We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service and nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
Save Saved
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great service and nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the bustle of kuta, but easily accessible with the free shuttle. The rooms were spacious and really well appointed. The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us, breakfast in the room every morning, afternoon tea. It is a great set up and was a really nce break from the bustle of ubud.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    57
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
118
168
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Can't recommend this beautiful oasis highly enough! Impeccable service and accommodations with lush grounds and beautiful, local character throughout. We stayed in the Jalak Bali room, which occupies the entire top floor of one of the three guest houses. Take a look at the photos of the room online and you'll see the beautiful character I am talking about. There was another room below us but it had a completely separate entrance so we never saw or heard its occupants. From our balcony we had a beautiful view of the rice terraces and the towering mountain. The staff is very attentive and provides a delicious breakfast to your private balcony each morning at the time you request (or you can eat breakfast in their dining area near reception and the pool). We were very impressed with all the breakfast options. Try the local pancake (more like a crepe) with paper thin apple slices and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Delicious. The jaffle (breakfast panini sandwich) is also very good -- my husband got the combo all three mornings: cheese, tomato and avocado. I also enjoyed the local Indonesian breakfast option one morning -- you really can't go wrong with any of it! Another perk is that purified, filtered water is offered at reception whenever you'd like to fill up your water bottles. The hotel location is just a short walk from the beautiful Monkey Forest Sanctuary, a must-see during your visit to Ubud. Go to the inner-most temple and you'll experience something akin to Indiana Jones with vines growing everywhere and a rushing creek carving its way through gorge-like rock. You can also walk to town from Alam Jiwa but the hotel offers car service for free, where ever you'd like to go in town. We utilized this everyday. The cars are brand new and always very clean and air conditioned for your transport. At one point a large bug landed on my leg and then quickly flew away, and the driver was so apologetic, insisting they would spray the car that very day. Another kind gesture from the staff that really made our stay -- we arrived back to our room on our second day to find a gorgeous flower arrangement with a note from the staff wishing us a happy honeymoon! It really warmed our hearts that they took the time and care to put that together for us. If you are looking for a luxurious place with local character, impeccable service & attention to detail, and beautiful, tranquil views of the true Bali, and you are willing to take a short drive to get into the center of town, then this place is for you!

Room Tip: Photos of each available room are posted on the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I want you to stay here. When we arrived into Bali we were not prepared for the traffic and the crazy moter scooters. But when we arrrived at what we would call our home Alam Jiwa was a haven. Our huge huge room with a huge outdoor sitting area was one of the biggest rooms I have ever stayed in. The cost was less than a new dress. We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio and watched the workers in the rice field. It was very nice. Our time spent at the Alam Jiwa was very quiet, peaceful and the staff was gracious. We then moved to the Alam Indah for two nights and I was sad we had to leave but when we got to Alam Indah we could not have been more pleased. I enjoyed our room our two story room with huge bathrooms. Please stay here it really is much better than the name brand hotels that most people stay in. This is Bali and you want to stay in a place like this. Oh and please eat at Cafe Wayann. YUM we ate there 4 times. Thank you.

Room Tip: email them or skype them they will pick the room for you. All of them are good really they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We sayed at Alam Jiwa for five nights.
Three nights in the lower Jiwa above the river and two above rice paddie terraces.
There are three Alam's in Ubud, Jiwa, Indah & ? - all owned by the same family who also run Cafe Wyan on Monkey Forest Rd. (excellent food, locale is awesome. & staff are amazing!!)
The Alam's book up usually six months in advance so we were fortunate to scoop another's cancellation. Breathtaking siting on the veranda watching rice farmers in the fields w ducks and scenery early mornings.... Just cannot say enough! Breakfast served to us on our veranda, full Brkfst included in very reasonable price. Our children loved afternoon "cake" time and swims.
A retreat to escape to after a day in Ubud! Thanks Alam Jiwa!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything wrote about Alam Jiwa on tripadvisor was correct, Alam Jiwa was a peaceful place surrounded by rice fields. The room was spacious (Jatayu room) with one big king-sized bed and a single bed. the room also has a huge bath room complete with outdoor shower and a bathtub. To maintain quietness the hotel didn't provide you with television so in the night you will only hear crickets. Jatayu is a wooden house on stilts with dimly lit - it will provide you with a completely rural atmosphere. The service was awesome - if you need anything they will provide you in a second., Nice swimming pool and nice rice fields views. Alam Jiwa located right behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud.

Room Tip: book 2nd floor room facing the rice field - the view will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to discribe how wonderful Alam Jiwa has been on our stay here. I will have a go though.

From the moment of the pick up from the airport until the second we said goodbye to the staff we have been treated as special guests. The staff knew us by name from the off and we hardly ever had to mention our room name when ordering something.

Situated tucked away just south of central Ubud ( only 15 min walk ) the place has beautiful views over the rice padi's and tastefully decorated rooms for a very affordable price.

Very spacious rooms and kept clean meticulously by the excellent staff who looked after us without any issue, made our stay a great experience.

In short; I can recommend Alam Jiwa for all that want to break away from either a stressful, busy or 'hamsterwheel' job.

Menco Veenstra.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Jalak Bali in Alam Jiwa. Through all our travels and stay in hotels far and wide this was a one of its kind - a beautiful and memorable experience. Starting with their warm welcome on arrival with a refreshingly fresh juice, making us feel at home with their personal touch and attentiveness to details every day was a pleasant one. The people of Bali are very polite and the hotel staff were no exception. Soft spoken, courteous and always willing to keep their guests happy. The place is located in a peaceful and tranquil locale yet close enough to Ubud central. We stayed at Jalak Bali located on the upper floor which we thought had the best views from the balcony - the paddy fields, the swaying palm trees, a gurgling brook close by, the fragrance from the lotus pond wafting gently through the windows, the sounds and sights of nature put us all at ease and relaxed. The best part was the open air shower near a spacious bathroom. A shower late evening under a moonlit sky after a long tiring day was great. They also offer evening tea which was a great way to unwind near the pool and get indulged. Breakfast was part our stay packege and it was truly awesome and nutritious way to start the day. Alam Jiwa also had a shuttle service to drop us off and pick up from Ubud. This was very convenient during evenings when we would go to the town for a spa or for dinner or the dance at the Ubud palace. The hotel also helped us with maps and useful info to have a hike around the paddy fields near the Ayum gorge

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.