We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, charming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delicious Onion Ubud

Delicious Onion Ubud
10, Jl Raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 361 2121463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 407 restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming place, charming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I am a little bit miffed with the way some Westerners critique SE Asian venues. Delicious Onion has copped some bad reviews from people who are too fussy for Indonesia and it's surrounds. Sure some items on the menu they dont have and the beer is occasionally frozen. But you keep coming back to this part of the world for the people, and the Delicious Onion is staffed by good people who serve honest food. Give it a try, the atmosphere here made it one of the few places in Ubud we visited twice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Delicious Onion Ubud, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for getting us! we're trying our best and there are going to be improvements.
respect
m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    12
    6
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool place, great burgers and very cool owner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you are craving a western meal this is the place to go! The owner, Mike is really great! They have live music Wednesdays they have a lounge and a really cute restaurant. Good burgers and happy hour drinks.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Delicious Onion Ubud, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank You so much for the Review, we much needed a positive one! thanks for getting us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this hidden gem tucked away off the main street. Great little warung. We were lucky enough to have live music the night we went creating a very inviting atmosphere. Even though the waiter and waitress could speak very little English, it just added to the charm. Unlike other restaurants, the service was not hurried which allowed us to take our time and enjoy the atmosphere fully. We came with our children (teenagers 13 & 15) and enjoyed it so much we brought friends back the next night. The food was amazing both nights with the pork belly being succulent and tasty while having the right amount of crunch. On our second night we were gifted with free tastings of spring rolls and an amazing desert. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. The flavours here were very different, which was a welcome change at the end of a holiday with restaurants offering the same fare. Try the popcorn chicken with spices, roast pork belly and to end your night with a bang try the Greek Cocaine

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Delicious Onion Ubud, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Wow thank You so much for your amazing Review and we're glad the teens loved it! we're all about family so sharing with another family is always heart warming! hugs from Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not so sure...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we happened upon Delicious Onion one night hoping for a quick and satisfying meal. The waiter was reasonable attentive but after taking our order returned to our table to advise that my partners selction was no longer available. He chose someththing else and we waited for our emals to arrive. Despite us being the only table ordering food, the meals took a long time to arrive and mine arrived signfincalty earlier than my partners. I had a sense that it was not what I ordered but didn’t want to rock the boat to ate it anyway. When the bill arrived, it seems that my order was crossed off and replaced with a dish I didn’t order and my partner received that he originally ordered despite being told it wasn’t available. The meals were average but compared to other venues, quite poor value for money. Would not recommend this venue, service is sloppy and slow, food is uninteresting and expensive for what it is and Bintangs here are the most expensive we came across anywhere. There are so many great restaurants in Ubud, you can do so much better than wasting your time and money here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Delicious Onion Ubud, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Ooh sorry you didn't have the experience id would have liked you have. but thank you for your review, we've been working on stuff since your last visit and we appreciate the feedback.
love peace happiness and health to all
M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Adorable hippie noodle/burger bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

So the other reviews are right about the hit-and-miss food and service, but those aren't the reasons you're going here anyway - and you should definitely, definitely pay this place a visit.

Charming isn't a big enough word to describe it - and somehow the service issues add to rather than detract from it.

Tips:
- live music Weds and Sunday nights, a must (acoustic, 90s/00s, very very good)

- veggie burger is a sad disappointment, but the classic rocker burger is excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Delicious Onion Ubud, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Kate, I love this Review and its hippie noodle/ burger bar title . i've been hard at work getting things better here and we're still having fun doing it! thank you for your review. hugs

m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicious Onion Ubud also viewed

 

Been to Delicious Onion Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicious Onion Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.