We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great gardens, lovely service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming, great gardens, lovely service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We tried 3 different room here......all wonderful and charming. We booked for one night originally and extended for 5 nights hence the different rooms. We ended at cottonwood pool villa which was just beautiful. We also had a room called kenanga which was beautiful with hot tub outside. The service was excellent and the restaurant serves great food. The gardens are delightful and so relaxing. Great value for money! They offer a free shuttle into central ubud which is useful.
Very happy and will easily recommend this hotel to anyone going to ubud.

Room Tip: All beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    234
    68
    39
    25
See reviews for
139
306
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent 8 days at the resort and found it overpriced for what you get and what is on offer in Ubud. It is definitely nowhere near the 5 stars that they advertise - probably more 2 star. The plumbing was awful and I did not have hot water for the first 2 days of stay and then another day later on. I did not have water at all for 2 days of the stay. The staff were not very helpful with this and eventually the hot water was only fixed after I demanded to speak to Manager after the second day. The plumbing also made very loud noises (woke me up every night and I am a very sound sleeper) at night which keeps you up, The prices of the spa were ridiculously expensive. The location is quite a long walk from Ubud centre and most tours will not fetch you from the hotel. The worst part was that they charged me double for the trip. I booked via Expedia and paid in advance. When I checked in, I was asked for a credit card for incidentals and when I returned home after the trip, I see that the hotel charged for the full stay again on the credit card. They are still trying to find the "best way", according to the manager, to refund me.

I would not recommend the hotel or go near the place again!

Room Tip: Do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Approach to hotel and entrance is good. Hotel full of over designed- rich and ornate furnishing. Lots and lots of things everywhere even if it has no aesthetics.

Rooms are laid out like In a sea side resort but the quality and amenities may be just about or below average.

Not particularly a hotel that will be appeal to repeat users or someone familiar with Ubud and market.

But the staff are friendly and smile and do their best to assist you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I can think of lots of little things that were wrong with The Mansion, but overall, the place is fantastic, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I absolutely loved staying there and, having left there a few nights ago, I know the fondness in my memory for this place will only grow with time.

First, the bad points:
It is a fair way out of the centre of Ubud (about 5km I think). It is fairly much in the middle of nowhere, with nothing of great interest to me within walking distance. There is cafe Vespa that is close, but alas, by the time I realised it was a decent cafe the Galangun (religious celebration) had started and it was closed because of it for the last few days I was there.

This means you have to rely on the Mansion's shuttle service, or taxis, everyday. However, despite previous reviews to the contrary, I found the shuttle service to be very reliable, and never missed out on getting a ride in. They have two shuttle vans, so if one is full they will send the second one out as well. Getting back was a bit less reliable, but most of the time we just got cabs, for 50,000 (equivalent to about $5 Australian; for a trip that would cost about $20 in Australia).

We had a massive bath tub in our room, but the hot water was very limited, and we couldn't fill it more than about 5 inches deep before the water was cold.

We ate at the restaurant on our first night and the food was very ordinary, and expensive. We were there for a week and never ate dinner there again. We didn't bother with our one free dinner after that, which was part of our deal. My wife had duck and it was really terrible, dry to the point of almost being inedible. I had a seafood medley and the prawns looked aged.

Despite all the outdoor pools, and water space, there were no heated spas.

The Wisnu suite, which we stayed in, and which was superb overall, didn't have a closed off bathroom or toilet. It's a separate space, but not walled off.

Finally, we travelled with a 21/2 year old, and we were expecting a separate bedroom, so that we could put her to bed and then spend time together without disturbing her. I would have complained, but the room was just too good to give up for something that may not have been as good.

Now the good:
The Mansion really is a mansion, with a grand entrance and foyer area. The property is very big and well kept, with so many pools and lovely outside lounge areas.

The buildings have a lot of character, which a lot of newer style resorts lack. The quality of the materials they used to build the mansion is very high; no corners were cut when they built this place.

The suite we stayed in was huge, with a balcony over looking the grounds.

The staff were great.

I know some have complained about the buffet breakfasts, but I can't understand why. The food quality and variety was excellent, and the setting is beautiful.

Overall, while it wasn't perfect, it is just such a great and unique place to stay that I couldn't recommend it highly enough. By staying there, you really will feel like you've stayed somewhere special, as I do, especially now reflecting back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Mansion resort is designed has a (beautiful) landscaped garden but not really suited for a holiday where you expect a little more than the pleasure of contemplating.

Indeed after the first night in the resort, shortened by the absence of shadowing curtains in the room, you realize that a number of details make your stay not really unforgettable : no real place to meet and seat for a group of people, wet and spider-invaded bathroom, unusable swimming pool for youg children (too cold), low cuisine quality, poor breakfast (though in a magnifiscent spot), resort located much further than the announced " 15 mns by feet" from Ubud, on a narrow road that is actually too dangerous for pedestrians.
In short no real value for the full-rate we had to pay for this stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent 4 days in this 5 star hotel with my family in August 2012. The garden was beautiful and we had an excellent welcome. But the hotel didn't have the standard of a 5* hotel : no blanket for the 3rd bed; A/C not working, no notice on the safe box, the curtains were transparent so that we were waken up at 5:00 am. Lots of noises : you can hear all what your neighbours were doing. The breakfast buffet was small, and always the same with little choice and the refill was very slow. You need to wake up early to get something for breakfast. Wifi was very slow. Poor lighting in the rooms.. The fitness room was tiny with only 3 appliances and 2 of them were not working.. Desappointing for the high price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in this place for three nights... reception is courteous, helpful. Restaurant is nice place with Morning Sun and Pool view and special Couple Cottage for really romantic dinner.

We stayed in Shiwa Suite was very spacious and brilliant back yard water feature. huge tube big bed.

Most remarkable feature was the courtyard ambiance... water features and seating arrangements... and guess what Wi-fi in almost all public area even the garden. I loved exchanging pleasant experience live with friends...

Room Tip: Shiwa Suite was had best privacy and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.