We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has all been said before-another endorsement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
Alam Jiwa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Wellington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“It has all been said before-another endorsement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a fantastic getaway in the country but still walking distances to the shops and restaurants or take the fantastic free shuttle when ever you want it. This was the first of two weeks in Bali and what an entree to the country. Warm,friendly,obliging people making your visit memorable and an experience of a lifetime. That view over the fields early in the morning while enjoying breakfast on the balcony is a world class experience not to be missed.The rooms and bathroom spotless,swimming pool delightful. Do go to Alam Jiwa you will never regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    64
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
123
181
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

ALAM Jiwa at 01 DBL Deluxe Rice Field
This must be one of the nicest places to stay in all of Bali. We had a second floor villa overlooking the rice fields for six nights. We enjoyed the huge open dining area for our morning breakfast and coffee. Indeed, since we tend to be early risers, the staff arranged for us to have coffee on our veranda a full hour before the regular breakfast hour. One chooses your breakfast the night before and selects the time for it to be delivered to your villa. Sweet! There is a lovely little swimming pool which is a delight after an afternoon walking around Ubud. One can walk to the center of Ubud in about 20 minutes going through the monkey forest but it will probably take you longer as you’ll want to linger as you watch the monkeys making monkeys out of the tourist. The staff at Alam Jiwa are delightful. Great sense of humor, warmth, and smiles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My Three adult daughters and I had the pleasure of spending eight days at Alam Jiwa. Our house was built in the traditional way and beautifully decorated. The staff were thoughtful and kept the hotel and grounds in perfect condition. Our view of the rice fields was stunning and the Manager ,Koman was sensative to our interests and recommended a wonderful tour guide for us. His name is Amik ,his knowledge and pride in his country only increased our enjoyment of this beautiful country. Alam Jiwa is a treasure.

Room Tip: any room with a view of the rice fields is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our second trip to Bali and first time staying in Ubud.
Alam Jiwa was everything we hoped it would be. Rustic (but with all the mod cons you need), feeling of seclusion (but close enough to walk to the main drag) and the ability to just relax and unwind.
I went with my husband, my sister and her husband and their 20 month old son. We got 2 rooms, one below the other and this worked perfectly for us. The baby monitor worked from our room downstairs so we were able to play card games and drink/eat on our balcony when my nephew went down to sleep. The hotel is somewhat baby friendly (the cot was near brand new and all set up in the room when we arrived) but certainly not aimed at "families" (no games room etc) however that is not what we were looking for.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all loved to play with little Alex.
The hotel is walking distance to the Monkey Forrest and Monkey Forrest road where all the shops and restaurants are. This is however via a somewhat bumpy and slim walk way that is also used by scooters etc. There is also a few restaurants and massage places on the same road as Alam Jiwa and the ones we tried were great value for money. (The massage palour up the road was one of the highlights for us). We also ordered food into the room from the associated restaurant to the Hotel and it was some of the best food we had in our week. Highly recommend it if you don't feel like heading out.
We used the hotels shuttles into and home from town multiple times without any issues and at no extra cost to us.
The breakfast is amazing and is great either in the lobby or in your room.
The only issue i will mention is that if you don't like bugs then this is not the place for you. Being that its so imbedded in the land and surrounded by nature this with it brings bugs. In saying that we did not get bitten once (we wore bug spray most days which was not an issue for us and the staff bring around coils every night) and being surrounded by the sounds of nature and the beautiful sound of rushing water in the local creek was part of the highlight for us. The mosquito nets over the bed also worked wonders.
I highly recommend Alam Jiwa as a wonderful place to stay and Ubud as a destination!!
We are already dreaming of our next trip here and recommending it to all our friends.

Room Tip: We suggest getting a room with the rice field views. We were in Kenari (upstairs) and Gelatik (downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It's in the fine details that set them apart. Not to expect 5 star luxury, here you get authentic Balinese hospitality. Everyone who works there are genuine, nice and helpful.

Staff quietly swept off all the porches at 7am as the sun rose, and cleaned off all the droppings from possibly geckoes in the bathroom when I had breakfast. New cushions on all furnitures indoors and outdoors, which they tidied up just like last time.

I am amazed by the fine details in the architecture: the landscaped walkways leading to the room with water features- fishes even, the huge wooden doorway to the room, the authentic Balinese bed and furnitures, the new mosquito net with motif on the bed, the huge stone carving leading into the bathroom, the size of the marble bathroom with windows, and the new semi-open shower in Casuary room with a view of Mt. Agung.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my wife and i have stayed at the alam hotels ( jiwa and shanti ) for years , they are simply the best hotels in ubud ... beautiful locations , superb staff and genuine balinese hospitality , all rooms have generous proportions and superb bathrooms , some rooms have rice field views , others have superb garden views , breakfast will keep you going until afternoon tea ( complimentary )
when cake from Cafe Wayan ( owned by the alam group) is served .. , the staff at both hotels are well trained and will delight in teaching you a bit of bahassa indonesia in return for a bit of english practice .. they are situated in nyuh kuning , a pleasant stroll around the edge of the monkey forest and you are in ubud , take a good little torch if you want to stroll back at night to walk off dinner , or use there excellent shuttle car service .. thanks again to jiwa and shanti for a lovely 2 week pampering ...

Room Tip: my preference is for an upstairs room at either hotel ( catches the breezes ) and sometimes enhances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

i traveled to bali in february and stayed in ubud for a total of 3 nights although non-consecutive. for the first two nights, my friend and i paid $500US (astronomical!!!) for a very high end hotel. true, lots of modern amenities and great service, but that was crazy expensive.

alam jiwa offers a very comparable level of service and comfort for 1/5 the price. the property is beautiful with palm trees, flowers, statues....and our room overlooked a gorgeous rice field. we had a little outdoor deck and sitting out there with a book and snacks was delightful. the room we got was quite large with a huge bathroom. the shower was outdoors which might make some people uncomfortable but we were fine with it.

we were offered a snack (cake and juice) when we arrived, and breakfast is included in the cost. not a ton of choices with breakfast but it was delicious and presented quite beautifully.

i would stay here again in a heartbeat. i regretted being here for one night only.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.