We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Homestay not hotel feel"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Perth, Australia
1 review
“"Homestay not hotel feel"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and although the staff were all very nice, we found that the Mansion Hotel is way OVER PRICED, and was not like they had projected on there web site. The staff had problems understanding English, and it was just easier for us not to get what we wanted as it was just "too hard" to keep trying to explain.
On our first night it started to rain and just outside our room they started to paint the footpath, I asked them why they were doing this, and again the English barrier was an issue, so we just went to bed. In the morning it was flooded and all the paint was floating and the pathway was very slippery and dangerous. We were stuck in our room! Also water was coming up from under the ground which smelt terrible. We had to walk through all this and had paint on our feet and the soles of our thongs. We then asked to be changed to a different room, and they showed us several rooms, all different quality and none the same, but not really very nice, they are all run down and decor is very tied and old looking. Although I understand that they want to keep it a tradition looking Hotel, it is VERY over priced, and not appealing. We ended up staying in our room which was the "Cempaka" room, as all of the others that they showed us were just terrible. They had to clean up all of the wet paint and the water problem, which took 1 1/2 days.
We did enjoy the pool areas and it was nice to walk around and take photo's of the garden's ect and did have a relaxing feel to it.
The "Spa" was very expensive and was very average compared to other Spa's around Bali and what they offer you, The Mansion Spa needs to have a review on quality of products, or should I say "lack of products" that they offer. But the girls are very nice, but it just doesnt cut it when you get your bill.
The restaurant was good and we enjoyed our meals, but hard to explain to staff what we wanted from the menu. Again quite expensive.
There is no WIFI in your room and if you want to use the internet you have to sit in the lobby, using your own smart phone ect.
We had 2 x spa's (jaccuzzi's) just outside of our room, which to our surprise they charge $25US for one hour, the rooms are so over priced that I thought it would include sitting in a spa.
We probably wouldn't come back to this hotel unfortunately, there are better hotels in Ubud than this for a better price too.

Room Tip: Ground floor bungalow style, no rooms have numbers, they are named all different Indonesian names.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elie G, General Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Donners,

Warm greetings from The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your afternoons spent swimming in our pools, walking & photographing around The Mansion grounds, as well as your repeated dining at our Indochine Restaurant and your repeated treatments at our Heaven & Earth Rejuvenation Spa.

During the four days of your stay The Mansion Team & Management all greatly enjoyed hosting and serving you, sharing so many interesting conversations with you. Our whole team always commit to its very best to provide our valued guests with quality service and relaxing experience. We were therefore really shocked and surprised to read through your review:

• On regular basis, our cleaning team treats the footpath with anti-slippery coating, which would dry fast, however we apologize that the few meters treated got washed due to the heavy extreme rain, caused some inconvenience in front of your room.
• All our Staffs related to guests’ services speak English fluently; as for some Gardeners, Cleaners & Busboys would speak some English.
• We trust you have enjoyed the repeated massages at our Spa, where treatment prices’ are comparable to the mainstream Luxury Resort in Bali. Our Heaven & Earth Rejuvenation Spa offers certified therapists and uses the highest quality products, our own line of Spa products is based on natural herbs, Almond and Jojoba oil, refine the most natural & healthy treats to even sensitive skin.
• As for Food & Beverage, prices are also comparable to the mainstream Luxury Resort in Bali. Indochine Restaurant, Café La Terrace and Cherry Blossom Dim Sum have extended menus & specialties with imported & organic ingredients.
• WIFI is available in all rooms; however wind & rain could affect signal strength.
• The Mansion Bali has 165 Bedrooms. Whether it is at The Royal Penthouse, a Luxury Suite, a Private Pool Villa, a Residence or a Deluxe, most of the rooms has different ambiance; Classic, Balinese, Modern; to create authentic atmospheres for our guests to experience.
• The Mansion Bali, a well-established five star Luxury Resort with 4 hectares of stunning gardens, 6 swimming pool and not less than 14 Galleries and Museum featuring the most important milestones of South Asia art history, Ballrooms, Convention & Wedding Venues, that cannot be compared as a home-stay as you have stated.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. We would be happy to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Elie Gaborit, Mr.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    229
    66
    37
    21
See reviews for
132
292
32
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were there for Xmas holidays with our daughter and son in law. The management could not have been more courteous, helpful, and delightful! We loved the Wow! Festival, organized by Hai Tai, for New Year's Eve. A gala of fireworks, dancing, video and dj's plus a lot of community building and funds going for sustainability. A perfect blend of entertainment with a mission! The staff was outstanding, and everything was warm, heartfelt, and very international. We enjoyed the wide diversity of people who stayed at the Mansion. It was great to meet people from,literally, all over the world! I cannot imagine a better hotel.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were quiet, and the bathrooms had huge tubs. Ask for a room that has a sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights after our initial booking at Zen Resort was cancelled due to overbooking. I choose The Mansion based on the good reviews here and the seductive images from their website.

Our stay was full of problems, which I can contribute to 2 general categories. First of all, although the staffs at the Mansion are all friendly, they are extremely incompetent and are completely unable to run and manage this property. Secondly, although the property is beautiful, it’s a very large property that’s in the process of still expanding, with very odd and confusing layout and very inconsistent room qualities.

Here are the details of our stay for anyone who’s interested.

After a long check-in in the evening we were led to our room, the staff showed us the main restaurant, we walked through first large courtyard, then through the spa, through the “spa village”, to the second courtyard, and passing several more pools, to the back pond, then through a door/gate, then into another smaller courtyard with some kind of round performance building in the middle, to our room. Basically we realized that this is a huge property that we were put in the very back corner where you have to walk through a lot of awkward spaces. This is a new area with half the buildings still under construction. The room was much smaller than expected, there’s no separation between the room and the bathroom except for a very thin transparent veil. The staff walking us in left the door open and the lights on, so a ton of flies came in, no screen doors. The window and glass door of the room looks directly across at another room, occupied as well, so there was no privacy at all. The curtains had to be shut the whole time. Again because this area is still under construction, there are lots of random workers hanging out just outside the room during the day, very awkward. But the biggest problem with the room, the one that I really couldn’t deal with, was that the water that came out of the bathroom faucet smelled like rotten sewer. I let it run for a while hoping the smell would go away, but it just made the entire bathroom area smell miserable. The water fountain outside the room smelled horrible as well.

Ignoring the problems at first I called housekeeping for some insect incent and a universal adapter (power plug for our phones), they transfer me to another person who understood and said would bring to us. We make our way through the hotel grounds (and getting lost a few times) to have dinner and after returning noticed that they haven’t brought the adapter. So I call housekeeping again, I get transferred again, this time the person told me to call front desk instead. I call front desk and they also say no problem they’ll bring us 2 adapters. We wait for the rest of the night, nothing. I’ve never been at a hotel when twice in a row when someone agrees to deliver something and then without explanation just don’t do it!

Next morning, half way through breakfast, after I get myself a plate of food and my partner gets a cup of coffee, we return to find that our table had been turned. The busy boy cleaned off our table halfway through breakfast! I’m not upset over that but my bottle of sunscreen sitting on the table is also gone. So I wave down a staff and ask to retrieve it if it’s been thrown away. After some confusion and dialogues between the staff (which I don’t understand), the lady in charge informs me that there wasn’t a sunscreen bottle. She claims the bus boy did not find it and did not throw it away. This really irritated me since it was clearly whoever cleared the table, but here this lady claims I’m mistaken. Eventually she found the bottle had been put next to a bench near the table. So obviously the busy boy did find it. No apologies.

At this point I’m really ready to leave. I talked to the manager, a very polite man (French I’m guessing?), about the international adapter incident. He apologized but gave no explanation and handed us one right there. So they had them all along! I also requested a room change, being high season, they only had a 2 twin bed available in the spa village. Without seeing it, we agreed to change to it. The new room was a traditional Balinese styled room, at least 3 times bigger than the previous room, and with a lot more regular amenities missing from the first room, such as bench, safe, etc. It’s a lot closer to the main area of the hotel, and sitting in a nice court instead of weird fountain and big round wooden building. Even though the beds won’t that comfortable and we still had a ton of flies, but this is the kind of room we had been expecting based on their website. Amazingly enough these rooms has the same rates! So the first room was way over priced. I’m very surprised at such inconsistency in the property. We also noticed that it was trying to expand by adding lot of new courtyards & substandard rooms, craft shops, and other facilities. Making an otherwise a nice boutique hotel into a weird and contrived, self-claimed “5-star” property. For example, there’s a “media lounge”, I guess it’s suppose to be a club, in the front of the hotel. These additions just dilute the quality.

So our room situation was fixed but the staff incompetency remained. There’re just too many examples. I had to call for our luggage to get moved to the room after waiting for 2 hours. The rooms aren’t cleaned til around 5pm. At checkout we gave the adapter back and another couple who just checked in asked for one as well. Instead of just giving ours to them, they said “we’ll bring it to you later”, didn’t even ask for their room. Really, there was one right there! Food and drinks takes forever to get delivered in the pool area. I think the hotel compound might just be too big for the staff to run it properly.

Room Tip: rooms vary greatly at this place, best to request to see what's available then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel it's the calmest most relaxing place i have ever stayed. The hotel has loads of sitting areas all located around small pools. the breakfast was gorgeous overlooking a plunge pool and deep into the mountains.
The hotel is very quiet and a bit of a drive from Ubud centre but perfect if you want to relax.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very good hotel, inside jungle.

We like location, because it is something different. Hotel is beautiful. Indonesian style. Totally different than we are used to. Pool is nice, etc.

But service is very poor as in most places in Bali. For cappuccino you wait 10 minutes!?!?!

Too much useless staff. By breakfast, 10 people around all the time. Room cleaning 3 gays, etc... And even so maintenance of the hotel is not 5*. But everywhere in Bali is the same.

Anyhow I warmly recommend this hotel. Just keep in mind, to shut off light in the evening, because mosquitos are coming in the room.

Room Tip: Very good hotel, for reasonable price, but inside Jungle. Many mosquitos, frogs, ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had the opportunity to spend a week in Ubud at the Mansion and had an incredible time while there. If you have a chance, stay in Palmwood or Rockwood, both lovely (palmwood having its own mini pool). The grounds feel like a Bali version of Alice in Wonderland, lots of intimate passageways, very green and a room for all types. The owner, Ibu Claudine, is highly involved in the day to day and displays a genuine desire to ensure all who walk through their door enjoy their stay, both for the wonderful New Years party they threw in partnership with a local non-profit, WOW Bali, and their hotel guests. Come here ready to enjoy their multiple pools and take a much needed relaxer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beautiful location although a shuttle service is required to take you to the center. Must have been a splendid hotel in the past but to be honest, this resort has lost some of it's glory. Definitely not a five star hotel at the time. Very little activity going on early January. Nevertheless enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.