We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the experience - delicious food, no veggies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Saya

Warung Saya
Jl Gautama 8, Ubud, Bali 80571 Ubud - BALI, Indonesia
085792591969
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 437 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Geelong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the experience - delicious food, no veggies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Finally got a booking at Warung Saya and turned up a bit early for lunch. Amir promptly got the table ready for us and set about cooking our meals. It is a bit hot in there while he's cooking away and he does take some time, but good food takes time so this is perfectly understandable.
We went on a Friday, where the options were Mysore chicken, Pad thai and an Indonesian chicken curry. We chose the two chickens. The food was absolutely delicious, however a warning that there are no vegetables on the side at all. Given that my wife can't eat starch (noodles, rice, potatoes, corn, etc) she ate nothing but meat, which was a bit difficult - at least the rest of us could eat the rice. The Mysore chicken was a special treat but the curry was also very tasty - more like a green curry laksa (without the noodles or veggies). Amir did warn us with a smile about his sign, "No Vegetarians" - but it probably should have said, no vegetables. He works in a tiny kitchen with nobody else to help, so it is understandable, but even a small amount of beans on the side of each plate would have been very nice.
I didn't think the value was great either. Nothing is expensive in Bali of course, but it was much more than comparable places in Ubud (not that anything compares to this!)
So I'm glad we went to Warung Saya - but once was probably enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    20
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Make sure you book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Heard about this place during our trip and were lucky to get a reservation on our second to last night. The place is tiny - just 3 tables and 1 owner who is the chef and waiter. Food is cooked with love and is absolutely delicious. Book in advance and make sure you visit here if you are travelling through Ubud.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic tiny little warung”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a delightful place to eat. We love the charm of Jl Gautama and even more so of Warung Saya. The owner is also the cook, waiter and quite possibly dishwasher. He is passionate, easy going and cooks a dam good curry. Its like going to a friend's house for dinner, the Warung only seats about 10 at the most, there's a choice of 3 meals that change daily for around $6. Music is great, no vegetarian on the menu. Book early, sit outside, soak up the atmosphere and head down to bar luna for some music after dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Indo food that will leave you your taste buds wanting more,brilliant, but remember you have to book or be told go away

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The direction given on trip advisor is pretty misleading. It's actually quite a walk in from the crossroad.

Food option was limited but that's a good thing for me because I'm horrible with deciding what to eat. Food was amazing, albeit, being very slow. Can't really fault the owner as he is the only one doing everything there.

I like how it's very personal and cosy. There are only two tables in this mini restaurant and the owner kept it open passed operational hours for us to finish our meal.

A definite must go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Saya also viewed

 

Been to Warung Saya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Saya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.