We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jendela House

Jendela House
Jalan Sriwedari 5, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 361 7141318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: European, Tapas, Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Blending bistro and gastronomy, Jendela House's concept combines traditional European and Pan-Asian fusion dishes with sophisticated twists created by the international chef for casual yet remarkable meals. This concept gives a warm and inviting atmosphere, with a top-quality gastronomic approach full of unique combinations of flavours. At Jendela House, you will be welcomed with the ambience of 'Kota lama' style, which is inspired from the beautiful architecture of the colonial period. The decor is focusing on the "vintage chic" with lot of attention to details. The focus on their 'window' style gives the relaxing ambience and appreciation to the Ubud neighbourhood. In the second floor, you can enjoy the beautiful Balinese family temple with some comfortable sofas to unwind and lounge in the harmony of Ubud. The restaurant caters for lunch and dinner, featuring a full service bar, lounge area and dining room. In addition, you can enjoy the daytime Parisian coffees and lovely desserts at our front terrace. The carefully crafted menu showcases a great variety of dishes that will thrill food lovers with dishes such as a duck foie gras, an orange sauce duck leg confit, cacao seasoned fish tempura on banana guacamole or a decadent creme brulee for your finale. The bar list features a wide array of creative cocktails, such as beetroot margarita, fruity tequila with basil and balsamic vinegar and along with all time favourite's cocktails specialties, served with a ambient music that will accompany you throughout the evening.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after the fire dance. So happy we did! The food is presented in a beautiful way and tastes delicious. A chill vibe inside. Would go again for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    24
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Relaxed French bistro in the heart of Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Group of five walked in one midweek night and were well met. Seated upstairs in what looks like a refurbished house with open windows to allow the highland breeze through. Short, but well priced for Bali, wine list and some nice original cocktails. The staff are well drilled young locals supported by 2 busy Frenchmen. The food is pure French, the onion soup and roast chicken I had could have been flown in from the left bank. If you are longing for some western classics this is the place in Ubud.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing upmarket French resto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a late dinner for our dad's birthday after seeing the dance at ubud palace.

Food was of excellent quality, even better than many French resto's I've tried in Paris. We particularly enjoyed the duck confit and the salmon main. Nice little touches with the home made bread sticks and olive tapenade and bread rolls with truffle butter. And the Mille feuille dessert was so fresh and delicious!

Decor was very tasteful and clearly carefully considered to reflect local Balinese influences in a modern environment.

Service was impeccable with Nicolas and his team going out of their way to ensure we had a special eve. Thank you!

Highly recommend for anyone looking for a classy French meal in ubud, especially when you need a break from warungs and raw vegan food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a while in Australia, I went to Bali for holidays. I spent a really pleasant evening in Jendela House. As an architect I enjoyed the place, well designed and tasteful, with great attention to the details. From the furnitures to the pictures on the wall, it's absolutely nice! The menu is miscellaneous and representative of good french cuisine. You can find some classics (onion soup, sauted frog leg, orange sauce duck) but there is always a touch of originality. I was craving for french dishes: as a starter I got the Crispy cheese and as a dish, the Tartare and I haven't been disapointed. Flavor, product of quality and decent quantity: good for me! Thanks to the team!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over rated and WAY over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Over priced and pretentious. The food was OK by WAY overpriced. I had a burger and the price was 140,000 for 140 grams of beef. You can get as good or better burger form Kafe, Oops, Melting Pot or Paula's for around 60,000 and the beef will be much larger. My wife ordered a Ceasar salad...and again it was OK by nothing special and twice the price of other places. The decor is is odd...way to many lights but the tables are well done and the seating good. My recommendation...visit one of the many other fine eating establishments in Ubud and save your money. Nothing special her but the price. An definitely NOT kid friendly. And what's with the 20% tax?? That is pure [--] as the government tax in Ubud area is 10%.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jendelahouse, Owner at Jendela House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Darwtrs1122, I apologize if your lunch at Jendela House was not well enough.
I admit do not understand some of your comments and certify that some of your obsertavtions are false.
After verification of your bill, the burger you order was a burger with foie gras, which is more expensive that a simple burger.
Composition of this burger: 160g of ground beef, 30 grams of foie gras, and garnish.
About government taxes in indonesia they are 10% for ALL businesses, including ours.
I invite you to check back for that, and if there was an error on your bill, we will refund you immediately.
I hope to meet you to settle this misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jendela House also viewed

 

Been to Jendela House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jendela House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.