We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with nice company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Vegan Warung

Bali Vegan Warung
Ubud main street Jalan Raya near BCA bank, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 428 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegan
Description: It's the only Vegan restaurant in the Ubud City Centre
Restaurant details
Description: It's the only Vegan restaurant in the Ubud City Centre
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food with nice company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Being vegetarian and knowing that in Bali vegetarianism is a loosely-interpreted concept, I googled veg restaurants from my phone before heading out in search of a meal. The first place my eyes fell on was this restaurant and after a quick comparison of some others, I decided to check it out. So glad I did! I had the curry with vegetables, potatoes and rice and couldn't get enough of the curry broth, literally trying not to slurp as I picked the bowl up to finish it. I also ordered a couple of fresh juices, watermelon and orange. The owner is a fascinating and spiritual woman, and has a nice selection of spiritual books from a variety of aspects. I looked at several of them and was blown away by one. She offered to give it to me, but I declined, having looked on Amazon immediately while sitting there and finding it, so I was happy to leave it there for someone else. This place is well worth checking out if you are vegetarian, and even if you aren't but have an open mind. The food is so flavorful that even carnivores wouldn't be disappointed as far as taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food and company....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I loved the food here. Eko, the woman who owns it is warm, inviting and lovely. We talked for ages about meditation, health, Buddhism, the world and lots more! The food is lovely. Some dishes are simple, some more complex - all very tasty and full of flavour. I ate here daily for a while. They also have chocolate pancakes which are delicious. I was able to read some spiritual books and magazines whilst I was there which Eko offers for free. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place. Very reasonable in pricing too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant - try the sate skewers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great vegan restaurant, with friendly staff. The owner was really friendly and came to talk with us. Good prices, and a great menu range, and the sate skewers were so addictive I couldn't stop eating them! I wish I'd found the place earlier.
Note: they don't serve soft drinks, you'll need to go to the mini-mart across the street if you fancy a coke with your meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Veggies place :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 5 days in Ubud and 4 dinners I had in this little, friendly restaurant.
Yummy balinese food and made from 100% vegan friendly ingredients, also organic. Owner is a lady who is into meditation and she believes that eating good food without animal killing is a way to harmony in our body. She is vegan for long time herself, so I was not worried at all to have my meals here ( many places still use animal products in vegetarian and vegan food as we know).
Had the best vegan skewers with home made peanut sauce and very good vegan fish with garlic & Balinese spices. Try basil, mint & fruit juice - so refreshing.
And it's very cheap too. Main courses from 15000 IDR.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“vegi-rific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Vegan Warung is inexpensive, simple, fresh, delicious food in a simple and clean environment, with friendly staff.

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and it gave us the chance to eat as close to traditional balinese food as we could whilst knowing it was free of animal products. A lot of the rice used is brown rice so that ticks another box in the healthy section. The vegetables were crisp and fresh.

Having watched all the little food stalls making traditional chicken sate's I Loved the fact we could have vegan sate's, and they were delicious.

I have eaten at the Vegan Warung a couple of times on this trip so far and I have always walked away feeling satisified.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Vegan Warung also viewed

 

Been to Bali Vegan Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Vegan Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.