We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pertiwi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pertiwi Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Monkey Forest St., Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Pros:
This is good value for the amount I paid for a weekend holiday stay. Rooms are clean and spacious, and very suitable for family staty. The hotel is located at the heart of Ubud (Jalan Monkey Forest), which is convenient for people who likes to walk around.

Cons:
They could certainly improve on the security there. The rooms have no metal latch, except for an old wooden door latch which looks quite flimsy. There are no security guards at the main entrance at night, although there is a hotel staff seated at the reception counter. Combined with the flimsy wooden latch, I would put my something heavy against the door for "extra" protection.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    127
    117
    34
    28
See reviews for
57
146
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Where to start? The sloppy reception? The "I-dont-give a damn" service? The dirty rooms? The fact that I had to supply them with a rooming list of my group 3 times? The toliet that leaked and smelt like sewerage? No- I will start and end by saying that I booked 10 rooms for a group and most were dark, dingy and smelly and as this was the end of our trip, it meant we didnt end on a high that's for sure. AVOID!

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorebank NSW
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

OK, I admit it, initially I was going to write a worse review, actually cancelled one, but Pertiwi has redeemed itself today: on return the room was spotless.This was the cause of my gripes with them because for the first two nights of our 4 night stay, housekeeping was incredibly sloppy: the room was scarcely cleaned, sheets just straightened and the floor and the bathroom left dirty. This only changed after vehement protests from our side, which seemed to have worked.
We had a 'deluxe room', which is quite dated, no problem as such, if they come and clean properly. The wooden ceilings shower some debris onto the room, and without cleaning, its a bit of a nightmare. The rooms themselves are very spacious, on beautifully landscaped, vast grounds and it is very peaceful and quiet. The location of the hotel is great, right in the centre of Ubud.
The breakfast is really poor as well, not surprising, because it is only 6.00 USD for patrons who are not Pertiwi guests. They should do better than that, even if they have to charge a bit more. Would we be back?: maybe for the location, but for the same money, better places are on offer.
PS: Please Pertiwi management, do not respond with one of your silly cut and paste letters, that you have used on other reviews, this just reflects that you don't take the concerns of your patrons seriously

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my fiance for our anniversary last May.
The hotel was located very close to Ubud attractions, monkey forest and restaurants. It has a beautiful landscape and very peaceful at night. Great place for relaxing.
The only minor is that we got the old rooms on the back building, we notice that this property is renovating some of their rooms in the front part of the hotel and renewing it looks. Hopefully they will continue with the whole rooms.
Breakfast was okay and staffs are nice. Nothing is outstanding but not to be complain about.

Room Tip: As I mention on my review, the front part of the hotel are renovated, better ask for the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Pertiwi resort during our Ubud trip in December 2010. We stayed in a spacious villa. Place was safe and next to multiple eateries. It was easy getting transport but always bargain!

It also served as a good starting point for our trips to rafting and overnight hiking at one of the volcanoes. Don't miss the Babi Guling and Naughty Nuri's ribs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Pertiwi for 1 night and it was worth every penny. The villa was beautiful although there is an opening in the bathroom which worried one of our party who was particularly sensitive to mosquito bites. But all in all it was lovely. We had room service which was very good and the breakfast area for the villa was just lovely. We had our own small private pool and, although in the centre of Ubud it was very quiet at night. We would certainly return there. Alol the staff were very child friendly and they negotiated a price for us which was great. Beautiful setting and a little electric 'car' to take you to your villa.

Room Tip: Negotiate. They came down $40 dollars from the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

we prebooked for 4 nights at this resort .the room we booked was listed as deluxe .In actuality it was a very standar room .Adequate with the facilities available but unclean in parts , especially the bathroom .On two occasions i complained about the room and asked to see the manager .He did not respond to my request .I spoke to an assistant about seeking an upgrade and he got quite agitated while explaining that we had already been upgraded at no cost when the resort had given us an eighty dollar extra superior room .
this was not correct and i walked away in frustration.
however the worst feature of this place was the breakfast . we had prepaid for a full american breakfast .what was available was dreadful. the small amount of bacon was totally cold and impossible to chew . there were no eggs or other meat type dishes at all and no toast most days .any other hot dishes werecold ,soggy and inedible.We are not demanding people but expect better than this when we pay up our hard earned cash for a trip .
we suggest you avoid this resort . there are many other little places to stay at in ubud at half the price that are much superior . arrive at ubud and check things out before you book .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pertiwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Address: Monkey Forest St., Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#68 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pertiwi Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pertiwi mean Mother Earth, is an exotic name well known in the heartland of Ubud, a perfect retreat for those who appreciate informality and total privacy but want to be close to Ubud's tourist's interests and cultural centre. Considering the central but quiet location, the space and facilities are set in compound greenery tropical landscape with two swimming pools and proximity to either Monkey forest and Ubud's King Palace, just a door step to find many tourist activities, shops are right on the main road in front of the resort a few minute walk to the museums and rice field, represents outstanding value offer not just an accommodation but unforgettable experience to recharge your energy. New Renovated Villas, with its simplistic design covered by alang-alang roof, long glass window and bamboo hand-woven ceiling are reflecting its Balinese stylish combined with modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pertiwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pertiwi Resort And Spa
Pertiwi Resort Ubud
Pertiwi Hotel Ubud
Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pertiwi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.