We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate in relaxation, in the most beautiful surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The ultimate in relaxation, in the most beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel surpassed my expectations. The hotel grounds are large, outstandingly beautiful, well maintained and very tranquil with hidden spaces, day beds and loungers dotted around the pools and gardens. The rooms are a cool haven, spacious and decadent with very comfortable beds and everything you could need. The staff are friendly and happy and go out of their way for you. A free shuttle runs frequently into Ubud centre. There is barely a reason to leave the hotel though unless you fancy picking up some tat at the markets. We took advantage of a 50% off offer for our room and it represents excellent value for the experience you get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    238
    70
    41
    25
See reviews for
142
310
38
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We first stayed one night, and we liked it so much, that we altered our itinerary to stay additional 3 nights there at the end of our trip to Indonesia (we got upgraded to a suite!). The hotel, its settings, and infrastructure are just perfect. We can highly recommend The Mansion Resort Hotel and Spa! Also, Ubud is a happening town, with lots of things to see and visit. A definite must if you plan to visit Bali!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for just one night and wished we had time to stay much longer. The lobby and hotel are stunning with loads of different things to look at such as statues and paintings. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the food. There are several different swimming pools to choose from. I really couldn't find any fault at all with the hotel, the only thing I would say is that the spa seemed really overpriced compared to everywhere else in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were wowed by the luxurious entrance when we arrived - a real feeling of colonial splendour. The staff were friendly and the service they provided was great. Breakfast buffet by the pool set us up for the day ahead. The Mansion is not right in the centre of Ubud, but a free shuttle bus service is provided, or reception can provide a driver at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I definitely regret for only staying 1 night here. I was impressed as they upgraded us from Deluxe Room to Residence Villa with the same name as mine !!! Thank you !! They also arranged us a flower bath + bed with rose petals. The villa has 2 bedrooms (we paid less that $100 which is a very very great value). Maybe it's quite dark at night, but for us, it is exotic. If you want an experience living in a real "royal-palace-village" of Indonesia, it suits you well.

We had breakfast provided by the hotel @Indochine, we choose to sit next to cliff-side swimming pool, it was great scenery and nothing we can complain about the food. They provide proper selection of western menu.

The mansion area was big and beautiful. I always love something traditional and this place was the answer. There are enormous unique crafts, and they display some used branded bags (there even a blue birkin !) that you can buy. The atmosphere was quite, relaxing, and you can take a walk on its big garden that adjacent to BaliWood garden. The staffs are friendly, like we're on our grandma's home, not a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I spent 9 days at The Mansion with a friend on a special deal for USD $120 per night. The hotel is self-rated as 5-star, but as other writers have mentioned a more accurate rating for Bali would be 3-3.5 star. Still, for the room rate we paid it was very good value.

We had a two bedroom Frangipani residence (one double and one single bed). There was a swimming pool just outside the residence and most days when I used it I was the only one there. The rate included a breakfast selection of juice, fruit, pastries, eggs and some local cooked dishes. It's not the usual expansive hotel buffet, but it was tasty and sufficient for us.

The staff were a highlight of the hotel and everyone was very friendly and helpful. When I had a problem with the cleanliness of my room this was quickly resolved, though it was the sort of problem that shouldn't have happened at all. I get the impression that The Mansion was once a very grand hotel - possibly 5 star in its day - but that the owners have let general maintenance and management of the property slip. I hope this is being addressed as The Mansion has a lot of potential. If I were in charge the first thing I'd do is give it a really good spring-clean throughout, pull down any fittings that were looking a bit tired and worn, and remove the unnecessary bric-a-brac which is detracting from some really lovely pieces in their collection.

The Mansion grew on me the longer I stayed there and it has a lot of things going for it for the price. Because I know what else is available in accommodation in Ubud I probably wouldn't return to The Mansion, but that doesn't mean I didn't enjoy my stay. Apart from the room cleanliness issue I'd recommend The Mansion, as long as you are only expecting a 3 star property.

Room Tip: If you book a two bedroom residence you need to know that only one of the bedrooms has a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really loved this hotel. Big enough to provide everything you require but small enough to feel special, quiet and relaxed. Beautiful colonial style building (which is much younger than you think) with lovely gardens in extensive rooms, 3 pools, 2 spa/massage areas and plenty of areas to just sit and relax, and maybe enjoy a quiet drink or two.
The rooms are big and clean with strong, hot showers. Our only minor complaint is that like so many hotels the rooms have poor lighting, especially if you just want to sit and read, and no comfortable chairs in the room?
Breakfast was delightful sitting out by the sunrise pool, we managed to nab the gazebo most days, and although the selection is huge it was all fresh and offered all we needed/wanted in a delightful spot with great views. Dinner is served in the same area and is well worth staying in for. We dined in the hotel one night and we had a beautiful, well priced, meal that we all really enjoyed. All the while being very well looked after - a beautiful night!
Staff are extremely friendly and all try to be helpful.
The Mansion is a great place to stay and I am looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: Al the rooms we saw were great, but if you can the rooms near or in the Mansion seem to be bit bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.