We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pertiwi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pertiwi Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Monkey Forest St., Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is very under rated. It has been completely redone. We stayed there a few years ago and it was OK for the very low price.

Now, the price is still very low, but the resort is great. We had a private cabana/villa with a private pool during Nyepi (Balinese new year) for only USD 132. Since we needed to stay on the resort during the day of silence, we had a perfect spot.

Right in the center of things, but the property goes pretty far back, so you are away from the hustle and bustle.

Given the traditions and rules surrounding Nyepi, they did a great job.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you want a romantic weekend, get the private pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandeSuartaya, Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for writing a good comment about our Pertiwi resort and spa. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Villa rate that we offered to you during your stay.

The location of our villa is a simple concept with a green garden and morning atmosphere quiet and away from the bustle, hopefully one of our interested points to our customer who choose our resort to stay.

Nyepi known as “Day of silence” mark celebration of the Balinese New Year in Hindu Lunar calendar. All the Balinese will through four discipline that No activity daily work, No light fire/electricity, No party or noise, No walking to the street.Totally silence and feel natural atmosphere of universe. I am glad that you had been pass the silent day at our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort and Spa in near future, Please feel free to contact myself by e-mail at om@pertiwihotels.com for any further assistant

With warms regards,

Pande Ketut Suartaya
Corporate Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    126
    116
    34
    28
See reviews for
56
145
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just walk out from your extensive garden hotel and you are in the middle of Ubud. No car needed. Everything - yes really - within walking distance. Pertiwi has grown in past few years - you stay in the Rice Fields [Pertiwi Bisma] or in the original Pertiwi Resort in the gardens. Newly rebuilt rooms with many improvements along with more extensive breakast and now always hot [previous Trip Adviser comments were acted on]. Been here too many times to count and Mrs Sri or Mr Gusti at Front Desk always "Welcome Home" to us. In fact everyone at Pertiwi is as friendly as you could wish for. Please remember Pertiwi is not a luxury hotel to be pampered at high price. Pertiwi offers a great central location - in lovely gardens, with 2 swimming pools and a fine breakfast. It's really good value and just steps from Cafe Wayan or Cinta - 2 of the very best restaurants in Ubud. As ever waiting for the next time....

Room Tip: Rice field views at Bisma. Try and get a "new room" unless you are happy to stay in "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandeSuartaya, Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas,

Thanks for your lovely words on your experience at Pertiwi Resort and Spa.

I’m so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our hotel location , garden and the friendly staff.

Thank you for the wonderful praises on our staff “Gusti and Sri ”. Your comments have been shared with them and they were delighted to know that their services have been recognized.

We are all very much appreciative of your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable experience.

With Warm Regards,

Pande Suartaya
Corporate Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at Pertiwi for 5 nights.

I really want this place to do well as there are some lovely people working there but maybe this might help them improve?

The first night we got there it was an older room which was not great at all, the sheets were dirty and the bathroom was not very nice, so I went to reception and said our sheets were dirty and that we wanted another room in one of the other deluxe rooms, they weren't available till the next day so we got new sheets and moved the next day. The room was so much better but the sheets were dirty so once again we got them to change the sheets. This happened one more time during our stay and the third time it happened they bought a spare set in case the one they were using was dirty... And it was.

Breakfast was ok, the toast is cold and once the milk was off.

I totally understand that Pertiwi is not 5 star but I at least like clean sheets.

I think if things were improved like quality control of the sheets and dairy products at breakfast were kept cold and maybe a toaster it would be a good place. The owner is fixing up the rooms so once this is done it will be so much better.

If you stay here try and get a newer room and try the breakfast, if it's not what you like there's plenty of other places to eat.

The best part of Pertiwi is it's beautiful gardens and location in a Ubud, it's close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandeSuartaya, Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Happyadvisor,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. It is appreciated.
I am truly sorry that you experienced some shortfalls during your stay with us.
We have already addressed your comments and rest assured that corrective actions have already been implemented.

Thank you for your gracious comments on the room and garden . I am happy that you found the rest of our facilities to your expectations.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort and allow us to reinstate ourselves in your good faith.

With Warm Regards,

Pande Suartaya
Corporate Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had 2 nights at this resort. I can't actually describe it in one word.
First night we woke up at 3 a.m because of a noise in our room. It was an animal kind of noise! I first thought it was in the bathroom, but after i took the plunge and opened the bathroom door, it was empty. Then we realized the noise came from the ceiling. It was nuts! I am sure it was a huge lizard crawling in our ceiling. Of course we couldn't close our eyes anymore. I kept thinking the ceiling is going to collapse and we would end up with a huge lizard in our beds.
Next day, we noticed other people from our group had different problems with their rooms too, and asked for a free upgrade. So did we.
We eventually upgraded to an upper deluxe room (newly renovated). Here, no lizards. But a really bad smell in the bathroom (it turned out to be from the fan in the bathroom). We kept this one. at least it didn't had animals in it. Awful stay!
Btw, the first room (deluxe) was really dirty and old! Breakfast choice was also poor.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room, and then ask for a free upgrade. If they refuse, ask for your money back! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandeSuartaya, Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for staying in Pertiwi resort and Spa and also to apologize for the incident you experienced during your stay with us.

As our hotel rooms are literally located in the rice paddies and Mumbul river , we are extremely cautious and take this problem very seriously. To that effect, we employ once a week for pest control and terminix from a reputable company. We issued them a strong warning following your incident. The problem happened in the bath room cause from the drainage we had forwarded this issue to department concern. This issue is now solved and it will not happen again.

We had gradually renovated our deluxe room to new room catagory , we confident that our new room will more remarkable in future.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Pertiwi resort and spa and allow us to reinstate ourselves in your good faith.

With warm regards,

Pande Suartaya
Corporate Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want a place that provides great access to the heart of Ubud,is within walking distance of the Royal Palace and Monkey Forest, stay at Pertiwi. In addition, quick access to good restaurants and live music with a leisurely stroll in bustling Ubud. After dealing with the hustling market, you can return to your room in Pertiwi located in the midst of relaxing gardens. Pleasant and calming views from rooms and balconies. I definitely will return to Pertiwi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was my second stay at Pertiwi, this time with another group of friends. They all had the more expensive new or renovated rooms but I reckon my room was better value. Room 306 overlooked the rear pool & gardens & my balcony was the choice for evening drinks. Their rooms had view across garden/lawn to other rooms. Rooms are fitted with large beds, a/c, fridge, 2bottles of water supplied each day & the only draw back was a very old TV (for those that turn them on). There are plenty of renovations going on at present so in time these older rooms may get a face lift (new TV) but other than that they are fine. Staff throughout the hotel are very pleasant, helpful & welcoming. Breakfast provided was of a high stranded & plenty to choose from. A 2nd pool is located at the restaurant for the rooms closer to the front. Location couldn't be better being in the middle of monkey forest road. There are plenty of more expensive hotels nearby but Pertiwi offers value for money with very restful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights and wished we could stay longer Rooms were large and recently renovated Staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious More renovations are happening but these did not disturb us We will be returning next year

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pertiwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Address: Monkey Forest St., Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#67 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pertiwi Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pertiwi mean Mother Earth, is an exotic name well known in the heartland of Ubud, a perfect retreat for those who appreciate informality and total privacy but want to be close to Ubud's tourist's interests and cultural centre. Considering the central but quiet location, the space and facilities are set in compound greenery tropical landscape with two swimming pools and proximity to either Monkey forest and Ubud's King Palace, just a door step to find many tourist activities, shops are right on the main road in front of the resort a few minute walk to the museums and rice field, represents outstanding value offer not just an accommodation but unforgettable experience to recharge your energy. New Renovated Villas, with its simplistic design covered by alang-alang roof, long glass window and bamboo hand-woven ceiling are reflecting its Balinese stylish combined with modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pertiwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pertiwi Resort And Spa
Pertiwi Resort Ubud
Pertiwi Hotel Ubud
Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pertiwi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.