We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful tonic for the spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Shimha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Shimha to your Saves list
Villa Shimha
Jl. Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Delightful tonic for the spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had the fortune to be told about Villa Shimha by a close friend who recommended it. From the minute we started down the path to the villa, my excitement grew as I realised it was on the edge of the gorge with a spectacular view. As we entered, I felt like I did not want to leave! It was not just a hotel room, it was a spiritual space which had been created with great care and thoughtfulness for our comfort and relaxation. The villa felt luxurious but not pretentious, stylish but not trendy, and every perceived need was catered for. The windows round 3 sides meant we were bathed in natural light with total privacy. We could hear the water chattering away below and we instantly sat in the big comfy chairs on the verandah and felt like we were home.....aah, now we could relax and restore our souls. The service was faultless, and discreet. The breakfasts were exquisite. The bed was heavenly. Quirky little local restaurants were recommended and thoroughly enjoyed. It is far enough out of the town centre to enjoy the quietness, but close enough to enjoy a quick trip in for the buzz of village life. The view across the gorge to the rice paddies on the other side encouraged us just to sit in peace. It was hard to leave the villa, though on active days, we went white water rafting, cycling and mountain climbing within the vicinity with the helpful organisation of the management who set it all up. We just asked and it was organised efficiently and simply. We plan to return and hope to spend more time there on the next trip. We wish to thank Julie and staff for a truly restorative and soul warming break in the lovely Villa Shimha and hope to be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've just had a fantastic week at Shimha and will definitely be back. Set on the ridge above the river at the back of hotel Tamal Indrakila, but separately managed, our villa was a picture perfect paradise. The light-filled villa is spacious, with views from every window either of the gardens, down the valley towards the bridge, or over the campuan ridge walk, with magnificent Mt Agung as a backdrop. There's a kitchenette with fridge, water fountain, kettle, toaster and tea and coffee, as well as an outdoor gas cooktop. The large bed was extremely comfortable, and there were plenty of seating options, with a small table and two chairs in the kitchenette area, a couch at the end of the bed, a large comfy bean bag, and chairs and loungers on the two balconies. The aircon worked really well, and the villa was immaculately clean. The little touches were great - a fully loaded ipod and sound system, tv and DVD (not that we used them), candles everywhere, personal mosquito repellent and coils for the balcony, incense, etc. Villa guests can use the hotel pool, and separate beach towels are provided, along with sarongs for guest use. Breakfast - brought to the villa at a time that suits you - is simple but beautifully presented. Fruit kebabs with fresh bread, or muffins or croissants. Not being toast/bread people, we asked for banana pancakes instead, and that was no problem. But it's the balconies and the views which make this place. Whether it was watching the sunrise over the palms and rice fields with Mt Agung in the distance, or the squirrels and birds flitting through the garden, or at night listening to the river and watching the fireflies, we found it hard to find a reason to go out! There's even helpful info on local restaurants that provide a delivery service. We felt like we were in a world of our own, miles from anywhere, but only a couple of minutes walk to the Bintang supermarket, a great spa centre and good restaurants, include my fave, Warung Pelau Kepata. It's about a 20 minute walk to the palace area, but as always there's plenty of drivers offering transport if you need it. We just used the driver from the hotel. This really is a fantastic, tranquil place.

Room Tip: There are two upstairs villas and two downstairs. All have great views, but the upstairs ones have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Villa Shimha in May. This is a new property with few reviews so we were a little anxious at what the reality would be like. All my dealings with the owner Julie, an Australian, were fast and friendly. This villa is on the property of Taman Indrakila hotel with access to their pool but is run separately. While the hotel itself is pretty run down (the housekeeping crew are lovely but the hotel management were very surly), the villa is new and gorgeous. The villa has many thoughtful touches such as an abundance of candles, incense, torches, ipod pre-loaded with tunes, yoga mats, a supply of drinking water - the list could go on. The view is stunning - over a valley with two rivers and across to a ridge on the other side, which you can walk across. The mornings are the best with the sun breaking over the ridge and the sound of the river in the background. There is a small outdoor kitchen, a day bed and big couch outside to relax and take in the view. Location is about 30 mins walk from Ubud Palace but has a big supermarket across the road as well as a spa, taxi rank and laundry. The only slight downside for me were the 80-odd steep steps to get to the villa so this would not be suitable for anyone with disabilities. I would definitely recommend Shimha to people who are seeking a sanctuary but with all the hustle and bustle of the town centre close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived in beautiful Ubud,Bali and was recommended Villa Shimha by some good friends who had recently stayed there.
Located on the jungle/mountain side of Jalan Raya Campuhan, the location is close to central Ubud and also convenient to local shops and great restaurants .
Upon arrival my fiancee and I were immediately relaxed and taken away with the serene view and rich.colourful gardens. The view is truly spectacular. The whole valley and ridge is clearly visible and it really defines a true image of the beauty of relaxed Ubud. It really is a contrast to the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Seminyak. The villa we booked was beautiful,personal and spacious.It had nice fixtures complimented with a fantastic,soft white-washed colour scheme that suited the peaceful environment. Great beds and comfortable day lounges to lie on and soak up the amazing view also.The bathrooms were great ,with all amenities modern and clean. There was also beautiful art, great finishings and stylings all around the villa. We stayed there a total of 12 days and each day found it harder to leave as we were becoming so relaxed and at home. The staff around the villa were super friendly and easy going. My fiancee and I will have no problem referring Villa Shimha to friends as it really is a slice of mountain,tropical paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Shimha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shimha

Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Shimha offers three individually priced suites, each designed in a chic Balinese style with a tribal undertone. King size canopy beds, a fully equipped kitchen on the top level and kitchenettes' in the other suites, comfy daybeds, and open plan living spaces, which spill out onto the huge wrap around balconies. Awaken to a breathtaking view of the sun rising over the ridge and the hypnotic sound of the sacred river below as it passes by. Spend hours lounging soaking up the magnificent views, which are visible from every window and evenings observing the fireflies in the canopy tops. Villa Shimha suites are discreetly tucked away in a jungle setting only a 15 minute walk to Ubud center.Motor bike hire or a private driver is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Shimha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Shimha Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Shimha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.