We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A villa in the paddy fields” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa to your Saves list
Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa
Jalan Tirta Tawar, Br. Junjungan Ubud-Bali, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A villa in the paddy fields”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We traveled around Bali and booked it on booking.com randomly. What a find! We stayed in a private villa surrounded by rice fields with a private swimming pool. There was breakfast delivery every morning and someone waiting for us with a torch in the evening to show us the way. The owner is a cheerful and super friendly person. We loved it there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We travelled as 4 people group and stayed at 2 bedroom villa. It was awesome and we all were really happy with that place. When we wanted to go somewhere then the owner arranged everything. His drivers drove us to Ubud free of charge and when we wanted to go to trekking on top of the volcano then he arranged everything. Staff was also very nice! Couple of steps away from the villa was little village restaurant that was excellent! Only negative thing was that we had to leave :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a find. Ten minutes outside of busy Ubud is a tranquil respite transporting you to way it used to be in Bali. QUIET! Luxurious, solitary, and perfect. Stayed for over ten days. Attentive, immediate service, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had booked what was called a "family room" on the website but was given the 2 room villa at no extra cost. The villa was nice, clean and cozy, just the right size for the 4 of us. The best part of the stay was the warmth of the staff, including the owner, Putra. Each time we wanted to go anywhere or to return to the villa from Ubud Central, Mathi, one of the staff was right there on time to ferry us! We had a great time and will be back!:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Okay my Bali trip started out on a bad note when a booking for another resort sent me to a villa with no reception desk or restaurant and I felt overal stranded and alone.

The Manager listened to my concerns and told me he would move me to his other villa accommodation a few doors down I was skeptical so I said I wanted to look first.

The accommodation is absolutely stunning I am in a one room villa with a fabulous view outside that is private and serene. Bathtub and separate shower. Breakfast in the morning and 24 hr reception, wifi, and a restaurant (haven't tried the dinner yet but it is a quite small restaurant probably just traditional Balinese cuisine) will drive you in to town and pick you up as long as its a reasonable distance.

Helpful and caring staff! They knew I wasn't happy with the other villa and they weren't even the people that messed up! They saved me!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were initially disappointed that we were given a 3 room villa instead of a 2 room villa that we booked for. The 3 room villa we were given was way too big and unlike the pictures shown in agoda. The design was strange. More like 3 individual rooms, the living room, pool, kitchen was located on basement giving a dungeon feel.

Furthermore, we encounter a hot water problem on the first night of our stay. There were no hot water supply due to a mechanical fault on the heater. The staff could not solve the problem and we had to make do and wait for the mechanic on the 2nd day.

Putra the main caretaker of Deta was notified in the morning. Upon realising the problem cannot be solved, Putra offered to shift us to his other villas (not marketed under Deta). His other villas were so nice! Much newer and cleaner and with better designs.

We took up his offer immediately! And we did not regret it for the whole trip.

Putra made the difference in ensuring that our trip was nicely taken care of.

The only downside to the stay was the quality of breakfast prepared by the staff. The simple breakfast were usually cold and not cooked well. No big deal as we can easily settle breakfast in Ubud town.

Room Tip: Contact Putra directly to book his other villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted to have a place away from the city and it was a wonderful stay we had for 2 nights here in Ubud. The hotel is away from the city (around 3km), but fret not as they provide drivers if you need to have your meals or even take a walk at Ubud town. Otherwise, you can spend time reading your favourite book by your pool. We booked the 2 bedroom villa with a private pool. It was indeed a beautiful place with a magnificient view of the little forest and the padi fields. Something which we have been wanting all these while.

It's a very small establishment with friendly staff and having breakfast served at your dining table the moment you wake up. It's a pretty decent meal with a few options that you can choose from.

If you want a quiet moment away from the buzzling city, a peaceful time with your loved ones, then this is the place you should choose for your stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar, Br. Junjungan Ubud-Bali, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deta Junjungan Rice Field Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.