We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaya Resort Ubud - Absolutely Perfect. Brand New in 2013 and out to impress for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alaya Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Alaya Resort Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Hanoman, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 142 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alaya Resort Ubud - Absolutely Perfect. Brand New in 2013 and out to impress for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived into Ubud with no plans, just my iPad and tripadvisor for a guide, Hotel Alaya seemed to appear everywhere, so we thought we'd take a look. I'd seen it was only opened in January 2013 so it's very new and in perfect condition. The staff are all 100% friendly and services spot on, the rooms, especially the hot tub ones are amazing! We stayed in room 321 near the pool and loved it.

Both my partner and I wanted to cycle and see the rice fields but didn't want an all day trip so the hotel lent us their brand new mountain bikes and Mayun (a member of staff) kindly offered to let us cycle with him during his afternoon break. It was amazing! We saw locals bathe in the rivers, rice fields that tourists don't usually see and a sunset to die for.

Breakfast was very good, I had American one day and eggs benedict the others, with drinks and afternoon tea included too. They operate a private bus (again brand new!) to just about anywhere in the town you'd like, free. I have to say (and heard other visitors say when checking out too) that it is the best hotel they've stayed at, and I have to agree.

We would come back for sure!! Tim

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Timbogray,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found your stay with us absolutely perfect.
We wanted to create this experience using these small details, made available for guests, so they can enjoy every moment of their experience with us, whether it is simply relaxing in your room or laying by the pool or wanting to go out and explore Ubud and beyond. Our staff are well known for treating each guest as a family or dear friend.
We are looking forward to offering you another fabulous stay during your next visit to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    198
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
118
441
75
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent three lovely nights at Alaya. Everything was lovely; staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were in a third level room with bath and private balcony overlooking rice fields and it was fantastic to be able to retreat and watch the ducks being herded! The room was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, especially the nasi kuning!

Room Tip: Third floor Alaya rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Thi_13,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We want to reflect the atmosphere and spacious lush open paddy fields in our rooms. Chef Siharta from our kitchen is the creator of all mouth-watering dishes, including our unique breakfast, in Petani Restaurant.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Ubud on your next visit.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Service is excellent, Spa is top notch, rooms are good value. We stayed in April and got a promotion deal of 125$ per night, they told us the price will go up to 450$. There are 60 rooms, of which 41 were filled during our stay. It did not feel busy at all, except for all deck chairs at the pool being occupied.

Restaurant is ok, but not up to the standard of the hotel. Meals are looking nice, but lack the taste of Bali and the meat is not as good as it is on the street stalls, or other places. Next to that, they are very, very slow, even when it's empty, which it is most of the time. Go eat somewhere else. Just call another hotel and be picked up for free!

The hotel could and shoud do more about promoting green practices. The bigger hotels like this have the responsibility to learn their guests and staff how, by showing it top-down. A list of examples in case the management is reading this:
- there are some led lights, but mostly halogene
- all rooms have AC blowing full power all day, occupied or not
- garden lights are on all day, install a timer system
- offer shared taxi drives to airport and electrical motobikes
- offer re-usable shopping bags
- buy only locally, organically and more vegeterian and promote this
All this could be done and presented in very chique ways, which fit a hotel of this standard and we hope to see more of it when we return to Bali, because without it Bali will lose its famous charm.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear jonasdejong,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
As Alaya strives to offer the best products and services, we will review all your inputs and make sure all issues raised will be properly handled.
As we are still on soft opening period, a lot of testing are being done to get us ready for full occupancy. These testing would include things like light and AC testing, but nothing which may create disturbances to the guests. Furthermore, we are still gearing towards full equipment facilities, full staffing and full services and rest assured all products and services are being improved each and every day.
Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The resort is perfectly placed in the center of Ubud.
I like the vibe of the resort that it’s not too traditional nor too modern.
Balance between both, and I am happy with my choice.
The staffs are friendly and helpful, and if I could suggest, kindly improve on guests greetings.
We stayed a night at room 217.
The room is spacious, and the storage are plenty.
The balcony view to pool and the paddyfield are mindblowing.
In the morning, I woke up to rooster sound and the ducks quacking.
The bed are super comfy and big enough.
The bathroom are simply edgy with fabulous earthy toiletries.
The breakfast are not in buffet, but by order, kindly inform guests while check-in.
The food need to be improved, indonesian cuisine especially.
The resort is next to Yoga Barn, so it’s a plus point.
Overall, I would defly love to come back and stay in Alaya Resort again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear NoorAisyah,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We much appreciate your praise and inputs to better our service and most importantly that you had an awesome stay experience with us. We aim to provide 5-star service and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Appreciate your feedback, noted on the items that should be informed to guest upon check in. due to the varying taste of our guests, the kitchen staff are always prepared to take in specific orders for food spiciness, to suit the guest taste. Be sure to let us know during your next stay with us.
Again, thank you for your comments and definitely looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud on your next trip here.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent only a night here for our honeymoon, and was blown away, really. I love the room and its perfect interiors. The bed was very comfortable, we had a good quality sleep. Even the breakfast was delicious! They also got very lovely and helpful staffs. I certainly would spend another night here in the future, highly recommended :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear RinellaPutri,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you described your staying experience with us as a superb resort. Our unique interiors was designed with Bali’s artistic nuance in mind, set amidst the beautiful lush paddy fields of which Ubud is so popular. Glad you enjoyed our the Petani breakfast, as we truly make all effort to make the breakfast an icon of our small boutique resort.
Again, we appreciate your comment and definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is stunning, the room was spacious and an amazing design, the bed was soooooo comfy. I loved the balcony with the fan, felt like my own alfresco area and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
The location was perfect, close to everything. Our group visited a few other resorts/hotels around Ubud before we were to decide which one but Alaya was stand out to all the rest and we instantly fell in love with it.
I will definately be staying here again and highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Definately go with a room with a balcony, the view is really pretty and its so peaceful sitting/lyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Kasia S,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so flattered with your praise about our hotel and had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Even though we recently opened in Ubud, we aim to place ourselves as one of the boutique hotels that offers best service and facilities.
Again, thank you for your recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you again to Ubud on your next visit.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Will love to keep the awesomeness of this place to myself but I'm just doing a review of all the places I visited in Bali.

In short, I loved the room, the setting which blended in very well with what Ubud has got to offer and the location. Will very likely stay here again unless I'm thinking of really splurging on a grand hideaway/retreat the next time I go back to Ubud,

A few points for improvement (so that I would continue to have awesome visits at Alaya in the future)

1. Food wise, I think the american/continental cuisines were good (based on breakfast standards) but the indonesian/asian cuisines were not as good as others I have eaten subsequently around ubud and seminyak. I'm talking about food like Nasi goreng, beef kway teow soup etc. Presentation of the food was excellent, but I really think improvements can be made taste wise on the Indonesia and Asian cuisines. We need great food to complement the setting.

2. Comprehensive MAP of UBUD - Was a little surprised that the hotel did not have a comprehensive map of the Ubud area (referring to a map that has all the streets labelled). I ended up with a map which was a VERY rough sketch of the Ubud area (just the location of the hotel and maybe a few other places) on my first day which didn't really go as smoothly as I planned. Example, I wanted to go to Sari Organik but it was impossible to locate the place on that rough map given to me so yes, will be great if hotel stocked up some good maps of Ubud for hotel guests.

Other than that, it's awesome. Can't think of any other faults. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Charmedml,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy that you loved your stay with us. Appreciate your feedback, our kitchen team are always ready to adjust spiciness of the food, to suit the guest taste. Be sure to let us know your preference if you happen to visit Petani Restaurant again.
Great idea about the map, we will try and get the best Ubud directory as stock in our property.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud on your next trip here.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaya Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.