We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
Save Saved
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel met our expectations: we wanted a quiet place though not too far from the town center. The bungalows are nice and big and the Jew in the paddy fields very relaxing. Service was attentive but discrete. All in all a place to reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    57
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
118
168
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife booked Alam Jiwa largely on the strength of the reviews and we were not disappointed! We are a family 5 with 3 children under the age of 7. We were picked up from the airport and they came prepared even with a carseat for our 11 month old. Once we arrived, we were welcomed by the staff and shown to our room Cendrawasih. This was spectacular as it's not a room but a 3 storey bungalow set in beautiful tropical bush overlooking rice paddies. Such a private place, we had ample room so our children could have the run of an entire floor and both sleeping levels had their own bathrooms. The upper level had the most gorgeous outdoor bathroom with shower and the lovely balcony was where we had breakfast every morning. The included breakfasts are amazing 3 course feasts and afternoon tea is best had beside the serene pool. This was essential with the hot temperatures and high humidity and our kids loved swimming every day. You can even have your dinner delivered to your room from Laka Leke their sister restaurant if you don't want to venture into Ubud. Ubud is only a 10-15 minute walk through the monkey forest away, or they provide a complimentary shuttle service to/from Ubud which we made full use of. It is so easy to get a return ride from Ubud as any restaurant/cafe will call them for you. YOu can even arrange day trips with one of their drivers to other places in Bali. We had 6 nights here and could have stayed longer but unfortunately the room was unavailable for the rest of our holiday so we moved to Alam Shanti. Our preference would have been to stay at Alam Jiwa as it was idyllic and the space we had was incredible. The staff were so friendly, and obviously love children. We would have no hesitation in highly recommending them to families.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have good views. Cendrawasih is the largest being 3 levels so perfect for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had expected a serene, lovely outlook but were gobsmacked by the huge villa we were ushered into. I still cannot get over having orchids in bloom, growing on one of the walls in the bathroom. Glorious views and wonderful sounds of nature at night. You feel thoroughly pampered here because the "villa" is so beautiful and private. We looked over the rice paddies, watching the geese waddle around, laughed at the squirrels dashing up the coconut trunks and would sigh with contentment.
A courtesy car takes you into town and pick you up after your shopping and/or dining. So much to explore in the area!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garuda room, at ground level. It was the most beautiful location, with a gurgling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose this place base on the good reviews and we can say that its met our expectations on terms of the room, view and the friendly staffs. Our room- Hanoman , has a very big bed, make up of 2 adjoining super single beds and a daybed , very spacious bathroom with a bathtub plus a semi open shower overlooking the rice field but not an open air as mentioned in their website.
The best part is the balcony where you can have your meals and a daybed for relaxing with uninterupted rice field view and I suppose its the only room with such wonderful view. We spent most of our time here during daytime and having breakfasts as well as afternoon tea. A selections of breakfast menu to be ordered the night before and we found out the fried rice and Jaffle (Toasted sandwich) are the best. There is no Tv here thats make it very quiet at night with bottles of Bintang (beer) accompanied you. A mini bar with drinks well stocked but its overpriced. Not much facalities around , you can walk to the adjacent rice field via a small bridge or the the nearby villages, or just take a dip in the small pool. Signs of aging can be seen from around the property from the building and the furnitures. Our wardrode in the room can't even close properly. Despite complaints from previous guests about low water pressure, nothing seems have been done to address the problem.
This property together with their sister hotels are always booked out and they just raised the rate in October, I think its time for the management to do something about this aging hotel.
The staffs here are very friendly, attentive and would recommend some good eating places. Everytime you pass the reception, you will bw greeted. They do provide free shuttle to Ubud town which comes very handy as Alam Jiwa is about 5 km from town and there are hardly anything nearby. The problem is being always fully booked, the shuttle can't cater to such high volumn and we were make to wait as least 30-60 minutes for the ride back to hotel. Perhaps , the management/owners should add another vehicle since the business is so good.

Room Tip: Hanoman has the best view but no outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a great Stay in Sanur, we were sad to leave and thinking we have made a mistake by leaving. But oh no, it was not a mistake. This place was just amazing. Everything we had hoped for and more after reading all the great reviews. Peaceful calm relaxing, just what you need after the busy streets of Ubud. The rice fields were a calming effect after busy days of sight seeing and shopping. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to stay for a whole week in this beautiful hotel (comprising of five individual houses). We enjoyed the friendliness and excellent service of the staff, the view over the rice paddies, the quietness and afternoon tea. It is a perfect home away from home in a further very busy Ubud area. We had nice dinners in different restaurants, but the best taste and value we found by D’Waroeng just down the street.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the choice is if you want to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Alam Jiwa. From the very first email to the last good bye the service is fantastic. You just cannot beat it. We were a group of 12 people with 2 kids, and so planning was a bit hectic, but the staff always responded promptly to all of my emails and many changes. They made the planning part very very simple. The hotel is located in the rice paddies about a 20 minute walk away from Ubud, but as others have mentioned, the shuttle service is very convenient and the hotel is just so peaceful away from the craziness of the town. The staff went out of their way to get vans from their sister hotels to ensure that all of us got to the restaurants and performances on time. The shuttle service is free and very very convenient.

We stayed in the Cendrawasih Suite, our friends stayed at Gelatik, Kenari, and the bedroom below Kenari. Cendrawasih was very very nice but we all really liked the Gelatik room (I think this was the name--has a beautful outdoor shower). We all would gather and have tea together in Cendrawasih so it was great for a big group. The C suite was more than enough for our family (5 people). Some of the other posts mentioned wildlife in the rooms ..we only noticed the typical mozzies/geckos..nothing else...so not sure what the the other posts were talking about.

At first I thought we should of booked Alam Shanti, but after visiting Alam Shanti (though it's very nice) I prefer the location of Alam Jiwa in the rice paddies. Almost all of the rooms have rice paddy views..at least the ones on the top floor. The pool is really nice too for a relaxing swim after shopping in the hot sun. Alam Shanti has the spa and the rooms look newer, but I felt Alam Jiwa had more character and you can easily walk to the spa since Alam Shanti is only located about 5 minutes away. This is not your typical hotel room stay..if you are looking for your typical marriott/hilton hotel room you will be disappointed . If you are looking for a balinese style with great service ,in the rice paddies, at a great rate, then look no further.

Let me add that the staff really made our stay. Very very friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. We did not have A/C on the top floor of the Cendrawasih suite, but we were fine with just the fan. There was always a nice breeze so not too many mosquitos bites either.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the top floor with Rice Paddy views. Be sure to ask for A/C though we were fine withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Jiwa 3*
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Jiwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.