We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time stands still at The Mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time stands still at The Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from the magical Mansion hotel. The hotel itself is visually theatrical with an eclectic show of art and treasures. The grounds you can get lost in with five pools, beautiful gardens and pool villas to die for. We thoroughly unwound in three days of pampering and being looked after so well. The staff are so obliging and attentive and the most beautiful smiles greet you every day. We will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    185
    53
    29
    16
See reviews for
94
236
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I purchased an Our Deal internet voucher for our accomodation in Ubud to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. Due to past experiences with internet purchases I didn't have too high expectations.Well, were we pleasantly surprised. After being greeted by the very friendly staff and a loud gong! We were asked to wait in the foyer by a very pleasant Mr Ardti who had witnessed my Mum's painful exit after sitting in a taxi from Kuta for an hour. Turned out our voucher was for a Deluxe room somewere at the back of the hotel but we were upgraded to the Rama & Krishna Suites located near the hotel entrance to avoid my Mum negotiating the stepped pathways. I thought that this was truly a fantastic gesture. The rooms turned out to be palatial and very spacious. The grounds were a tropical paradise with 6 different pools that the kids really enjoyed. The character of the grounds and quiet, hidden gazebos & the tree house kept the kids entertained. The free shuttle service into Ubud centre was an added bonus. Our daily complimentary massage vouchers that were part of the deal were the best massages I have ever experienced. We booked our complimentary dinner on Valentine's Day and also booked for the entertainment that was arranged for the night. Not only did the staff set up our tables next to the entertainment area but also served us right there as opposed to having dinner in the main restaurant. The kids also loved being involved in all the Valentine's celebrations - the Balinese dances as well as the mermaid in the pool. The breakfasts were outstanding with an incredible variety of Western as well as Asian food. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I definitely do not hesitate recommending the Mansion for all age groups, families & romantic getaways - what an amazing venue for wedding vows!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've stayed at The Mansion several times now and I'm always blown away with the beauty and character. Each room is unique and pretty amazing. The pools are beautiful, and it's one of the only places you can find Dim Sum in Ubud! I definitely recommend staying here. It's a wonderland inside a wonderland.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the Mansion in Ubud for two nights. The resort is much larger than we expected with multiple pools, spa, and lots of tropical area. Our room was great - although not the room we booked. They said it was an upgrade, which it probably was but we don't actually know. We also didn't spend much time at The Mansion due to the excursions we signed up for so can't comment on the breakfast. The location is fine if you plan to spend time at the resort, but you do need to take a shuttle (free from The Mansion) if you want to go into town. The service was amazing as we found it was across all of Bali. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: We had the Ambassador suite - it was in front by the lobby so there was some outside noise, particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Last year we stayed at the Beiji just outside of Ubud. This time we decided, again, through Trip Advisor research, to stay at the Mansion. You become philosophical about reviews and realise that when planning a holiday (as in life sometimes), it's best to sometimes have low expectations. Everything about the Mansion exceeded our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised from the service and food to the accommodation and gardens. We tend to travel in the off-peak season which can be a bit 'hit and miss' weather-wise but, we've been lucky on our past two visits. From the moment you enter this grand old dame (built in 1999 but resembling a Gatsby-esque style edifice) there's a feeling of immediate tranquility - it's quiet as staff shuffle around about their daily business armed with smiles and a helping hand, when needed. The four of us (two daughters) had the Frangipani Family room - a fantastic, clean, modern two bedroom apartment with a very large living room area adjacent and an equally large pool directly in front. The building houses three apartments and lucky for us, no-one else was staying and we pretty well had the pool to ourselves. In fact, there are four large pools dotted around the expansive gardens, most of them empty. Breakfast was the usual western or Indonesian fare and, filling. As for Balinese coffee - I was getting used to it. A regular shuttle takes you into Ubud, only 15 minutes away. A great place and inexpensive. Just make sure you wheel and deal.

Room Tip: Take the Frangipani room directly in front of the main building and facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Recommended to us by great friends - and they were right! As Americans, the mansion (& all of Bali) was an excellent vacation and extremely reasonably priced. The wifi was unusable in our room, but good all other places on the grounds. The staff was polite, prompt, and lots of fun to get to know. We would definitely come back and stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Mansion in August 2013 for four nights. We really loved this place: it's really an impressive and natural place. Inside the hotel there are plenty of flowers, gardens and fountains. It looks being in hidden and magic world! We stayed in two different rooms (the first one was in a noisy corner and we asked for a change) and we found that they are nice although not so wonderful as the outside facilities. We also tried the spa and although it was quite expensive compared to the local spas (50 dollars for a full massage) it was the best massage we had in Bali!
The staff is really an added value, they are really nice and they did their best in order to meet all our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.