We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A retreat oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
Save Saved
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
Urbana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A retreat oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The service was remarkable! The help from the staff was wonderful. Loved the rooms and the outdoor living spaces. The breakfast, which can be brought to the room, was one of the most delicious I have ever had. The pool was great and had shaded areas for sitting as well along with afternoon tea and cake.

Room Tip: We saw many of the rooms and without question they were all incredible. The view of the rice fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    60
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
122
172
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My stay at Alam Jiwa was unbelievable. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. In particular, the bathroom was huge! The balcony was also a special treat, as the view of the rice paddies was spectacular. The service was also simply top notch. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. We asked for all of our meals to be served on the balcony and they were so accommodating and helpful! I fell so in love with this place that I am coming back in two months!

Room Tip: Hanoman room had an incredible view and very spacious beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely spacious traditional style rooms, ours had view over rice paddies. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle bus to centre of Ubud. Complimentary afternoon tea served daily. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is the perfect ubud getaway. We had a ground floor room (felt more like a villa) that overlooked rice paddies and mount Agung - really spacious with a large bathroom and lovely outdoor balcony. Hotel staff were super friendly and charming. We loved being able to walk into the local village for a beer and dinner, or get the transfer shuttle into town, or just order in. Having afternoon tea on the balcony was a daily treat overlooking the paddy fields. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ground flow rooms are best for families with young kids, but the upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just back from 5 days at Alam Jiwa, and can't wait till my next visit. I loved the classic Bali style of the room - everything was clean and spacious. The outdoor shower was fantastic as well as the view of the rice fields. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay any better - they were all very friendly and accomodated all our needs. A perfect first visit to Ubud, and because of Alam Jiwa and their wonderful staff, I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visited just for one night though we wish we could have stayed longer.
Our room was classic Bali elegance: wood carved walls, lovely dark timber floors and a stunning indoor/ outdoor bathroom. From every window was a view either to the rice fields or to beautiful statues with offerings. The whole complex is surrounded by a network of ponds, fountains and water features (including our outdoor shower), creating a beautiful garden and a sense of tranquility.
The staff were just wonderful, so helpful, and friendly.
Already planning our next Bali trip with a week on this peaceful paradise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for Seven Nights on the 19thMay 2014.It is such a beautiful place to Start your Holiday,to just Chill out for a few days. The rooms are very spacious Clean, and Comfortable, the outdoor--indoor shower we just love. All the staff are so nice and friendly, they looked after us so well, the outlook of the Jiwa Hotel looks over the rice fields which is a very tranquil and peaceful outlook which makes for a most relaxing Holiday, This Group of Hotels are amazing, Regards, Marion and Julie.

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the Rice Fields, the higher the floor the better the View if stairs are no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.