We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Huge Rooms, Beautiful Patio and Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanah Semujan Ubud

Save Saved
You added Tanah Semujan Ubud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 289 Ubud B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Huge Rooms, Beautiful Patio and Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. The location is great - on Bisma St which is just minutes away from "downtown" ubud, but feels so much more quiet and peaceful. If you have access to a motorbike you can be to Monkey Forest or Hanoman Street in 2 minutes. But there are also some shops and restaurants directly on Bisma St within 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel and you can get downtown in 10-15 minutes by foot.

Hotel appears to be brand new. The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. All rooms have balcony/patio - where you can enjoy tea or breakfast overlooking the beautiful property.

Owners were very sweet and accommodating. Breakfast was great and they make coffee or tea available throughout the day. The owner helped arrange for a motorbike rental within minutes for my arrival.

I stayed at and priced other locations in Ubud, but I can't imagine you get a better value than Tanah Semujan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very spacious rooms in new B&B overlooking the rice paddies in Ubud. Wayan, his wife and parents run the place, and you can tell it is very important to them that you enjoy the stay. The breakfast is large and very good. Location is a 10 minute walk past ducks and rice paddies to the main tourist sights in Ubud. Wayan even arranged for his cousin to drive us to surrounding sites. You can not be the value this offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this great value B&B (booked through booking.com). Rooms are nice and clean, and the surrounding area is very quiet, surrounded by many coconut trees. The owner, Wayan, is very friendly and chatty, and he can tell you lots of information on Ubud and life in Bali. He even does an Indonesian dance performance in Ubud every week! Breakfast was delicious and fresh every morning. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Booking directly through the hotel (via phone or email) will get you a cheaper rate than through int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this lovely family run B&B jus 10 minutes walk from the lively centre of Ubud. The B&B consists of 6 large rooms, 5 of which have air con. The rooms are adequately furnished, with lovely cool tiled floors, high ceilings, carved furnishings and air conditioning. Having travelled extensively through South East Asia, this air con was far quieter and superior to that I have experienced in some hotels. The rooms are light and airy with large glass doors leading to a small private verandah, where breakfast is bought every day. The verandah looks out over wonderful gardens that have been designed and are maintained by Wayan and his family, who run and own the Tamah Semujan. A little different from what you may have come to expect from a B&B, a breakfast menu is bought to you every morning and your choice is bought to your verandah where you can eat at your own pace and not feel rushed by staff standing over you. Flasks of boiling hot water are filled and replenished throughout the day for hot beverages. Getting to the centre of Ubud is really simple, turning right or left from the main path will take you to different parts of the town. We preferred turning left and walking 15 mins on the tracks separating rice fields which led to the Monkey Forest side of town. Some praise must be given to Wayan and his lovely family who own and run the Tamah Semujan. Wayan was so helpful in advising us of things to see and do around Ubud and helping us to understand Hinduism and some of the practices attached to the religion. Wayan also arranged a moped for us at a much better cost than others we spoke to had paid. The moped was fun, we kept it for 3 days and visited the mountains and a wonderful place called Tegallalang where we sat admiring steep green rice terraces. If we return to Ubud I would definitely return to the Tanah Semujan B&B. I wish Wayan and his family every success for the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished the same. We chose an upstairs room, right at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I definitely recommend this lovely place - clean, spacious, and comfortable air conditioned rooms. We requested an extra bed and were expecting a cot but got a big and comfortable mattress and the owner was so nice and helpful. The owner's wife made fabulous breakfast and would take your order and bring it to you on your porch. The cheese Japal and banana pancake were my favorite! This place is also in the perfect location - walking distance from the center of the town and surrounded by peaceful rice fields. You will love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire, uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A warm welcome from Wayan,the friendly owner, awaited us as did freely available tea/coffee. Lovely large room. Comfy bed. Dressing table and lockable wardrobe. Nice to have breakfast on own balcony overlooking lovely garden. Would prefer to arrange a time for breakfast rather than having to wait and see if anyone notices we're up! Lovely breakfast though. Good location on quiet street not far from main shopping street and monkey forest. Did hear loud and badly done karaoke a few nights though but not late into night. My main reason for 4 star is the bathroom: the shower is over the bath-fine- but it is so low I had to squat to wash my hair. The shower head barely came up to my waist. Not the most enjoyable shower and something that is easily fixed. Would still recommend staying here if you're not fussed about a decent shower!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a total of five nights here. The rooms are large, nicely decorated and absolutely spotless, with a bath tub and air conditioning, and fresh tea and coffee on the veranda outside the room. The gardens outside are pretty and well tended. It's a ten minute walk to the centre of town in one direction and the monkey forest in the other, but still very peaceful. The breakfast is very substantial. Best of all, the family who run it are amazingly friendly and lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanah Semujan Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Semujan Ubud

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tanah Semujan Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Semujan Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanah Semujan Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.