We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanah Semujan Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tanah Semujan Ubud to your Saves list
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Frederiksberg C
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Tanah Semujan when we first arrived in Bali. We had only planned for 3 nights but decided to stay an extra night because Ubud has a lot to offer and not least because we had a great time with the hotel manager and his family.
The rooms were very clean and we were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room with air-condition upon arrival.
The hotel was a bit of the main street but in walking distance (5-10 minutes) to everything. It had a beautiful small garden and only 8-10 rooms in total. The hotel owner, Wayan, and his family were very welcoming and made us feel extremely welcome. They were cooking us delicious breakfast every morning and helped us in booking various activities at very favorable prices. We took a mountain bike trip to the mountains and a rafting trip in the river an hour away. We also ordered our return ticket to Lombok/Gili through Wayan at a reasonable rate.
The most memorable night was when we were invited to a religious ceremony with Wayan, his wife and two kids in the local temple. We were dressed up in balinese clothes and witnessed a great night with local food, music and dance.
I would very much recommend staying at Tanah Semujan and would like to thank Wayan for a great stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
57
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great stay! family run bungalows and people were really helpful and kind. Wayan kindly ferried me to Yoga without me asking! and also his wife serves the best waffles. :)
stayed for 3 nights altogether.. it is speckless clean which is smth that you need in Ubud.
there are only a couple of rooms available, so u get really close up with the neighbors.

it is quite off from the main ubud street although it might seem rather near on the maps, jalan bisma, although next to the monkey forest street, its a whole lot different as nobody is really selling anything there other than some small eateries. takes about 10-15 mins wwalk to get to the main road.
there are no TVs in the villa, so if u are lookin to rejuvenate this would be a great place. but didnt like the fact that there were several construction sites nearby, which can get a little disrupting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in June. It was the best value room in our seven weeks in Bali. The room was quite large, as well as bright and immaculately clean. The bathroom, which included a bathtub, was a decent size. The sink was in the bedroom but next to the bathroom door. Outside on a spacious patio was a table and chairs with coffee and tea making facilities constantly available. The included breakfast was served on the patio whenever we were ready. Breakfasts were either banana jaffles served with eggs and fruit or pancakes served with fruit. In either case, there was plenty of food and endless tea or coffee. Tanah Semujan is located on Jalan Bisma, less than ten minutes walk from the Monkey Forest in one direction or the center of downtown Ubud in the other. Along Bisma are a number of good restaurants for nights when you just want a quick bite close to home. The best thing about Tanah Semujan is the family who runs it. Wayan and his parents took great care of us, telling us what was going on in town and sometimes even driving us there on the backs of their scooters. It would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Ubud, especially at such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fan-cooled room in June and it was comfortable enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Thanks, Wayan for a great stay! Your friendly and helpful attitude and lovely accommodation made our stay in Ubud so enjoyable! Super location on a quiet part of J1 Bisma, a short walk from town and some of the walking trails suggested in Lonely Planet. The grounds are meticulous and tea and breakfast in front of the room on our balcony was so relaxing. Hope to see you again someday! From your friends in Toronto

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I made a friend in Wayan during my last stay in December 2012, so this time before I came, i called Wayan to inform him of my family's arrival. Wayan's parents and son welcomed us warmly even when we arrived close to midnight. It was a heart warming moment as I remembered how he had recovered from a leg-operation last year December. yes I have stayed here two times in the last 8 months when I visited Ubud. The rooms are so spacious and clean, well furnished with dressing table in each room. comes with hot water, new air-conditioner, bath-tub. towels and clean sheets and served with home-made breakfast with tea and Balinese coffee, made by Wayan himself. come here and you will find yourself waking up to a beautiful garden, sitting on the balcony just outside your spacious rooms, enjoy the tasty breakfast that comes with generous serving of fruits. Wayan's pancakes are a must-try. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip, not to mention I might come just to escape the dim of the city and stay in the lovely village bungalow.

Room Tip: may have to bring your own toiletries like shampoo because only a bar of soap is provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I went to Ubud wanting to explore the cultural city of Bali. We found the Tanah Semujan on Tripadvisor. It was located on a quiet street not far from the centre with close proximity to all the restaurants and cafes. Wayan and his wife were very friendly, their breakfasts were really tasty, especially the - "banana and coconut pancakes". The bedroom was quiet, clean and air-conditioned with our balcony overlooking the garden. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I want to echo all of the other reviews written about Tanah Semujan Ubud. It was absolutely lovely, comfortable and very peaceful. We loved waking every morning to the beautiful garden and being catered to by Wayan and his family. He truly values service and it is important to him that you are settled and happy. He goes above and beyond to make sure your every need is tended to. The location is on a quiet street that is a mere 5 minutes from town. You can choose from a menu for a variety of breakfasts and everything is fresh and tasty. The rooms are clean and spacious with air conditioning, comfy beds, and lovely hot showers. I would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanah Semujan Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Semujan Ubud

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tanah Semujan Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Semujan Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanah Semujan Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.