We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super stay in Demankhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demank

Demank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Demank to your Saves list
Demank
Jalan Sugriwa 38, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Sao Martinho do Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“super stay in Demankhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

In February I spent 5 days in Demankhouse. A fine place to stay if you want to be in the city. Ubud 10 minutes walk to the market and in the street delicious restaurants. The room was super clean and Ambara (owner) and his family are very nice. Ambara is also a reliable taxi driver at very reasonable prices to take you to where you want. . If I go to Ubud next year I will stay at Demankhouse. Price / quality is very good. Breakfast nice and is made by a very nice girl. Always up for a chat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for a few days in January whilst travelling around Bali and nearby islands.

The guest house is centrally located, easy to reach, clean and safe.

It is run by a family who are absolutely lovely and will go out of their way to help you and provide as much information as you require. I would recommend Demank to my friends and family and would certainly stay there again when in Ubud

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just off the main roads, this homestay style lodging provides the perfect combination of accessibility and relative quiet. It is also run by a great family who are very welcoming and helpful. The compound is even more beautiful than the wonderful rooms, which are kept nice and clean. The provided breakfast of toast, eggs, and tea was wonderful. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in Ubud.
Only issue we had was light leakage, which my wife is sensitive to, in the morning but this seems to be true almost everywhere we stay in Indonesia so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our room was lovely and clean and the wifi connection was great.The family were always available and very helpful with advice and to books trips.We were brought a breakfast of pancakes and when we slept in they gave us a little knock.The guesthouse is not the easiest to spot and so it's an idea to have a map and contact number if you're being dropped off.It's within easy walking distant to everything in central Ubud and the family provided us with a map.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice family with kids that have very good English speaking skills. Rooms are exceptionally clean, nice and quiet. Central location: 10 minutes by foot to monkey forest as well as to the main streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Demank house was a great option for us. Really good value with simple rooms and just off the main road in Ubud so walkin distance to everything. The staff were delightful, really helpful and we loved being brought our home cooked breakfast outside our room every morning. The rooms are a bit exposed to the outside so we did have quite a few bug visitors but nothing too drastic. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Demank House for a week and thought it was a great budget option. It's in an excellent location - very near the main streets of Ubud and walking distance to lots of great restaurants. It's also very close to two yoga studios (Yoga Barn and Radiantly Alive).

The owner, Ambara, and his family are lovely - very friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes or scooters there too, and Ambara can take you on various tours. Good wifi while I was there.

Just a few downsides - 1) there was no hot water a couple of times and then at other times there was only very hot water 2) it was a little noisy in the morning, from around 6am, when scooters would start going up and down the road - so ear plugs might be a good idea for light sleepers. 3) Breakfast only started at around 7.30am - a little late if you want to head off early

But I would definitely recommend Demank to others looking for a good value option in central Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demank

Address: Jalan Sugriwa 38, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demank HouseDemank House new budget homestay in central Ubud.Just 10 minutes walk to Wenarawana(monkey forest).have just 4 standard room,with facilities:*hot shower*free wi-fi*breakfast*fan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Demank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demank Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.