddened to read your review and to learn that despite all of our efforts, your stay didn’t meet your expectations.

Your review is our very first piece of feed-back, after many months, to display disappointment regarding our improvement projects. Therefore, I’m apologetic that previous and continuing guests’ experiences and enjoyment of Uma prevented us from considering advising you of our improvements.

For our future guests considering a stay with us, kindly note that our improvement projects are now in final finishing phase and disruption is minimal.

Unfortunately, Marc, our Guest Services Manager, was away on leave during your visit as (per many previous reviews) you no doubt would have met him at breakfast and around the property doing his best to ensure all of our guests’ enjoyment.

Ensuring our guests enjoy their valued time away is our utmost priority. In this light, I know from our correspondence that you enjoyed our upgrading you to COMO ShambhaIa Estate.

As per my direct correspondence with you, we look forward to welcoming you back to Uma again, so that you might experience the Uma that so many of our guests continue to enjoy.

With best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is amazing. The staff and service are top notch. I was seeking virgin coconut oil and was told the market where I would buy it was closed. 15 minutes later, Ayu greeted me at the pool with a fresh pressed bottle of coconut oil from her friends in the village. AMAZING.

The staff also knew my name as I was coming out of my taxi. Rooms are impeccable, and the resort is located right in Ubud. Can't recommend this place enough. The pool and jungle setting are perfect.

Thank you UMA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear yoga_chikitsa

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing such an encouraging review. I've little doubt that many people will come to Uma to experience a stay with us as a result of your comments.

I'm delighted that our team, and the service you received at Uma by COMO, made you feel as if your every need and want was catered for. Thank you also for applauding Ayu in such a public fashion. We've many more wonderful staff just like her at Uma.

I've little more to say than that I hope we all get to welcome you back to Uma again very soon.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Uma is the best hotel we have ever stayed in having travelled a lot! It truly is paradise!
The whole hotel- rooms, pool, setting is stunning.
The staff were great and it felt very personal, they go above and beyond what you would hope for.
We really enjoyed the breakfasts, morning walk, yoga in the incredible studio with view overlooking the valley. Fantastic cocktails at the bar and an amazing massage in the Spa.
We really wished we had spent the whole week in Ubud instead of splitting our trip to go down to Nusa Dua(for a completely impersonal huge hotel).
We would definitely return to this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Laura M

Please trust that your generous and very personal review of Uma by COMO is much appreciated. I'm so happy to learn that your stay with us was your best holiday experience so far.

We always enjoy hosting appreciative guests. I'm saddened that your stay down south ended your Bali holiday in a not so personal way. But there's always next time, and we look forward to hosting you again at Uma if ever you choose to make the long journey back to Bali from London.

With thanks

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma by COMO, Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Ubud

Address: Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma by COMO, Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Uma by COMO, Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
Uma By COMO, Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.