We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, Relaxing and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
SF Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Serene, Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After diving for a week at Candidasa, 6 of us divers went o Ubud and stayed here. We reserved three rooms, and to our surprise, my friend and I were given a suite with two bedrooms with a living room, and right outside our suite is a swimming pool. The room came with breakfast - we enjoyed the fresh riped papayas, mangoes, pineapple, and the omellete station as well as pan cakes cooked fresh. The restaurant had an infinity pool; 99% of the staff were very friendly (haha, one had an attitude - which was I think an anomaly for Balinese people who's usually very friendly and hospitable.) Perhaps she was tired of cooking omelette. Other than that, I enjoyed our stay here. We had a couple of massages and facials. There are 4 swimming pools in the resort, but we used our pool primarily. We stayed in the suite called Karna with a spacious bathroom and two bedrooms. Surprisingly right beside this villa is a temple. All around the resort are lounging beds great for meditation and reading and relaxation. Here's a video of the pool: https://vimeo.com/52272547

Room Tip: If sharing a room, pick Karna. If you have a child, the second bedroom would be great for the child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    238
    70
    41
    25
See reviews for
142
310
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went to The Mansion on a business trip and the hotel was lovely, full of over designed-rich and ornate furnishing at convenient grand foyer. The Beds are WONDERFUL, I wish have shipped it home! accommodation, food and service was all excellent, each morning the breakfast included many fresh fruits, juices, coffee and an abundance of parties, and also we had complimentary afternoon tea and cake which delicious served at our room.

Appreciate the exceptional comfort and peaceful of our room, getting a good night's rest makes you feel refreshed. The staffs were very attentive and hospitable with outstanding high quality service, this is wonderful costumer service !!
The garden is hug and need only a little focus to brings well-maintained, however it's not made our stay really disappointed. I would recommended this hotel to anyone visiting this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Mansion is simply a relaxing place to stay. Yes maybe the premises could do with a little more maintenance and yes maybe the staff are not hovering over you every few minutes as other reviewers have commented but these little quirks add to the character of the hotel and that is what this hotel and resort has in abundance is character. My partner and I did not want to have staff hovering over us we wanted somewhere quiet, relaxing and close to the major attractions of Ubud. Despite comments from other reviewers we actually found the staff very friendly and attentive (in an unobtrusive way). The food was excellent and breakfast was very good. The amenities at the hotel are good and the location means Ubud and other major attractions are close to hand. Staff were always willing to organise transportation, tours and other visits etc. If you like your impersonal, devoid of personality chain hotels then this is not the place for you. But if you want something with character and personality we strongly recomment it. We stayed for 6 nights and could have stayed twice as long.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the hotel and not the resort. Even better go for one of residences in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend booked this hotel for two nights after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and I have to say I so very disappointed when we actually arrived. The resort is very poorly maintained - the gardening is not up to scratch and it seems quite dirty and un-kept in most of the communal areas which is a huge shame considering the foundations that are there to work with. There were weeds all over the pavings, over grown grass under the sun loungers and a real feeling that the resort is growing old and requires some money be spent on it to bring it up to scratch.It appears that instead of investing money on quality redecorations the team at The Mansion have spent a lot of money on cheap looking fabrics and a vast array of different seating (I have never seen so many seating areas in one hotel). None of the furniture matched and looked cheap and old in many of the areas. There is no consistency to the furniture or decorating theme, it just appears a real mish-mash of designs and styles which looks cheap.

On the other hand, we stayed in a deluxe room, which was perfect - a real contrast to what was going on outside of it!

The breakfast was ok, a not surprising mix of foods and the restaurant we ate at one evening was really good.

As I say, I was really disappointed with this resort and left feeling very annoyed that we had spent the last 2 nights of our trip in such an old and deteriorating hotel which did not represent the luxury found within Indonesia at all. We visited The Four Seasons one afternoon which is only a short walk down the road and both wished we had stayed there, it is absolutely exceptional and appears as a 5 star hotel should appear.

The Mansion is not a 4 star resort at all. The rooms may be, but the communal areas of the complex are old, tired and not at all well maintained.

Do not be fooled by the numerous glowing reviews as we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, AUS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I have traveled extensively around the world and I took the advice of friends and booked into the Mansion hotel in the Ubud country side in central Bali. This was our first time in Bali, and The Mansion made our stay an even more delightful experience than we could have expected..Simply haven! We stayed for 3 nights, and the room (quiet and beautifully appointed) was exceptional. Service was outstanding--friendly, helpful, kind. The location was close enough to central Ubud and Monkey Forest Road, but there is no need to walk since the hotel shuttle service is superb. From the Mansion, we visited sites all over Bali without having to daily deal with the Denpasar traffic and chaos. We loved the breakfast at sunrise pool and has an amazing view overlooking the garden, and at dinner as well as midday in the garden. The decor of this home which used to be a puppet theater is truly gorgeous: someone certainly has an artistic eye!
We definitely would come back to Bali and stay again at The Mansion most happily!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Mansion is definitely a good choice if you like a well maintained, exclusive and clean hotel. Ideal location to cover all of what's interesting in Ubud, It is reasonably priced for a 5 Star hotel and has pleasant and attentive staff. It has 3 huge convenient swimming pools and well-maintained surrounding gardens and the resort is surrounded by rice fields and local traditional villages which is convenient to almost everything .

We basically booked a Deluxe Room, but was upgraded to upper category type to the ambassador Suite that made our stay an even wonderful experience, We felt like king and queen for the weekend! The ambassador is spacious with a roomy comfortable sofa set to relax and watch TV in.

We like the personalized attention received during breakfast. It is not the usual buffet breakfast but a smaller choice of breakfast menu, with the food well-prepared and nicely presented. You have a choice of eating indoor at indochine, Café La Terrace or at the tables set outside at the garden or next to the pool.
Overall, a very pleasant stay for us. Wish we had spent more time at the hotel.

Liked — Exclusive hotel with friendly staff. Nicely decorated and well-maintained rooms, nice swimming pools and garden area.

Stayed October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was lovely hotel but need more maintenance. They can do much better.
Room was fine, bfast not so great ( flies all over the foods )and service is avarage.
When we stayed there every morning at 8am, always there is very loud annoying sound of people cutting the trees.
They have beautiful swimming pool at bfast area, but it was so dirty so no body swim there.
the lobby was very arty, we quite like it.
We went to one of the restaurant whch belong to them, service was bad and they dont have most of the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.