We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma by COMO, Ubud

Save Saved
You added Uma by COMO, Ubud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
Uma by COMO, Ubud
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 117 hotels in Ubud
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We keep returning to Uma, tucked away in Ubud. Having stayed at some of the top hotels around the world, we think Uma is one of the best. The hotel grounds are a lush tropical paradise of immaculate gardens. The staff are wonderful and actually care - after our second visit we felt like we were seeing old friends. The rooms are beautifully designed and the food is some of Ubud's best. The spa is fantastic (and better than the more expensive others we tried in Bali) and the yoga rooms are incredible. All in all, it was wonderful. A must.

Room Tip: Love the garden rooms. The suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mandy S

Thank you for sharing the secret of Uma with Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind recommendation and for encouraging future guests to stay with us. Particular thanks for recommending our COMO Shambhala Retreat at Uma. Our therapists train very hard to deliver our superior product (at a competitive price) so I'm glad to read that you you enjoy the experience.

It's always a pleasure to welcome you back to your Bali 'home'. We look forward to doing it again, and again.

With warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
322
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

One of the best resorts I've ever been to. Truly amazing. Great staff, great food, great location, great service. The walks, the yoga, the gym, the pool, the bar... Everything was spot on.
Even though it was monsoon season, we had great weather and the Hotel provided plenty of other options is you don't want to be by the pool all day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear CNH_86

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Uma by COMO, Ubud. To know that all aspects of your holiday with us were 'spot-on' is wonderful to read.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to another COMO Hotels and Resorts property very soon.

Best

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We chose Uma since we have already experienced a Como hotel in Parrott Cay Turks & Caicos and figured that Uma would be similar in service and in overall experience. Uma Ubud exceed our expectations and then some. From the staff at guest relations helping coordinate our tours of Ubud and beyond, to the exceptional cuisine, an exquisite spa, awe inspiring accommodations and genuine personal service at every turn; we felt like we truly arrived in paradise. We stayed 5 nights in the Como Suite so we really enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, the decor and special door directly leading to the tranquil and serene spa. The yoga classes were held adjacent to the spa overlooking the beautiful river valley which was a destination in and of itself. The yoga class was challenging for all levels. The overall service at Uma Ubud was equal if not better to that of any Aman resort around the world. The genuine service of all the staff made our stay so memorable. We enjoyed traveling outside of the hotel for excursions/touring but we also looked forward to returning "home" to relax in our room and enjoy the services offered by the hotel so we could then freshen up for dinner. The hotel is perfectly situated in Ubud being close enough to town to walk (15 mins or so) to the bustling center but also within very close proximity to some excellent restaurants just steps from the front entrance. For $5US which is totally reasonable, they will also drive you into town which makes things very convenient. Marc Lacoste the guest services manager was genuinely interested in our needs and made several recommendations on some excursions and sites in the area that really enriched our time in Bali. I can't forget to mention that the daily breakfast at Uma including fantastic fruit juice combinations were exquisite! The staff was flexible at all times and were always bending over backwards to our every need. I would like to give a special thank you to all the staff at Uma from the bottom of our hearts, you gave us an experience that we will never forget. We stayed for 3 weeks in Bali and Indonesia and found ourselves comparing every hotel to Uma (our new standard for service). For now, we can only look forward to our next Como hotel visit. For now, we have this experience in our hearts forever. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Como Suite is absolutely fabulous. There is only one, so book early like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Deena B

We consider it a bit of a privilege to welcome guests such as yourselves to Uma; guests who open themselves up to experiencing new lands and cultures, together with a great big handful of appreciation and fun!

You're very well travelled. So we're particularly appreciative of your generous comments. To learn that an unforgettable experience was created for you at Uma is heart warming.

Thank you for writing such a warm recommendation for future guests to visit us and be sure to let me know when I can organise you a room at Cocoa Island, Maldives, or any other COMO property. It'll be a pleasure to welcome you back.

With warmest regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager

(PS: Enjoy your COMO bed too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just arrived home from quit and very comfortable place in Ubud. If you want to be close to the city centre - its a best place to be. Really loved design and hospitality in Uma. Perfect for couples and for family with children.

Room Tip: Garden terrace room is a great choice: jungle view, you can feel nature's breathing in very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Iolka

I hope your trip home to Russia was a relatively easy one.

Thank you for recommending Uma to the Tripadvisor readership and for sharing the aspects of Uma that you appreciated and enjoyed. We look forward to you returning to a COMO Hotels and Resorts property again soon.

With very best regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I did not stay in this hotel, but i visited it and made a tour + had drinks at the bar. it is such a beautiful, clean and calm place to stay at in ubud. the spa is just great, the restaurant has a lovely scene and the yoga classroom is in open air facing the jungle and a river..they have a shop with many nice things and the staff is super nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear lara l

It's nice to know that even without staying a full night, you were still able to experience what we do at Uma and that the experience prompted you to write about it on Tripadvisor.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for encouraging future travellers to Ubud to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

room was little bit small,but clean and comfortable.
Location is not so far from the center town.
Breakfast was very delicious for epicures.
every stuff were very kind.
We were very satisfied . I 'll come back UMA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear TOM165696

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your review succinctly suggests what our future guests can look forward to at Uma.

For the benefit of our future guests, the room type referred to is our Terrace Rooms. These rooms feature bi-fold doors that are designed to be completely opened-up, adding a large 7sqm outdoor terrace to the room and bringing Ubud's luscious Balinese jungle indoors. The bathroom of this room type is almost the size of the bedroom, so, even with the terrace doors closed, these are still some of the largest rooms in this room category in Ubud. Our Garden Rooms, with striking black terrazzo bathrooms, are larger rooms (at a similar price) for those preferring additional space.

We look forward to your return, TOM

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff made the 3 day trip. Both professional and friendly (Bali often has ample of the second but without the true expertise required to have 5 star quality). We went on the guided bike ride which was excellent and catered to our desire to do a slightly more difficult ride. We also did a tour which was again tailored to our specific desires.

Sadly we didnt have a chance to do the daily yoga or paddy walks but it is on the list next time. As is a Naughty Nuri's feast just near the hotel.

While large in footprint it was closer to a boutique hotel.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMO-GSM, Manager at Uma by COMO, Ubud, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jason S

Thank you for recognising our Uma team. Yes, the Balinese are a very happy and friendly people. But I'm particularly delighted to read that our team's service culture made the difference during your stay. We're proud of our team, the work they do, and the way they share their culture and land with our guests.

Our bespoke tours are another aspect of an Uma stay that we're particularly proud of. We understand that no two guests are the same and so we're happy to create specific itineraries, and modify our standards to create great experiences and memories for our guests.

Thank you for your review, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to try our Morning Walks and Afternoon Yoga.

With best regards

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uma by COMO, Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma by COMO, Ubud

Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
Uma Ubud
Uma By COMO, Ubud Bali
Address: Jalan Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma by COMO, Ubud 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Uma by COMO, Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma by COMO, Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.