We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemonade

Lemonade
Monkey forest Street, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+(62)0361-978201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 407 restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lemonade is delicious Mexican and international Cuisine Restaurant in the heart of central Ubud, just a short walk from monkey forest and Royal Palace. Lemonade has refined yet relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff, live acoustic on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.As the name suggest, there is also a tantalizing selection of frozen lemonades to cool you off after a day of adventure.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Good Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Food here was awesome, CHEAP BINTANG. If you need help looking for things to do, talk to the manager. We talked to him for a bit, and he ended up driving us around the next day, even going so far as to take us to the village that he grew up in. This was no tourist trap, it was the real deal. We were offered fresh fruit and got to meet his whole family. He speaks English very well and has no trouble helping you find your way around Bali.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    43
    24
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweet staff, sweet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love this restaurant for its yummy soups and wonderful manager. Also had a delicious enchilada there last night. The staff treats you like family, even the acoustic guitar singer! Great location and vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The freshest and tastiest food in Bali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After 10 days in the rural quiet of the north coast, eating traditional Balinese food and finding little influence of the western world, our trip to Ubud was our chance to 'rewesternise' before heading back home.
On our first night in Ubud (whilst eating a very tasty Nasi Campur (old habits and all that)) we decided to have a non Indonesian meal for a change. My partner's favourite cuisine happens to be Mexican so there was no real decision to be made when the next day, we stumbled upon Lemonade.
It was about 5pm (middle of happy hour) and fairly quiet, but we were given time to stand outside and view the menu without being hassled to come in, which wasn't the case with many other restaurants in the area.
On seeing the Mexican platter at such a reasonable price we pretty much dived in. We were very warmly welcomed and service was great throughout.
We had the staple large bottle of Bintang, a huge platter of various Mexican dishes and Burritos which in total still only came to around £10 which was phenomenal considering it was the best Mexican food we have ever had and one of our best meals in Bali full stop!
Nyoman, the manager, made us feel very at home as if we had been eating there for years (we wish!). We congratulated him on his restaurant and sent our thanks to the chef for the amazing food.
Needless to say we went back the next evening and were given a free desert for returning, such a nice touch!
The second night we had the platter again but with enchilladas this time. Everything is freshly prepared everyday and you can tell. Even things that are easy to just buy in are made from scratch every day. The chefs are really great both at their jobs and just to have a chat to, they have a real passion for what they are doing and it shows in their food.
The next day we went back and did a cooking class, just me and my parter with the two head chefs. It was a fantastic experience, so much skill! We learnt to cook traditional food (and deserts!) as well as just Mexican.
Nyoman, the manager, has a fantastic eye for business and on asking to see how it was all done, he allowed us to have a morning cooking (and eating) to our hearts content, hopefully he will advertise these cooking classes (so different to others in Ubud) and get some interest. We were certainly happy to be guinnipigs!
Whether you want amazing Mexican, yummy Indonesian or a really tasty burger and chips, you can get it all here with amazingly friendly service and really good value for money. Go for it!! (and tell them we say hi :D)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went there with family as we saw great reviews on tripadvisor. The staff very quickly came over with coloring in for our kids and made us feel very welcome. The food was fantastic great mexican food and our kids ate everything off their plates which was a first at any resturant we have been to this trip. Fantastic manager making sure everyones meals were perfect. We highly reconmend lemonade to anyone. We will be going back again. Well done lemonade. A+++

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not a bad effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ate here a couple of nights ago, food was pretty good and service very friendly. The food was light & refreshing - not too heavy like typical American-style Mexican stodge - which goes well with the local weather here! I had veg. fajitas - which were fine, although not served as you expect traditionally, it was more like a small portion of stir fry vegetables & two thin tortillas on the same plate - but it all worked well. Black Rice pudding dessert was very tasty. The light portions may not suit some tastes (Americans !) but it was refreshing and just enough. Manager & serving staff ever present & very friendly. Only really negativething I can say was the salsa was really not so good, otherwise a good meal & nice experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemonade also viewed

 

Been to Lemonade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemonade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.