We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demank

Demank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Demank to your Saves list
Demank
Jalan Sugriwa 38, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 334 Ubud B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely family run guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Our room was lovely and clean and the wifi connection was great.The family were always available and very helpful with advice and to books trips.We were brought a breakfast of pancakes and when we slept in they gave us a little knock.The guesthouse is not the easiest to spot and so it's an idea to have a map and contact number if you're being dropped off.It's within easy walking distant to everything in central Ubud and the family provided us with a map.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice family with kids that have very good English speaking skills. Rooms are exceptionally clean, nice and quiet. Central location: 10 minutes by foot to monkey forest as well as to the main streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Demank house was a great option for us. Really good value with simple rooms and just off the main road in Ubud so walkin distance to everything. The staff were delightful, really helpful and we loved being brought our home cooked breakfast outside our room every morning. The rooms are a bit exposed to the outside so we did have quite a few bug visitors but nothing too drastic. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Demank House for a week and thought it was a great budget option. It's in an excellent location - very near the main streets of Ubud and walking distance to lots of great restaurants. It's also very close to two yoga studios (Yoga Barn and Radiantly Alive).

The owner, Ambara, and his family are lovely - very friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes or scooters there too, and Ambara can take you on various tours. Good wifi while I was there.

Just a few downsides - 1) there was no hot water a couple of times and then at other times there was only very hot water 2) it was a little noisy in the morning, from around 6am, when scooters would start going up and down the road - so ear plugs might be a good idea for light sleepers. 3) Breakfast only started at around 7.30am - a little late if you want to head off early

But I would definitely recommend Demank to others looking for a good value option in central Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at Demank House for 3 nights, and was very pleased with my stay. Its location is ideal, short walk to the main street and supermarket, but at the same time in a quiet neighbourhood. Breakfast is included, and it was delicious with tea/coffee, fresh fruit, pancakes ++. The rooms and bathroom is very clean and you have your own balcony. The only thing you should be aware of is that there are open "holes"/carvings over the windows and door, so small gekkos easily gets into the room. I woke up one night from a gekko trying to steel my food :p If you dont like that, you should stay somewhere else. The wi-fi is also a bit varying. Other than that I was very happy with my stay and would recommend Demank House to others :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Demank House is situated 5 min from thrle center of Ubud and offers clean rooms with basic amenities for a great price. The owner, Ketut is extremely accomodating and helpful in all regards.

I would recommend Demank House to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in June. Ketut was the most incredible host. So helpful and friendly. For such a cheap rate, you get a spacious room with a clean bathroom and breakfast delivered daily! Less than 5 minute walk from shops and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to The Yoga Barn. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demank

Address: Jalan Sugriwa 38, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demank HouseDemank House new budget homestay in central Ubud.Just 10 minutes walk to Wenarawana(monkey forest).have just 4 standard room,with facilities:*hot shower*free wi-fi*breakfast*fan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Demank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demank Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.