We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury next to yoga barn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alaya Resort Ubud to your Saves list
Alaya Resort Ubud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Hanoman, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury next to yoga barn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is near the monkey forest, right next to yoga barn and within walking distance to the main streets of shops/ restaurants. Very clean, luxurious rooms. High attention to detail and service. Bargain prices right now bc parts of the hotel are still under construction. I haven't been disturbed, however.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Lovelylondongirl,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so delighted that you found your stay with us most pleasurable. Our special opening rate is still valid until end of March. During your next visit, perhaps you can experience our renowned DaLa Spa Ubud.
Again appreciate your comment and we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    177
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
105
403
63
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a fine hotel, with spacious clean quiet rooms in a beautiful setting. Shops and the Monkey Forest are very close, and the staff are most attentive. There is an obvious strategy to make everything as right as possible, and unless one is looking for 5 stars and more, (and prepared to pay the price), it's highly recommended.
(Note: we didn't use the fitness centre or spa and didn't rate them)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Earear1,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. If you ever come back to Ubud and stay with us again, please contact us because we are trying our best to make each guest feel like coming back home and that care is taken to ensure your personal convenience.
Again appreciate your comment and we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, and found this hotel has a very interesting architecture, It's not a BIG hotel with hundreds rooms, but that what makes this hotel so special with only 20ish room. You don't get too crowded. The staff are so friendly and dont mind to chat with you while enjoying your afternoon in the pool side. The rooms are so BIG with beautiful designs and nice bed! Free wifi is also available for you to browse out what you can do around the area. It's also located next to Yoga Barn, a place that you should visit during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Ninophobia,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Alaya aims to create a complete holiday experience, with the stylish Petani restaurant catering to the culinary pleasures of in-house guests and a branch of the award winning DaLa Spa, which incorporates 6 opulent treatment rooms and a multi-functional pavilion for yoga, cooking classes and other activities. Indeed, our rooms feature a smart decor with an original work of local artistry.
We look forward to bringing you more pleasurable experiences during your next stay with us to Bali.
Warmest Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous week at this new and extremely well situated hotel. Well appointed rooms, luxurious spa/massage complex, the food in the restaurant was very good but the highlight would be the wonderful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kerry J,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We’re so pleased that you had a great week stay with us and that we delivered satisfactory services from the cuisine, spa rituals, and genuine hospitality.
We definitely will be look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay with us in Ubud.
Warmest regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After checking out of two noisy hotels on Monkey Forest Rd, Walking around looking fr somewhere nice to stay, we walked into this posh looking impressive foyer on Jalan Hanuman, we walked in basically to have a rest thinking ,,,it's looks beyond our budget..
Out of curiosity we asked the the price of the rooms,, and were told the price,, which was way beyond our budget..but the staff then called the manager who asked how long we intended to staying,we said 2 weeks and maybe more..after a bit of haggling and negotionating the very nice managerNgora gave in to my husbands demands and being the very customers to occupy this yet unfinished hotel he agreed to
An attractive price ,,but warned us on the ongoing building work around us..which was only internal. The building did not encroach on our stay at all..in fact all the workers were v courteous and stopped work to wish us .. Each time we went by ..
We intended staying 2 weeks ended up an extra 2 weeks.
We would happily come back again and recommend the Alaya for the following reasons
Excellent location
No noise except front of restaurant ( traffic)
Excellent and obliging staff
A la carte breakfast beautifully seved and presented and enough quantity and quality
We loved the fresh orange juice and eggs benedict ..fresh warm croissants Frm there own bakery
The restaurant food also excellent although not so extensive..
The bedrooms are a good size v comfortable with large beds enough hanging space
Complimentary water and fruit everyday
Best quality bathroom accessories
The rooms are cleaned twice a day with fresh towels if needed..
Our only contention was the shallow swimming Pool .. Sunbeds ..no umbrellas.am
Sure they will add it on later as its all quite new still...
The beautiful spar was of world class quality ..so we're the therapist ,would recommend
To try their amazing traditional sandalwood massage ...heaven ..by the excellent Nitti who has trained in various resorts all over the world and she's back home to Bali and Alaya who are fortunate to have her ...
We felt v much at home as we stayed a whole month .
Would not hesitate to come back here again
Our favorite waiter at breakfast Gunuwan you can,t miss him the smiling Buddah ("certainly")

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear azy60,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We’re delighted to accept your praises, knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your long stay with us and we delivered a superb service which was satisfactory. Our excellent cuisine, spa rituals, and the genuine hospitality are what set us apart from other boutique properties in Ubud.
We look forward to bringing you more pleasurable holiday experiences during your next stay with us to Bali.
Regards from paradise,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

As the hotel is brand new, when I booked this hotel there were no reviews on tripadvisor so I had no expectations. When we arrived I was very happy with our choice. The rooms are very comfortable with a big bed, blackout curtains, shower, bath, tv and excellent wifi for free. The pool area is very comfortable and the water is lovely and refreshing. The hotel looks over a beautiful rice field and the gardens are tranquil. I enjoyed the restaurant which provided a big breakfast with fruit, pastries, bacon and eggs, coffee and juice complimentary.

My partner and I received a complimentary massage of our choice at the spa which overlooked the pool. The spa was much nicer than others I went to in ubud.

The hotel was in a good location - right next to yoga barn, close to monkey forest and restaurants.

The best thing about the hotel was the lovely staff. Everyone was friendly and seemed they would so anything to help you. They even drove us to the official money exchange.

I would recommend Alaya Resort to people looking for a relaxing hotel in beautiful ubud.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jess86e,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased that you found our property beautiful, the staff warm and friendly, which created the perfect relaxing holiday. This is in line with our concept as a smart boutique hotel that reflects Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs. Indeed we have a prime location in downtown Ubud; an area that has fully embraced tourism yet still maintains the traditions of a bygone era.
We strive to enrich your stay in Ubud experience through culinary journey at Petani restaurant and wellbeing journey at DaLa Spa Ubud.
Much appreciate your comment and recommendation, we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Alaya Ubud for one week and could not have made a better choice. The wonderful owners, Michelle and Jimmy and their entire staff could not have been more welcoming.Our beautiful room had everything we required, including a safe, strong wifi signal, comfortable bed, blackout curtains, satellite TV, and a fantastic rain shower with as much hot water as you could want. An extra bonus for us was the ceiling fan on the balcony. The pool was refreshing and the lounge chairs extremely comfortable.
The dining area is picturesque and our breakfasts and dinners were delightful. The wait staff could not do enough for us.
Don't miss the complimentary afternoon tea and Balinese sweets! We wish we could have this at home.
The spa was opening the day we left. We are sure it will be first class, as well.
If you're coming to Ubud, we strongly suggest that you consider the Alaya Ubud. You won't be disappointed!
Thanks to everyone at Alaya Ubud for making our stay such a memorable one.

Randy and Ralph (Mama and Papa)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Randy_Ralph_13,
Thank you for your review. You have put a big smile on each and every staff at Alaya including us. Once again thank you for your stay, hope you have a good time in your next destination and look forward to welcome you back hopefully in not too distant future.

Best regards,
Managing Director of Alaya Resort Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaya Resort Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.