We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe in your mouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Cafe Ubud

Luxe Cafe Ubud
Kajeng Street no.20 | The Street Beside Starbucks Off Jl Raya Ubud, 250 Meters Up on Your Right Side, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 361 8493524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: French, Healthy, Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luxe in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Don't get fooled but the cafe's name and come expecting anything posh or snob. You'll only find an excellent service, an friendly owner, and a a perfect roasted chicken with perfectly delicious dip sauce.

The price is very reasonable for this kind of food, which is rather difficult to find in the area, and, something that bears noticing, the staff is not only friendly but apparently happy as well, which is a nice bonus.

Congrats, I'll come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Cafe Ubud, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Rob, WOW! What makes this review unique is that it captures the essence of our mission statement we created when we established our cafe in July 2013. We continue to strive for excellence in everything we do, learn from our mistakes and remain conscious of what we do well to insure we keep doing it. We are always proud to serve the culinary creations that Sally, Bush, Ayu & Bella create for our guests. I am equally proud of Nyoman, Ellis and Nhakan who provide such gracious service to our guests. On behalf of all of us at Luxe Café, thank you for sharing your dining experience on TA. We all look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A cozy cafe tucked away just off the main road in Ubud where we were greeted with a friendly smile and presented with a cold towel and a crisp welcome drink. We ordered the Riz Salad and the 1/2 Chicken with pomme frites and mushroom fricassee. Wow! The salad was fresh and contained savory chunks of pumpkin! There are several dipping sauces to choose from for the mouth watering chicken and the homemade hickory smoked BBQ brought back memories from home. The pomme frites were a nice crunch and the mushrooms were succulent. Sally made friendly conversation with us and the other customers and it is clear that the team at Luxe Cafe shares a passion for excellent food and friendly service. We look forward to returning to Luxe Cafe to sample some of their other menu items next time we are in Bali!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Cafe Ubud, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Dan, I was nice to meet you and chat with you in the cafe. On behalf of Sally & Bush, the culinary creators, Nyoman, head of guest services & their respective teams, thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at our cafe. I am personally most touched by your comment on the happiness of the staff, this is so important to me that everyone on the Luxe Team is treated with respect, dignity, well remunerated for there efforts to the point where the cafe works on a 5 day work week to give everyone a balanced life between work and personal time. We are humbled and proud to read your kind words, we continue to strive for excellence in everything we do. We look forward to serving you again and again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Take away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We got a chicken take away .
Taste and quality were good but could have been better cooked.
Pleasant staff, service minded.
The accompanying sauces were tasty.
I guess the taste would be better if eaten at the restaurant instead of take away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Cafe Ubud, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The reviews greatly help potential guests decide where to dine when in Ubud. Every chicken we roast is taken off the grill when the temperature of the breast is 165ºF / 74ºC and the thighs are 175ºF / 79ºC , to the bone, as recommended by USDA. Our chickens are brined for 8 hours prior to cooking. They are cooked at a very high fired temperature to seal in the moisture and herbs from the brine. This makes the meat moist right to the bone which can sometimes be interpreted as under cooked. We are very diligent about cooking the chickens properly, well done but moist. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The salad I had was wow! Such tender chicken and amazing dressing ... Service from Nyoman was perfect and I look forward to trying more chicken dishes here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Luxe Cafe Ubud, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
On behalf of Sally & Bush, the Luxe Café culinary creators & Nyoman, Head of Guest services, and their respective teams, thank you for sharing your dining experience on Trip Advisor. These reviews greatly help potential guests decide where to dine when in Ubud. You have made Nyoman's day with your kind words, it is a privilege to have him on our team. We look forward to your return and having the pleasure of serving again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“delicious food, hospitable staff, i miss Luxe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

i've been traveling alone for 2 months now, and i felt so lucky to find Luxe Cafe. i was just starting to feel a bit homesick, but the staff at Luxe were super friendly, inviting and really genuine. they helped me out with any questions i had about Ubud and Bali in general, and i met new people every time i was in the cafe.

don't get me started on the food, WOAH! i had a half chicken both times i came in for dinner and it was out of this world!! i ate every last scrap despite how totally full i was! and i was baffled by how inexpensive it was. sure, it was more then my usual backpacker budget, but only slightly... for a couple bucks more i really felt like i was eating at a 5 star restaurant (seriously, this meal would cost like $30 in north america).

bravo, Luxe! you guys are onto something great!! thanks for a great visit, Paul, Grace, Sally and Dewa!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Owner at Luxe Cafe Ubud, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Dani, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of your experience at our small Café. We truly enjoyed serving you when you were here, the talks we had and the laughs. We miss your presence and good energy. We were thinking of you the other day when we introduced our new menu with a larger selection of Vegetarian Dishes, even though both times you could not resist the chicken! From all of us, Sally, Grace, Dewa, Bush, Nyoman, Ellis and myself, travel safe and hopefully we will see you back in Bali real soon. Thanks for your support. Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxe Cafe Ubud also viewed

 

Been to Luxe Cafe Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Cafe Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.