We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 117 hotels in Ubud
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Alam Jiwa in the Angsa room. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic relaxing verandah where we had breakfast brought to us each morning and where we could look over the rice paddies. Even though the hotel was full it was so quiet we felt like we were the only ones there as the layout was such that no one was overlooked. The room was extremely clean and the bathroom with the outdoor shower overlooking the fields was great. This was a great getaway and I would highly recommend it for couples. We walked into Ubud everyday through the Monkey Forest which was an easy pleasant walk however the staff will drive you into Ubud if you want. I would definately stay there again and highly recommend it. The only negative thing I can think of is that the bath towels could have been fluffier!!!

Room Tip: When I booked the only available room was the Angsa its a ground floor room with a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    54
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
111
164
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the bustle of kuta, but easily accessible with the free shuttle. The rooms were spacious and really well appointed. The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us, breakfast in the room every morning, afternoon tea. It is a great set up and was a really nce break from the bustle of ubud.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Can't recommend this beautiful oasis highly enough! Impeccable service and accommodations with lush grounds and beautiful, local character throughout. We stayed in the Jalak Bali room, which occupies the entire top floor of one of the three guest houses. Take a look at the photos of the room online and you'll see the beautiful character I am talking about. There was another room below us but it had a completely separate entrance so we never saw or heard its occupants. From our balcony we had a beautiful view of the rice terraces and the towering mountain. The staff is very attentive and provides a delicious breakfast to your private balcony each morning at the time you request (or you can eat breakfast in their dining area near reception and the pool). We were very impressed with all the breakfast options. Try the local pancake (more like a crepe) with paper thin apple slices and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Delicious. The jaffle (breakfast panini sandwich) is also very good -- my husband got the combo all three mornings: cheese, tomato and avocado. I also enjoyed the local Indonesian breakfast option one morning -- you really can't go wrong with any of it! Another perk is that purified, filtered water is offered at reception whenever you'd like to fill up your water bottles. The hotel location is just a short walk from the beautiful Monkey Forest Sanctuary, a must-see during your visit to Ubud. Go to the inner-most temple and you'll experience something akin to Indiana Jones with vines growing everywhere and a rushing creek carving its way through gorge-like rock. You can also walk to town from Alam Jiwa but the hotel offers car service for free, where ever you'd like to go in town. We utilized this everyday. The cars are brand new and always very clean and air conditioned for your transport. At one point a large bug landed on my leg and then quickly flew away, and the driver was so apologetic, insisting they would spray the car that very day. Another kind gesture from the staff that really made our stay -- we arrived back to our room on our second day to find a gorgeous flower arrangement with a note from the staff wishing us a happy honeymoon! It really warmed our hearts that they took the time and care to put that together for us. If you are looking for a luxurious place with local character, impeccable service & attention to detail, and beautiful, tranquil views of the true Bali, and you are willing to take a short drive to get into the center of town, then this place is for you!

Room Tip: Photos of each available room are posted on the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I want you to stay here. When we arrived into Bali we were not prepared for the traffic and the crazy moter scooters. But when we arrrived at what we would call our home Alam Jiwa was a haven. Our huge huge room with a huge outdoor sitting area was one of the biggest rooms I have ever stayed in. The cost was less than a new dress. We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio and watched the workers in the rice field. It was very nice. Our time spent at the Alam Jiwa was very quiet, peaceful and the staff was gracious. We then moved to the Alam Indah for two nights and I was sad we had to leave but when we got to Alam Indah we could not have been more pleased. I enjoyed our room our two story room with huge bathrooms. Please stay here it really is much better than the name brand hotels that most people stay in. This is Bali and you want to stay in a place like this. Oh and please eat at Cafe Wayann. YUM we ate there 4 times. Thank you.

Room Tip: email them or skype them they will pick the room for you. All of them are good really they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We sayed at Alam Jiwa for five nights.
Three nights in the lower Jiwa above the river and two above rice paddie terraces.
There are three Alam's in Ubud, Jiwa, Indah & ? - all owned by the same family who also run Cafe Wyan on Monkey Forest Rd. (excellent food, locale is awesome. & staff are amazing!!)
The Alam's book up usually six months in advance so we were fortunate to scoop another's cancellation. Breathtaking siting on the veranda watching rice farmers in the fields w ducks and scenery early mornings.... Just cannot say enough! Breakfast served to us on our veranda, full Brkfst included in very reasonable price. Our children loved afternoon "cake" time and swims.
A retreat to escape to after a day in Ubud! Thanks Alam Jiwa!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything wrote about Alam Jiwa on tripadvisor was correct, Alam Jiwa was a peaceful place surrounded by rice fields. The room was spacious (Jatayu room) with one big king-sized bed and a single bed. the room also has a huge bath room complete with outdoor shower and a bathtub. To maintain quietness the hotel didn't provide you with television so in the night you will only hear crickets. Jatayu is a wooden house on stilts with dimly lit - it will provide you with a completely rural atmosphere. The service was awesome - if you need anything they will provide you in a second., Nice swimming pool and nice rice fields views. Alam Jiwa located right behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud.

Room Tip: book 2nd floor room facing the rice field - the view will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to discribe how wonderful Alam Jiwa has been on our stay here. I will have a go though.

From the moment of the pick up from the airport until the second we said goodbye to the staff we have been treated as special guests. The staff knew us by name from the off and we hardly ever had to mention our room name when ordering something.

Situated tucked away just south of central Ubud ( only 15 min walk ) the place has beautiful views over the rice padi's and tastefully decorated rooms for a very affordable price.

Very spacious rooms and kept clean meticulously by the excellent staff who looked after us without any issue, made our stay a great experience.

In short; I can recommend Alam Jiwa for all that want to break away from either a stressful, busy or 'hamsterwheel' job.

Menco Veenstra.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list