We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and good bed; 15 mins from Ubud centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omah Apik

Save Saved
You added Omah Apik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Omah Apik
Jl. Kenyem Bulan, Banjar Pande, Desa Pejeng, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 290 Ubud B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean room and good bed; 15 mins from Ubud centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place with a great atmosphere. The owner Etha is warm and the staff is very helpful and can help you with anything.

We wanted to stay for just one night, but decided to extend our stay with one night. This B&B is 15 minutes from the centre, so if you want to stay in a hotel at the busy Monkey Road close to all shops and restaurants, then you should not stay at this place. You can rent a motorbike for Rph 50,000 or you can take taxi's to and from the B&B. The B&B can arrange pick up from the airport, if you wish.

I liked that the place was away from all the crowded bars and restaurants. Our room had a nice view over rice paddy fields and a pond.

The beds are great and the room has a half outdoor bathroom. The room is comfortable and clean.
All kinds of teas and coffee are free. As it was raining a lot, I made my self a warm pot of jasmine tea or green tea and drank it on the patio overlooking the rice fields.

If you prefer a big breakfast buffet, then you will be disappointed.
You will get fresh fruit, fresh juice and toast with organic jams. I enjoyed it!

CON'S:
(1) Poor wifi: this can be improved;
(2
) 15 mins from Ubud centre (which we liked and we have chosen this B&B for that reason);
(3) No safe in the room, but again, this was not a problem, because the B&B has a gate so strangers can not enter the property.

PRO'S:
(1) This B&B is relatively new around 6 months, so the bathroom and the bed etc. is not dated;
(2) Loved the design of the whole property: the owner is an architect so that explains the reason why;
(3) It is a small B&B with 15 rooms (I think), so it is not a big resort;
(4) Good bed;
(5) Very helpful staff and willing to help although not everybody speaks English, but hey, it is a good excercise to learn Bahasa Indonesia with a phrase book ;-) ;
(6) Good atmosphere;
(7) Good location: 15 mins from Ubud centre away from busy Ubud. Great view over rice paddy fields.
(8) I read other reviews about complaints of the noise of the neighbours' roosters, but it did not bother me.

In all, it was good value for money (around EUR 48.00 a night including breakfast): good bed, clean bathroom and room and away from crowded Ubud centre.

TIP: when it is raining a lot, take a Balinese cooking course or go to a spa.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Omah Apik is a wonderful relaxing and beautiful space overlooking rice paddies in a quiet, out of the way, spot about 15 min from the center of Ubud. This place was exactly what we were looking for. The staff... Puttu and Degauss were extremely attentive along with the rest of the staff. The setting is beautifully created as the owner is an archetect. The rooms are huge, air con, very clean and have the most beautiful outside bathroom ( rooms on 1 st floor). The shared spaces are airy, clean, and comfortable. They used recycled wood and other elements in the construction of the inn, giving it special charm. We would return here in the future. As the other reviews mention .. You must have a motorbike or use taxi/ car service to Ubud center. This was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We planned to stay 2 nights and finally we stayed 2 more nights.
This new place was perfect for what we needed after the tiring volcanes trip!

The view is fantastic, the little garden is full of beautiful flowers & trees and it is very calm.
The rooms are big and nice with fridge and tv screen. We had the one at first floor. Breakfast is different every day and very good.
Etta, the owner, was nice and helpfull during our stay, she explained us what to visit and how to get there (you can rent motorbike at the hotel).
You have free water and coffee all day, and in the evening you can eat home food. It is very very good, she suggest a meal as there is no menu (Ask prices before to order to avoid any surprise).

Omah Apik is outside Ubud and you need to rent motorbike or taxi (15 mn from town), but we would definitively recommand this place.
Be carreful to take enough cash to pay the hotel, they don't accept any credit card. The night before we leave when we wanted to pay, we had to go back by motorbike to the city to find an ATM!!

Many thanks to Etta, Puttu and their team for this unforgetable stay and good luck for the future!
Delphine & Miguel (Switzerland)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Umah Apik was one of the most beautiful places we stayed during our trip in Indonesia. It is a beautiful small resort with a stunning view on the rice fields. Guests are treated very personally and the owners do everything to make you feel at home. Breakfast includes fresh fruits and a juice. One night the lady of the house cooked an Indonesian buffet for the guests and we had a wonderful evening with great food and meeting wonderful people.

The rooms are wonderful, even luxurious. We stayed in a room on the first floor with private outside bathroom and a nice sitting area in the front of the room to enjoy the amazing view.
This place is a bit outside of Ubud, which was a positive thing for us (Ubud quite touristic) but you need to be aware of this. The first night we tried to walk to Ubud and although we really like walking, it was a very long walk without sidewalks or street lights, so I would not recommend it. You can rent a scooter at Omah Apik for a decent price.

Thanks for the amazing stay! Stijn & Joren (Belgium)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Omah apik is a small guesthouse that I can definitely recommend, we travelled all over Bali and Lombok and this was our favorite accommodation. Etha, the owner, really created something special here, the house is very well decorated with super comfortable rooms, private verandas and the most breathtaking view ever. Etha, Putu and the rest of the team do everything to make their guests happy, and their personal approach made us really feel at home, we stayed one full week! Breakfast is served in the common area, also beautifully decorated with old wood and funky furniture, and is very tasty, with fresh fruits, organic jam and eggs upon request. We were allowed to use the kitchen, and Etha also cooked every now and then, a very nice Indonesian buffet with products from the vegetable garden. The hotel is located a bit outside Ubud (you will be surrounded by sounds of birds, frogs and the neigbour's roosters) but staff is very helpful in organizing transport, we rented a scooter most days and would do the same again.

Go to Omah Apik if you want to enjoy the Balinese country side and rice paddies, if you want action you better stay somewhere else. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms upstairs for the view, there is also a rustic cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Nestled in a enclave amongst Ricefields and friendly welcoming neighborhood this place is an oasis of calmness and Indonesian hospitality. The owner and he team have packaged what I expected of comfortable clean funky and friendly setting. Breakfast is healthy and fitting with this place.... The staff does everything needed to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The area is safe and is approx 50 k away from ubud center however I recommend hiring a moped( 50 per day from hotel)
I could go on and on about how great this place and its people are... My recommedationnisnto go and see for yourself .... We travelled for 2 months in Indonesia stayed in 17 different home stays 5 star hotels etc.... This is my # 1 by far.... I know quality when I see it and this is the real deal.... Party animals stay away please :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Omah Apik which means "beautiful house" is not only just the word, it reflects the reality. Nice view (with nice pond and paddy terrace), nice hospitality (thanks to Mr. Putu & Ms. Etha). It's just 10 minutes drive from central Ubud. Suggest follow the green track, Mr. Putu will give map and show you the way. Definitely will comeback again. The only thing that bothered us is just dogs around neighbourhood but it didn't matter cause once you'll get in, you never wanna go outside. This is not a hotel, THIS IS HOME...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omah Apik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Apik

Address: Jl. Kenyem Bulan, Banjar Pande, Desa Pejeng, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Omah Apik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omah Apik Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omah Apik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.