We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best spot in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
Save Saved
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Perth, West Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best spot in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Recently had 4 days here as part of Urban Providers Tour of Bali. Didn't know that this facility was here even though we had been to Nyuhkuning Village before to visit the Birthing Center just down the road. There are several restaurants / warungs within easy walking distance or the hotel will bring in food from their sister establishments locally. The walk back through the edge of the monkey forest is an easy walk so Ubud is within a 20 minute walk or available via the shuttle busses the hotels offer.

The manager Komung dazzled us with his magical tricks and kept us entertained whenever we passed by. Astri was another delightful staff member who made the stay all that more enjoyable, both of the were always smiling and wishing you well as did all the staff.

Although we were there as a part of a group, we never felt we were over looked as the rooms and balconeys are large and relatively private. The breakfasts were served each morning on our balconey overlooking the rice fields whilst you could have an afternoon tea beside the pool area when you wanted, all served with balinese delights.

Ibu Wayan and her husbands compound ajoin the hotel and they can be proud of the wonderful staff and facility that they have. We would still be there if we could and Alam Jiwa is definitely on our list for further stays.

Room Tip: Any room has a view of the rice fields and from some you could catch glimses of Mt Agung
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    60
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
120
172
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is more of home as there are values and ethics and caring that you don't feel elsewhere.
The small touches, the coffee/tea when and where you want, afternoon tea with delicious cake, lovely breakfast anywhere you want.
You hardly see or hear anyone.
Beds are a little hard but look romantic. Sheets annoying as they didn't stay tucked in (minor issue)
Wifi a little patchy but adequate.
Outdoor showers are great.
NB if there is no hot water it means they need to change the gas bottle so you will need to contact staff.
Great restaurants on the street outside.
Walking distance to monkey forest and you can walk around the outskirts without paying and get just as much fun. We even walked this at night and it was fine. It is actually quicker to walk via monkey forest to town as the traffic is horrendous at times.
They provide a transfer to Ubud town and return FOC but you just need to co-ordinate the timings. Nothing seems to be a problem.
Only 1 room key that you just leave in reception and Safe at reception - normally this would be a problem for us as we all do our own thing but it just worked.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The service was remarkable! The help from the staff was wonderful. Loved the rooms and the outdoor living spaces. The breakfast, which can be brought to the room, was one of the most delicious I have ever had. The pool was great and had shaded areas for sitting as well along with afternoon tea and cake.

Room Tip: We saw many of the rooms and without question they were all incredible. The view of the rice fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My stay at Alam Jiwa was unbelievable. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. In particular, the bathroom was huge! The balcony was also a special treat, as the view of the rice paddies was spectacular. The service was also simply top notch. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. We asked for all of our meals to be served on the balcony and they were so accommodating and helpful! I fell so in love with this place that I am coming back in two months!

Room Tip: Hanoman room had an incredible view and very spacious beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely spacious traditional style rooms, ours had view over rice paddies. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle bus to centre of Ubud. Complimentary afternoon tea served daily. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is the perfect ubud getaway. We had a ground floor room (felt more like a villa) that overlooked rice paddies and mount Agung - really spacious with a large bathroom and lovely outdoor balcony. Hotel staff were super friendly and charming. We loved being able to walk into the local village for a beer and dinner, or get the transfer shuttle into town, or just order in. Having afternoon tea on the balcony was a daily treat overlooking the paddy fields. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ground flow rooms are best for families with young kids, but the upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just back from 5 days at Alam Jiwa, and can't wait till my next visit. I loved the classic Bali style of the room - everything was clean and spacious. The outdoor shower was fantastic as well as the view of the rice fields. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay any better - they were all very friendly and accomodated all our needs. A perfect first visit to Ubud, and because of Alam Jiwa and their wonderful staff, I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.