We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Saya

Warung Saya
Jl. Sugriwa, Ubud, Bali 80571 Ubud,Gianyar - Bali, Indonesia
+62 857-9259-1969
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 473 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Wouldnt have spotted this place was even a restaurant without having read tripadvisor. We booked for the evening when passing during day. Only one other couple were there a bit before us so nice atmosphere. Food took about an hr to come but we expected that and were happy with our beers. All food was delicious and we had plenty plus dessert. Chef v chatty and overall a great and unique dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    21
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be realistic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to this tiny restaurant because it showed up as being within the best 2 or 3 in Ubud with a rating of 5 or close to it. There must be something sentimental about those other reviews. We loved our time here and had wholesome food. The owner/chef/waiter/bottle washer is a great guy. But as a restaurant it does not rate anywhere near 5. I mention this in case anyone did like us and makes a booking here expecting something awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It's all true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it takes forever, but the food is incredibly flavorful and delicious. Drop by early to make a reservation, have a drink, be patient and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best food experience in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We walked past this restaurant a few times commenting how cute it looked with only 3 tables. We tried getting in one night but of course with limited seats & the amazing food he serves he was fully booked. So we wrote our booking for the following night on his reservation board hanging from the front door. What an experience it really was our best night in Ubud, the food was amazing & a wonderful overall experience we will be back next time!! Ensure you book in advance or you're likely to be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We Went Back 5 Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's little Warung serves the most flavoursome food I've ever tasted. The chef, Amier, offers diners the choice of 3-4 fantastic dishes from Indonesia, Thailand and India (the Chicken Tala Masala is amazing). Once you've ordered, Amier disappears and the aromatic smells of spices begin wafting through the air. After a short wait, he appears wish the most tastiest meal you have ever eaten.

From time to time we noticed some people arriving only to be told they needed to make a reservation; don't be diss appointed, ensure you make a reservation!

Can't wait to go back!

Will

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Saya also viewed

 

Been to Warung Saya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Saya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.