We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and quirky; loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique and quirky; loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience! This privately owned hotel offers a very special experience that no 4 star chain could ever hope to emulate. Stunning gardens and extensive grounds encompass multiple pools and relaxation areas, a serene atmosphere supported by smiling staff happy to try and meet any request albeit on a timeline that follows no specific clock. The interpretation of the request can be also challenging and often amusing! The entire "resort" is peppered with a quite amazing and eclectic collection of art and the typical balinese layout encompassing a myriad little paths surrounding thatched rooms and double storey villas makes for a very traditional balinese experience. Rooms can be a little hit or miss, either gorgeous and spacious or nice but smaller; the villas are all just stunning. Fantastic huge balinese baths in every accommodation, comfy beds, cable TV, great breakfast in the restaurant and yummy room service. Amazing variety of frogs croaking from multiple small ponds dotted everywhere. A short 10 minutes from the busy street of central Ubud so perfect location. One improvement could definitely be better use and promotion of the cocktail bar which would round off the hotel nicely. Definitely not for the visitor wanting a homogenised hotel/resort brand but certainly a unique place to stay and I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    238
    70
    41
    25
See reviews for
142
310
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed on a deals.com voucher in low season, very few people there which suited us fine for a relaxing break with a pool
practically to ourselves. Our accommodation was lovely and the staff very attentive and friendly. It felt very much like the real Bali.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

the hotel is little far from the center but they have a shuttle for the center and back every 1,5 hours. it is very good for this price. very friendly and helpfull workers. spa of the Hotel is expensive

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from the magical Mansion hotel. The hotel itself is visually theatrical with an eclectic show of art and treasures. The grounds you can get lost in with five pools, beautiful gardens and pool villas to die for. We thoroughly unwound in three days of pampering and being looked after so well. The staff are so obliging and attentive and the most beautiful smiles greet you every day. We will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I purchased an Our Deal internet voucher for our accomodation in Ubud to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. Due to past experiences with internet purchases I didn't have too high expectations.Well, were we pleasantly surprised. After being greeted by the very friendly staff and a loud gong! We were asked to wait in the foyer by a very pleasant Mr Ardti who had witnessed my Mum's painful exit after sitting in a taxi from Kuta for an hour. Turned out our voucher was for a Deluxe room somewere at the back of the hotel but we were upgraded to the Rama & Krishna Suites located near the hotel entrance to avoid my Mum negotiating the stepped pathways. I thought that this was truly a fantastic gesture. The rooms turned out to be palatial and very spacious. The grounds were a tropical paradise with 6 different pools that the kids really enjoyed. The character of the grounds and quiet, hidden gazebos & the tree house kept the kids entertained. The free shuttle service into Ubud centre was an added bonus. Our daily complimentary massage vouchers that were part of the deal were the best massages I have ever experienced. We booked our complimentary dinner on Valentine's Day and also booked for the entertainment that was arranged for the night. Not only did the staff set up our tables next to the entertainment area but also served us right there as opposed to having dinner in the main restaurant. The kids also loved being involved in all the Valentine's celebrations - the Balinese dances as well as the mermaid in the pool. The breakfasts were outstanding with an incredible variety of Western as well as Asian food. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I definitely do not hesitate recommending the Mansion for all age groups, families & romantic getaways - what an amazing venue for wedding vows!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've stayed at The Mansion several times now and I'm always blown away with the beauty and character. Each room is unique and pretty amazing. The pools are beautiful, and it's one of the only places you can find Dim Sum in Ubud! I definitely recommend staying here. It's a wonderland inside a wonderland.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the Mansion in Ubud for two nights. The resort is much larger than we expected with multiple pools, spa, and lots of tropical area. Our room was great - although not the room we booked. They said it was an upgrade, which it probably was but we don't actually know. We also didn't spend much time at The Mansion due to the excursions we signed up for so can't comment on the breakfast. The location is fine if you plan to spend time at the resort, but you do need to take a shuttle (free from The Mansion) if you want to go into town. The service was amazing as we found it was across all of Bali. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: We had the Ambassador suite - it was in front by the lobby so there was some outside noise, particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#45 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#47 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.